We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Simos Taverna

Simos Taverna
Ranked #10 of 17 Restaurants in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We were recommended to visit by our hotel and decided to head out to them on our first evening. We were greeted by a very friendly waiter, who brought out a whole tray of starters to show us what was available. I chose the aubergine and my husband the mushrooms, both of which were delicious. Next I had a lovely home cooked moussaka and salad and my husband the fish, which the waiter recommended. It was beautifully prepared and my husband was delighted with his choice. We drank local wine, which was a little too like retsina for my taste, but my husband liked it. The waiters were chatty and tolerated our pathetic attempts to try out our Greek on them. We were also given free dessert. For the meal and wine including a second jug, we paid €62 which was very good value for Fira. We look forward to returning later in the week.

Helpful?
1 Thank limenaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    217
    72
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Memorable experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Had a great time watching the World Cup game and eating great food at this restaurant! The staff was so friendly and playful, and the food was tasty and fresh. We were tired after a long day of sightseeing, but we felt right at home at this restaurant! Definitely a meal we will not forget!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hedieh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little piece of Greek heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

What a place, what a food, what a service.

First, the atmosphere - like a traditional and cozy Greek home. You're welcomed warmly and sincerely, you enjoy the friendly and genuine Greek hospitality.

The food. Mixed grill plate for two: reasonable priced, versatile and tasty mix of different kinds of meat, vegetables and fried potatoes. Got so overloaded, it was difficult to walk back to the hotel.

Tuna fillet: a pure pleasure. Grilled, beautiful fillets (2 of them) of tuna, fried potatoes and carrots. It was the best tuna I've eaten.

Beef steak: size of a plate, grilled steak, fried potatoes and carrots. I was told by the eater it was absolutely fabulous.

And the tzatsiki was also the best I've eaten. Ever.

Then the service. Very seldom you get so friendly and personal service you just have to go back. I feel bad I can't remember the gentleman's name who served us, but he's just a character you cannot forget. He's a wonderful and funny guy who makes the customer feel herself special. The young boy was also special and took very good care of us.

Overall, a great great place with a big and warm heart! And the bill - unbelievably small :)

Helpful?
Thank htoikkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formigine, Italy
Level Contributor
119 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Turistic but good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Had dinner twice there.
Nice terrace (eastbound).
Varied menu, both fish & meat.
Low prices compared to Santorini's average.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fairadvisors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We agree with the positive reviews on Simos. A very friendly owner and a lovely young man waiting on us, we sat upstairs in the garden deck -- much to the chagrin of the cat where we chose to sit. The owner brought up a tray of examples of the appetizers, which helped us as we are not experts on Greek food (I note in another review that someone said this was touristy, but as Santorini exists on tourism for 7 months of the year it seems prudent for the owner to cater to tourists).

Our entrees were great. I have not been a big fan of zucchini flowers but my wife ordered them and they were sensational. We also had the tomato cakes, very tasty, and the squid salad. All good. For mains, one daughter had the schnitzel with mushrooms (probably a little too heavy on the mushrooms unless you are a major funghi fan), the other daughter had lamb chops which she enjoyed, and my wife and I had the mixed fish plate for 2, with calamari, swordfish, prawns and sea bass, which was excellent.
Without a doubt though, the "winner" of the night was our son, with the 'lamb in oven'. Falling of the bone and beautiful flavour.

The children were given free ice creams and we got a free local dessert as well. The owner also saved us money by suggesting the local house wine instead of the pricey bottle we had picked, and it was very nice.

As a final nice gesture, the owner gave my daughter a fresh paper table cover with the Santorini map on it that she really wanted. A great family dinner, great service and tasty food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simos Taverna also viewed

Firostefani, Santorini
Firostefani, Santorini
 
Firostefani, Santorini
Firostefani, Santorini
 

Been to Simos Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing