We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant in Firostefani!”
Review of Simos Taverna

Simos Taverna
Ranked #9 of 17 Restaurants in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant in Firostefani!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This place is on the main road with a beautiful view of the sea & city across the road from it. It looks especially pretty at night. The food is very nice and the service is excellent. The owner is a nice man who is extremely nice, polite, takes time to explain the menu and seems very passionate about food! He always has a smile on his face and even cracks a few jokes :)
We had been to Athens before visiting Santorini and were disappointed with restaurants in Greece till then. This one changed our mind altogether!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aruna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    230
    75
    29
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply outstanding!”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We traveled as a group of three, and Simos Taverna was from day one a highlight on our trip. Excellent food, interior, price range, food diversity and much more, the incredibly service minded and just plain friendly and welcoming staff made us come back again and again. We send our warmest recommendations and advise everyone in the area to visit! Love, Ine, Julius and Rasmus.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IneElg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent 5 days in Santorini and ate at Simos twice, because it was just so good. It was recommended to us by an employee at our hotel. Many locals eat here which says a lot about its food. It is located on the main road to Fira center. The service is impeccable and prices were reasonable. They start off by showing off a big platter of the different appetizers so you can see what some of the food looks like. We had fresh fish both times and it was delicious. Highly recommend you try out Simos when you visit this gorgeous island!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travel_bug0122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“really good atmosphere..”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

i am actually here in the restaurant right now.they have free wifi so i am making use of it.haha.food is really really good.for starters i ordered the special of the day which is the baby octopus with tomato sauce and my boyfriend ordered the simos special.the starters are perfect.a good thing is that they have cooked samples of the starters and they can show you so its easier for you to choose.the place has a laid back atmosphere.just directly situated in the main road. the service is quick and they are attentive to your needs. its also not too expensive.we paid about 35 eur which is not bad. i recommend it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annmitch23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Traditional Greek”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were recommended this restaurant and it was a very typical greek tavern, I wouldn't say the food was the best I ate in Santorini but it was good and half the price of most places, Greeks eat here which says a lot to me.
Loved the way the waiter brought a tray of sample dishes so you could see what you would get.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Uk-Traveller300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simos Taverna also viewed

Firostefani, Santorini
Firostefani, Santorini
 
Firostefani, Santorini
Firostefani, Santorini
 
Firostefani, Santorini
 

Been to Simos Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing