We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sun Rocks Hotel & Santorini are Paradise on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sun Rocks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sun Rocks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sun Rocks Hotel & Santorini are Paradise on Earth”
Reviewed May 18, 2009

There are not enough good things I can say about this place. The island alone is the most beautiful awe inspiring place on this earth I have ever been to. To make matters even BETTER, the entire stay and everything about Sun Rocks was above SPECTACULAR. My husband and I traveled to Greece to get married at Sun Rocks on May 2nd. There was not one aspect of our stay that didn't exceed our expectations. The staff, rooms, view, food, hotel property and so much more were by far the most beautiful and accommodating place on Earth I have ever experienced. The new hotel manager, Lefty gave us the tour when we arrived and thanks to his & the staff's hard work, our wedding day & ceremony were by far the most exquisite day of my life. Side Note: If you happen to stay at the hotel, make sure to try the private restaurant atop the hotel. We ate there after our wedding and it was by far one of the best meals we had during our week stay in Greece. You won't be sorry!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michamicha2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    61
    26
    10
    10
See reviews for
9
277
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2009

We've just returned from a fabulous week in Santorini. Sun rocks is a spectacular hotel that runs down the cliff face offering expansive, breath taking views of the caldera. The location of the hotel is great being about a 20 minute cliff top walk from the centre of Fira where you can find bars, shops and restaurants. Firostefani offers good restaurants 5 minutes from the hotel, a favourite of ours was Ginger for Sushi. The hotel is very stylish, breakfast is great and included in the price and the staff make your stay very special. Well done Lefty and crew! Sunsets are what you go to Santorini for and George's Mohito's are the best!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxyloxy_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern new jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2009

Just got back from our trip to Greece. Our stay at Sun Rocks in Santorini was definitely the highlight of the trip. What an incredible resort in a spectacular location. The service there is amazing! The manager (Lefty? I believe that was his name) was absolutely wonderful, as were every member of the staff that we encountered. You definitely need to be prepared to do some serious walking while you're there. The breakfast around the pool is just great, but it was easily about 75 steps down from our room. The walk to Fira is beautiful, but requires quite a bit of walking.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tutorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2009

We had an absolutely great 6 night stay in September of 2008 at Sun Rocks. The place is spectacular - very white and very high above the sea. We travel a lot and have stayed at many of the finest 5 star resorts in the world from Aspen to French Polynesia to Zermatt - and the Sun Rocks is right up there with the best of them. I wouldn't stay anywhere else on Santorini. The other high end places in Oia seem to be overpriced and a bit snooty (we checked them out while there and weren't too impressed), while I think you really get your money's worth at SR.

I have to say, though, that I would not have wanted to stay in any other room but the Grand Suite, which is the only room with a private pool. Many of the other rooms weren't private at all - but it turns out that privacy is rare commodity anywhere on the island. The terraces of the rooms at this resort, neighboring resorts and private houses are stacked up like cord wood; that's just the way it is. Even the grand suite has a public stairway practically coming right through the middle of it. The pool area, however, which is partially covered, has a totally private built-in couch in the back with a fabulous view over the infinity edge of the pool. This is the place to watch the sunset, drink some excellent local wine and light the huge lanterns that decorate the place as the light fades. There's even a CD player in this area so you can softly play some bouzouki music. Forget the expense, this room is a must in this hotel. In fact, a picture of the pool in "Islands" magazine is what alerted me to this property and prompted me to book this room. My only grievance is that the pool isn't heated and since it's partially shaded the water was rather chilly - watch out for shrinkage. They should have a solar heater, since there's never a cloud in the sky.

This suite also has a large, beautiful terrace with your choice of several sets of chaise lounges, potted olive trees and a killer view.

In general, the hotel is in a pleasant, quiet area well away from the absolutely ridiculous mobs of cruise ship passengers in Fira (don't stay there whatever you do). There are some good nearby restaurants (recommend Remvi) and two little grocery/wine stores right down the street. Allow a day or two to visit Oia - it's the epitome of Santorini, where all the pictures of blue domed churches are taken.

  • Liked — The particular room we had.
  • Disliked — Pool was chilly.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bellknob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2009

My wife and I had an excellent stay at the Sun Rocks. We stayed there in mid August but I’m just now getting around to writing my review. The staff was very welcoming and professional and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable.

Firostefani is a very pretty and quiet little cluster of hotels with some really good restaurants and a few shops. It’s a beautiful (but somewhat strenuous) 10 minute hike to Fira along the Cliffside walking path and a great place to stay if you want to a little more for your money and are willing to stay a bit further from the heart of the action. Tip: if you arrive by ferry, I highly recommend you have the hotel pick you up at the dock. It’s a long ride and would be very expensive by cab.

It was my birthday during our stay, and the staff gave us champagne and chocolate covered strawberries by the pool and also had a nice bottle of wine and some treats in our room later in the day. They really took care of all the details to make us feel special.

The staff helped us rent a four-wheeler for two days during our stay, which I highly recommend. It’s a great way to get around the island to see the other great spots in Santorini -- Oia, the beaches, the wineries, etc.

We stayed in the “Experience Suite”, which was very modern, clean and comfortable (yes, the room is just as beautiful as the pictures), but there are a few things I should mention. First, we didn’t mind and enjoyed the exercise, but you should know that the Experience Suite is at the very bottom of the cliffside – more than 200 stairs down from the hotel reception/the main path to Fira. The in-room hot tub looked amazing, but it took over an hour and a half to fill up with hot water, which was disappointing. The shower also looked great, but you couldn’t control the temperature control very well (water was either very cold or very hot; didn’t stay in a comfortable zone). Also, on the last night of our 4 night stay, the power went out on the whole island (apparently this happens fairly frequently). Everyone else got their power back within 30 minutes, but the surge protector in our room blew out and we never got power back. The hotel staff tried really hard to fix it, but after 2 hours they realized they needed a new part so they moved us to the Honeymoon Suite. The manager called us several times (from home) to apologize and go out of his way to accommodate us. He even gave us a credit on our bill for the inconvenience and let us stay in the Honeymoon Suite until 5pm the next day since our flight didn’t leave until the evening. This was totally beyond the hotel’s control and they went above and beyond to make us happy.

Overall, the Sun Rocks is top-notch and is a great choice for a perfect romantic getaway. My wife and I will definitely stay here when we come back!

  • Liked — Beautiful views, spacious and modern rooms, and staff's impeccable attention to detail
  • Disliked — at times the water temp control and pressure didn't work that great (as can be expected on an island)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevefromchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2009

We stayed at Sun Rocks for 6 nights at the beginning of July in 2008 for our honeymoon. What can I say, absolutely amazing. We booked a junior suite and were given probably the best one available - can't remember the number of the room, but it is on the bottom section, and there is a large wall to wall window at the foot of the bed in the bedroom that just out over the cliff - such an amazing view to wake up to each morning!

The pool was amazing, the breakfast fantastic, and the staff during our stay were amazing - the guy working the bar sat up late with us one night just to have a chat and served us free drinks all night (off the record of course)!

Liked the free internet room (although a lot of stairs to climb just to check your email), and the location was perfect - gave you the chance to walk along the cliffside to get to Fira.

To sum up - this hotel is amazing, the staff go out of your way and the little restaurant that seats 4 couples is highly recommended. Just beautiful. I was told to go to this hotel by at least 5 people who'd stayed here, and it really does live up to all the hype.

  • Liked — The view, the pool, the amazing ambience, the fact that no children or pets allowed! Pure luxury...
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2008

Firstly, it was hard to find, if you were not careful and missed the small sign at the gate. We went up and down and all over the place to find it. It was not easy in the high heat, after a 6 hour boat ride climbing up and down and getting very frustrated. This alone put us in a bad mood. Once there, greeted with a nice cold glass of champagne, very appreciated. We had a jnr suite booked. the cost of this was approx $550 AUD p.nt. we received very nice glossy photos of the resort - nothing like it. Could not find anything that resembled the photos, parts of it doesnt belong to them any more, or they have changed things around. Initially disappointed with the suite, also you dont get your own verandah, so hope you get the chairs before the neighbours do. this only applies to the ones right in front of your door. The breakfast is delicious, very very good. The restaurant is very small and also very nice, the pool is small but does the job, the view however is MAGNIFICANT and the pool staff are just lovely. We were leaving very early, before the restaurant opened, so they gave us a menu to pick and they will deliver the food. Well....I have never seen anything like it, and we travel 4 months every year. there was soooo much food, I asked for yoghurt, thinking a small tub, got a full pasta like dish of it. Asked for a couple of slices of bread, got a half a loaf etc. all very very nice. the rooms were clean and comfortable, and traditional. Also very well situated.

  • Liked — its all about the view
  • Disliked — the climbing - you MUST be very fit!!!
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
69.2 mi away
Apsenti Couples Only - Mykonos
Apsenti Couples Only - Mykonos
#8 of 12 in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#8 of 21 in Firostefani
442 reviews
3.5 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 54 in Oia
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 48 in Imerovigli
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
2.1 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#10 of 48 in Imerovigli
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Rocks Hotel

Property: Sun Rocks Hotel
Address: | Thira, Santorini, Firostefani 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Rocks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sumptuous aesthetics abound, reflecting its luxurious, low-key, in-house lifestyle where complete peace and tranquility in a magical setting artfully combine with abodes flourishing in comfort, convenience and seduction. Enmeshed around it is the meticulous attention to detail that makes all great hotels bask in magnanimity, that has made Sun Rocks Boutique Hotel, a key destination, time and time again, for Santorini weddings and honeymoons, a prominent couples only hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Rocks Santorini
Sun Rocks Hotel Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing