We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable place, great views, brilliant staff and a fantastic location”
Review of Vallas Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vallas Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unbelievable place, great views, brilliant staff and a fantastic location”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The location was amazing with views of the sunset over the caldera as well as the sunrise! Tge staff were unbelievably friendly and offered great advice on things to do and see as well as all the best restaurants to try. They were always more than happy to go out of their way to assist! The apartment is only a 10 minute walk to thira so location is fantastic and it is easy to get to the beaches or around the island. I can't speak highly enough of this place

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cucciardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    51
    12
    10
    5
See reviews for
28
73
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

A little overdue but I was all over Europe before I came back home. It was a pleasant stay at Vallas Apartments. First we were really impressed when Stefanos, the manager of the group of hotels, arranged for us to rest in another suite after our tiring early morning flight while Vallas Apartments was ready for us. He then drove us personally to Vallas apartments where the friendly Mr Vallas greeted us. I did not get the his name but I read from the recent it should be Yiannis, the hotel manager who was always very patient and thoughtful. Firostefani is just a short walk away from Fira and a lovely area to stay in. Sunset at the viewing deck is like better than the one I see in Oia! I'd probably stay here again if I ever go back to Santorini (not so soon since i live 9500 miles away!)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 500rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We had an amazing view and the room was really large and clean. The breakfast was great and included bacon and eggs. It was a short walk to the shops from the hotel. Yani really looked after us. It was my friends birthday and he organized a cake and candles at no charge. He made our stay very special.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernieandsunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Vallas Apartments are situated over 2 locations a couple of minutes walk from each other in Firostefani. One site has a large private verandah and jacuzzi/pool which are available to all guestsfrom both sites, enjoying the most loveliest viewsof the Caldera and sea. They also have separate villas next door with their own private and larger pool for small groups or couples.

I cannot believe the negative reviews I have read here which would understandably put people off, and I'm glad we hadn't seen them and found Vallas through another route.

The staff here are so helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The Manager Yiannis is wonderful he is here the whole time from early in the morning to help with breakfasts to late at night. Anything we have asked for he has organised. We had just booked in for one night but due to the great service from Yiannis, the lovely cool cave room, and the view, have decided to stay the week and have been here 4 days so far. Yiannis even helped us locate some lost luggage we had left on the ferry here which we took from Pireaus (Athens) and was waiting for us at reception on the boat the next day when it returned.

Santorini is a very busy island attracting a lot of tourists and cruise ships. Fira is its capital and we found it on a day trip uncomfortably over crowded, the guide books refer to bars and clubs being opened from 1am - 6am! Vallas is located a 10 minute walk from Fira and far enough way to not be disturbed by these. Firostefani has a great choice of restaurants but is at a much quieter pace and more suited for the discerning traveller and those wishing to enjoy a quiet holiday.

The apartments really are in a stunning spot. We are spending 2 months holidaying in Greece and have learnt a lot about what is available in this country. We travel a lot and only stay in good quality, clean establishments. This is one of our best stays so far in greece. The apartments, hotels etc which enjoy the best views of the sunset can be hugely expensive in Santorini. When we were researching and viewed other apartments in Firostefani, we couldn't find anything with the same uninterrupted views for less than 200-300 euros a night at this time of year. Vallas are great value.

Breakfast is also included (many of the other apartments do not have a taverna or if they do, this is extra). Antonnis looks after you during the day from breakfast to early evening, and prepares a great breakfast. As much coffee as you need, orange juice, yoghurt, eggs, bacon, omelette, toast. And with a lovely charming Greek service. His brother George bakes all the cakes which are also included with your breakfast. We don't need to eat again until dinner!

There are couples here from the UK who stayed last year, and are coming back next year. They wouldn't be doing this if some of the reviews posted last year were to be taken seriously.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionaandbenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filothei, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We stayed in Vallas Apartments July 2010
It was a sadden sort trip in Santorini so we hadn’t booked a hotel. A very good friend had told us about this small but very good hotel. The apartments were with beautiful views over the caldera so we could enjoy the famous caldera l sunsets.
One of the things we liked of this hotel is that it is quiet and relaxing but is only a short walk away from the hustle and bustle of the Town.. We had a nice room on the top level. It was clean and spacious with its own kitchenette and great view.
It is very pleasant sitting around the Jacuzzi area in the afternoon and watching the sunset before dinner. The staff was very friendly and helpful and happy to assist at all times and the breakfast was excellent.
We only had 3 nights here, but would stay longer next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george-lyda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2011

I stayed there with a couple of friends at the end of September due to a wedding we had to attend to. It is not a fancy hotel but the staff was very helpful and the room and premises were spotless clean. The room was spacious with great view (had a small kitchen also). Free internet access was available but did not had the chance to check the speed.
Even though we spend only 2 nights in Santorini, our stay left us with a pretty good impression + good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geo_psim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2011

The best hotel i've ever been! So near to the center, the service was great, the rooms were big and cleaned and the view was just marvellous! Me and my friends had an excellent time! The people were so friendly and helped us a lot! Can't wait to be there another time!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annita_Ath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.2 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 21 in Firostefani
820 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.0 mi away
Homeric Poems
Homeric Poems
#3 of 21 in Firostefani
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#4 of 21 in Firostefani
977 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 80 in Fira
799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manos Small World
Manos Small World
#8 of 21 in Firostefani
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vallas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vallas Apartments

Property: Vallas Apartments
Address: Firostefani, Santorini, Firostefani 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vallas Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vallas Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vallas Apartments Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing