We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Espectacular view, Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mama Thira Tavern

Mama Thira Tavern
Firostefani Village on the Cliff, Firostefani 84700, Greece
+302286022189
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 17 Restaurants in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Espectacular view, Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We walked by this place everyday in our way to town, so one day we decided we were going to give it a try and see the sunset from the terrace.

We went for dinner and food was ok for us. The best thing was dessert - a chocolate lava cake - which for me it's kind of disappointing since you except local food to be the absolute highlight.

Still, overall it was a good experience. And you get and absolutely gorgeous view of the caldera for the sunset.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ileana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    258
    110
    60
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
311 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was staying at Vallas Apartments right behind Mama Thira for a week in June and on my first night, I thought I'd give it a try. The terrace overlooks the caldera and I decided to enjoy the sunset there. BUT, I had not noticed the dirty glass panes before I sat down and ordered. We were encased behind smudged glass and people had to get up to take pictures of the sunset. It kind of ruins the experience, in my opinion.

The food was good, the service was kind and fast, but the atmosphere was awful. The tables are very close to each other, it was uncomfortable. Maybe the layout inside the restaurant is better...

I grew to hate their terrace. Every night, a few rowdy patrons would ruin the calm for everyone in the area! It was sometimes impossible to go to bed until they closed. The staff seemed completely unconcerned by the loud drunks on their terrace. What a shame.

Also, there was a little dog that hung around there (I don't know if it belonged to the owners or neighbors) that would bark NONSTOP from 11 to 11:30, making guests speak so much louder.

I really enjoyed my food, the menu has interesting options and everything was fresh. They also serve Santorini Brewing Company beer, which is very good (Yellow Donkey, Red Donkey and Crazy Donkey). I'm sad that my experience was ruined by the awful terrace.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A cozy restaurant right at the edge of the cliff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Lovely views of the Kaldera and the opposite volcanic islands, rich menu, quiet environment and reasonable prices!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChristosKourtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imerovigli, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Excellent seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The food was perfect, they have a big menu so just ask them to recommend you some dishes. The seafood we tried was wonderful, fresh and well presented. The view of the caldera is just as good as the food. The people who work there are very kind and helpful. Its worth going 100%.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Irini_maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely food & cocktails, nice clean restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We went to Mama Thira on recommendation from one of the locals working in our hotel. We had a nice table at sunset overlooking the Caldera. Average cocktail was around 12EUR, made with fresh ingrediants, very good. Food was fresh also and came fairly quickly, it was delicious. I had the seafood rissotto, portions were small but high quality leaving just enough room for desert. Service was excellent, waiters were top class and entertained the baby whist waiting for the food.

Go there, one of the top restaurants in Firostefani.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JonRoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Thira Tavern also viewed

Firostefani, Santorini
Firostefani, Santorini
 
Firostefani, Santorini
Firostefani, Santorini
 

Been to Mama Thira Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing