We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”
Review of Sun Rocks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sun Rocks Hotel
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

The sunrock a was truly a magnificent experience for my wife and I . I was a bit apprehensive at first when we had to traverse the myriad if steps to get to our room , which at first seemed to be if another hotel , after reading all these reviews on room switching. Our room was a secluded part of the hotel on the bottom of the hill, dug into the hillside with its own secluded private terrace .wow it was like something out of a magazine shoot . We had uninterrupted views of the caldera and the rest of the islands and felt like we where the only knew there . Initially the room smelt like it had just been chlorinated,but after a while Realised that is was the " cave" smell everyone had warned us about . The staff where really friendly and jn fact where some of the friendliest we had encountered on our travels . The only thing is you must like stairs ,because they are everywhere . Breakfast was typical Greek style on the poolside deck overlooking the caldera . The hotel is a couples hotel so does not suit families . A great hotel with great staff and a truly memorable experience .

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RickX01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    64
    26
    10
    10
See reviews for
9
292
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Beautiful hotel with very friendly staff. Although there are lots of stairs its worth it. The hotel restaurant was great - very large meal sizes and tasty food. Lounging by the pool while being served cocktails and food was a highlight. The staff are very attentive to your every need. Location is also good, easy to reach the main town by walking and theres also some places to eat around the hotel. It was amazing to see the staff carrying our luggage up and down those stairs faster than we could even walk them. Staff also very helpful in providing advice about what to do while on Santorini.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Sun Rocks was great! We were in the center of the island (easy to get everywhere), but not in the middle of the crowds in Oia or too near where the cruise ships dock. Our sunsets were beautiful, our room was huge, the staff was very friendly... we LOVED it!

The spa at their sister hotel in Oia was AWESOME.
Sun Rocks made excellent dinner suggestions...

Room Tip: We got an upgrade with a nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLtraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Some of the nicest and best staff I have ever been my pleasure to meet, and I can only sing their praises. Maria , Ilias , Abi ,Stefano et al ( apologies for any mis-spelling) were delightful ,helpful and always on hand. The views are spectacular, and hotel recommendations on restaurants and trips spot on. This hotel would have rated 100% if I could have turned off the call centre music playing constantly in the bar/pool, Wifi had worked in the rooms and there had been a hand rail on the stairs- a problem particularly when a storm is blowing!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJF14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

It's a good location. Great views. But it's not entirely worth the money. The rooms are ok, bathrooms are a bit weird, our bathroom was a cave. The hotel has a nice pool deck and the staff are quite friendly, but something about the hotel didn't seem right. Maybe it was just the endless stairs (but that's Santorini!), maybe it was the small bugs, not a bad hotel but by no means the best I have stayed at.

It does have a great Gyros place up the road - Why Not Souvlaki - and of course Pirouni is close by. The hotel does really good cocktails.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank deano18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Thank you for everything! From the upgrade to the honeymoon suite, the bottle of wine welcoming us to the hotel, the VIP treatment all the way through and the great tips on things to do, this was truly a honeymoon to remember. Marina, Maria, Elias, Alex--outstanding at what they do! Loved every moment of this experience.

Room Tip: Every room is stunning with a view. Depends on how many steps you want between your room and the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdyfi (Aberdovey), United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2014

we stayed for a week at the gorgeous sun rocks and loved every minute.
the attention to detail is phenomenal , stunning location , fab room with a very comfy bed and gorgeous min imal decor- very soothing
we had our own private jacuzzi , staff were very attentive especially maria and steffano - everything was just lovely.
firostefani is a great location - nearby fira is very busy and full of cruise tourists , fab walk to uia along the caldera
food was smae standard everywhere- ok - the hotel breakfasts are fab , nicest meal was in roka in ouia- down a side lane and full of locals- great home cookedfood , would love to return

Room Tip: think they all have a view of the caldera
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.4 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
3.5 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#11 of 56 in Oia
924 reviews
3.6 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#16 of 50 in Imerovigli
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
4.7 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Rocks Hotel

Property: Sun Rocks Hotel
Address: | Thira, Santorini, Firostefani 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Rocks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sumptuous aesthetics abound, reflecting its luxurious, low-key, in-house lifestyle where complete peace and tranquility in a magical setting artfully combine with abodes flourishing in comfort, convenience and seduction. Enmeshed around it is the meticulous attention to detail that makes all great hotels bask in magnanimity, that has made Sun Rocks Boutique Hotel, a key destination, time and time again, for Santorini weddings and honeymoons, a prominent couples only hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sun Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Rocks Santorini
Sun Rocks Hotel Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing