We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in Greece”
Review of Simos Taverna

Simos Taverna
Ranked #7 of 20 Restaurants in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
641 reviews
385 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“When in Greece”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Eat at family run restaurants recommended by locals and you won't be disappointed. The food is all fantastic. We tasted many dishes on the menu as we were presented with a choice of many appetizers which looked so good we had several. The main dishes of fish and lamb were just lovely it was lie eating a home cooked meal in Greece.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    240
    76
    29
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Marvellous food and kind staff!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Excellent and authentic food. We went to this restaurant five or six times during our stay. We have never been dispointed. All the mezze or main dishes are great: moussaka, saganaki, lamb... Always excellent. Various choice of mezze served by a really kind staff. Raki or vinsanto and dessert often offered at the end.
You will sure to spend a good time enjoying this marvellous food!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hungryfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant and owner”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed nearby to Simos and ate here 3 times during our 5 day stay. Good traditional food, good wine, reasonable prices , lovely owner treated us to free dessert and ice creams for our daughter.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simos Taverna”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Limited menu. But like they bring out a sample platter of all their starters. Easy to access using path at back from Firostefani square

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phillipm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed just up the hill from here in Firostefani and ate here twice on our holiday. The staff was amazing, the atmosphere traditional, and the food... beyond yummy! You have to have the fried peppers, saganaki, and grilled porkchops. To. Die. For.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ReynaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simos Taverna also viewed

Firostefani, Santorini
Firostefani, Santorini
 
Firostefani, Santorini
 

Been to Simos Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing