We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!! Actually like in the photos on the website.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!! Actually like in the photos on the website.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

It is set down the side of the cliff. Initially walking down, I wondered if I was heading in the right direction, but there are signs to show you the way just when you think you're lost (hint look at the floor as well as the walls). You can call someone to help you with your luggage, but if you don't have a phone it is ok to walk (walking up with luggage is a whole different ball game). About one third of the way down, someone did ask me if he could help me with my luggage, not sure which hotel he worked for (there are 2 or 3 down the same path, I didn't ask as I was ok to walk).
The staff are mega friendly (including the cat). When I arrived, the lady who worked at the kitchen gave me a welcome hamper with a small bottle of wine and fruit. I was totally not expecting it and I love it when they just go the extra mile for you.
I had a traditional room on the lowest level which was great for the view and peace and quiet. A bit of a walk back up, I had to rest at the reception each trip (great for working out the glutes tho! If you exercise regularly I don't think it will be a problem for you). When I left, a young man helped me with my luggage back up to the taxi waiting on the main road. He made it look like a walk in the park and he said my luggage was light at 14kgs.
There is a small food store just 2 mins down the path from the main walking pathway, Fira bus station is a 15 minute brisk walk .Found a nice spot just between Fira and Firostefani to watch the sunset, much better than watching it from Oia. The hotel is also a very nice spot, also much better than Oia. I was told by a few locals that Firostefani is the best place to watch the sunset but the area has been monopolised by hotels so there isn't really a spot you can just hang out at unless you stay at the hotel or drink/eat at the hotel restaurant (really expensive!).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia_2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    210
    60
    20
    12
See reviews for
135
546
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Yes, the stairs are a constant issue. Get over it. This hotel offers a luxurious stay with a killer view.
We didn't eat dinner there but lunch was good and the breakfast spread they put out is spectacular. The poolside drinks are pricey but it was a fun drink menu that kept you going back for more.
The rooms are cool, actually built into the mountain. AC unit was a little erratic but served it's purpose. It was also one of the most comfy bed we had on our trip.
The pool is perfect and the pool view can't be described in words.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

When my husband and I first arrived at the Villa we were stunned by how beautiful the view was and how friendly and helpful Panos was. The staff were great, friendly and helpful. We had a honeymoon suite that was amazing and spacious. We can't say enough about this place and how beautiful our wedding was thanks to Panos and all who were involved in making my day magical. We will be returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMONEGRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The room and view almost made me never want to leave the room and patio area. It was so wonderful, and peaceful. The staff were always so friendly and helpful.

It is really close to Fira, the larger town. There are lots of stairs so if that is an issue beware (but all of Santorini is like that).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TMyers26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We found the villa for our family of 4 to be very clean and suitable for our needs. The views from the patio were amazing. Reception was very helpful in organizing private tours for us, recommending local restaurants and ordering taxis. Breakfast was made fresh every day. Walk down to Fira town was only 10-15 minutes (lots of stairs!). My kids enjoyed the jacuzzi and feeding the cats.

Room Tip: we stayed closer to reception which was quiet compared to the villas enroute to the pool & break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank murgatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

My husband and i stayed at dana villas for 4 nights. Our first impression wasnt too good. We had arranged for transfer to hotel but when we arrived at the ferry terminal, there was no one waiting for us. We had to pay eur 2 for a phone call to dana villas from one of the travel agent at the terminal since we did not have a local mobile.

We waited for 45mins before the transfer finally came. The reception lady was hardly apologetic, she only informed us that there was a mix up in the transfer arrangement. She also gave us a bus timetable with wrong bus timing, it could be a summer bus timetable so please get an updated one at the bus station instead.

When we checked into our room (room 103), the bathroom was in need of renovation, things were old in the room and floor was dusty. The toilet seat could not stay up, we informed reception and someone came to check the problem and was given change of room. This was not a good experience after the issue with transfer.

We were given room 115 next which was a split level villa at the corner, great view of the caldera. Bathroom looked better maintained but shower bar was shaky and everytime i moved the shower head, the show bar would give way. The hotel room floor again was dusty and i noticed dirt that was on the floor in the morning was still there after housekeeping in the eve and after 3 days later.

Breakfast selection was good compared to other european hotels with generous varieties. However, environment was not condusive as there were quite a number of noisy tourists conversing across different tables during breakfast. This also happened frequently during the course of the day whereby similar batch of tourists were shouting from their terraces down to hotel pool and vice versa. We came across 2 different batches of tourists behaving this way and at some point were really annoyed.

In addition, they would sun their clothes and shoes at our private terrace in front of our room which was very inconsiderate. This greatly affected our hotel experience negatively. I believe the hotel should have some sort of policy against inconsiderate hotel guests.

The only redeeming factors were the helpful male night time receptionist and the porter as he carried our luggages down hundreds of steps from our first room to second room and then on the last day up the cliff for our airport transfer.

There are many other caldera view accommodations along firastefani, i would recommend to look for other alternatives.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sephyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The place was awesome and the staff really friendly and helpfull, gave us all the advice we could've hoped for on the local area. Would strongly recommend to anyone looking at Santorini for a holiday. October was a great time to go as the number of cruise ships dropped making the place less crowded.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K3RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.0 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#8 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#4 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
#4 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dana Villas Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dana Villas Hotel & Suites

Property: Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Address: Firostefani 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dana Villas Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dana Villas in Santorini ...Imagine a quiet setting, a beautiful view, and a traditional settlement cascading down the Santorini caldera .. and all this just a few minutes away from the bustling island capital, Fira. Dana Villas offers luxurious suites and an open air swimming pool on the dramatic Santorini caldera. Breathtaking views of the volcano and the magnificent Santorini sunset make it hard to part with the magic of Dana Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dana Villas Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Villas Hotel Firostefani
Dana Villas Santorini
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing