We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice food, great location....”
Review of Mama Thira Tavern

Mama Thira Tavern
Ranked #13 of 20 Restaurants in Firostefani
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Very nice food, great location....”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My partner and I ate here for dinner during our trip to Santorini in early Oct 2012. We booked a table in advance and had a lovely table by the window.

I will start by saying on the the strange things about this place was one of the waiters was Australian. Now I am and Aussie but to be served by any Aussie, in greece just felt a little strange. However he was really very good and gave us some great recommendations.

We had some house wine, very nice, and the mains were fresh sea bream and a lamb stifardo (think that is how you spell it). Lamb in a tomato sauce, with potatoes and onions and the bream was simply pan fried. Both dishes were really very nice with the Lamb being one of the highlights of the trip in terms of flavour....

We were surprised with a complementary desert as it was a celebration for us which was a really nice touch.

All in all, while not a complete highlight of the trip the food was very good, the service was very professional, the wine nice and the location great. We would certainly go back for a meal when visiting Santorini again....

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Savitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    362
    154
    87
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santorini
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This tavern works absolutely perfect even without its boss!!!”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I was there with my family and my best man family. We had some excelent apetizers and a huge portion of meet for 4 persons that had all greek type cooked meet. Excellent price also for the offered quality. Thank you George!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Palama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food.”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Located opposite our hotel - Allure Suites. Good food, but I probably expected more.. May be slightly overpriced, but enjoyed nonetheless!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ParagMohata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“awesome!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Best view in Firostefani, and run by an Aussie! Food was a bit more pricey than the average, but definitely worth it, went there 3 times

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChrisMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We loved sitting on the terrace overlooking the caldera while eating great food and drinking a glass of Santorini wine. The staff was very friendly, the service was quick, and the food was delicious. We ate a late lunch here every day of our stay in Santorini and especially enjoyed chatting with Demetri. It is a friendly place in which the customers shared stories and tips. The lamb dishes were outstanding as was the white wine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cindy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Thira Tavern also viewed

Firostefani, Santorini
Firostefani, Santorini
 
Firostefani, Santorini
Firostefani, Santorini
 

Been to Mama Thira Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing