We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Moussaka heaven!”
Review of Aktaion

Aktaion
Ranked #6 of 17 Restaurants in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This restaurant is also by a small parking area just off the Oia road, and has a sunset view of the caldera.
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Moussaka heaven!”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stumbled on this place on our first night in Santorini and realised how lucky we were after the dishes started to be served!!

It's very small but very traditional and family Greek run.

The Moussaka is very very special, some of the best we have ever had.

Service was also excellent.

On problem now is trying to find somewhere to beat this place?!

Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeeNSazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    233
    63
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Delicious homestyle cooking”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Like the last reviewer, this was the first restaurant we ate at while on Santorini. It was recommended by the proprietors at Lithies. We arrived at nearly 10pm and the place was packed and loud with patrons obviously enjoying wine and Ouzo as well as food. We lucked out and found a table on the patio and enjoyed some of the best food we had during our vacation. We ate there twice, both times it was great. This is a family restaurant not a fancy one - the service was brusk, but efficient and fast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank H0WL_CAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant with a view”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This was the first place we ate in Santorini, by recommendation of our hotel. They said it served delicious "traditional Santorini cuisine." It was amazing. We ended up eating here the next night as well, which is a testament since I always like to try new places. The moussaka was one of the best things I've ever tasted. The mezes were also amazing. The prices were about average, and I think a great value for the quality of the food. The small patio was charming and had a view of the sunset. The service could be brusque, but not rude. This place is very busy, but since Greek people eat extremely late, we were able to get a table on the patio before 7 without a reservation. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Moussaka!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The best moussaka ever! And other dishes are also delicious.
Authentic atmosphere preserved.
Despite being surrounded by tourists, it has not surrendered to the fast food fashion, this is proper home cooked Greek food, on a magic island, by the Caldera although not right above it.
The waiter is super efficient and friendly, backed by a super Chef. Prices are very reasonable.
Surely one of the best places to eat in Santorini. P

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie-Helene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Traditional Food with Something Extra”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We ate here twice during our stay on Santorini. The food I thought was very good and carefully prepared from local ingredients. The service was excellent. It is traditional Greek food but more gourmet then in a Taverna.
The lamb in vin santo sauce was excellent, zucchini pie appetizer and yellow fava app were very good. The pasta tasted home made, with a tasty but super garlicky tomato sauce. The moussaka was wonderful too. Great small wine list with Santorini's best producers represented. A bottle of Hatzidakis Atheri was marvelous. A glass of home made raki melo comes gratis with the check. Loved this restaurant, highly recommended. Different specials every night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WashingtonFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aktaion also viewed

Firostefani, Santorini
Firostefani, Santorini
 
Firostefani, Santorini
Firostefani, Santorini
 
Exo Gonia, Fira
Firostefani, Santorini
 

Been to Aktaion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing