We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something to remember” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ikastikies

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ikastikies
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Something to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2010

Looking at the Caldera, in Thira, you will find the Ikastikies Elegant Suites, a great discovery... a place to remember! I have to thank specially Justin and also Giorgos to made my time there wonderful! I would say that it a well spent money, this was my second time at the island and maybe there would be a third! Also a place to share with someone special.

Thank you guys for a pleasant stay and a neat attention.
Héctor

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Termofusible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
101
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio De Janeiro-brazil
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

This hotel is perfect, a great location, very cosy, charming, the view is breathtaking, and thestaff, Justin and George, they are just great, do everything to please you, they are very kind, even did me a birthday cake. The breakfast, delicious, they can do whatever you want to eat. It is really a very special place and very special people.
You houl rent a moto or a smart (mercedes) there are lots in the island, and drive around the place, see the beaches and mountais, great!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catarina07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain - Madrid
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

Really great hotel. We spent 4 day there and it was simplly amazing: Modern and smart rooms, good placement, spectacular views to the caldera and the best service we ever had! Giorgios and Justin are so kind and cooperative that you feel like in home. We spent there the best days since a long time ago.... thanks so much!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiguelyMarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

Romantic, magical stay! The hotel and caldera views were breath taking! We came to relax and received a whole lot more! It was like a second honeymoon! The kindness and hospitality of the staff was above and beyond our expectations. The hotel was immaculate and clean with very unique rooms. We would highly recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canuck7Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2009

Stop searching for a place in Santorini. This is it. We had an amazing 5 days of ultimate beauty, service and comfort. Beautiful suites managed by dedicated and friendly hosts. Breakfast at any time, complimentary sunset wine and food. Thank you for an unforgettable 40th birthday stay.
Isabelle et Hubert

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isahub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2009

All of the wonderful things that everyone else said are correct! This place is like no other hotel in the world. We stayed in the Spilia Suite that had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a kitchen, a huge living space, and a private pool. The view is by far the best on the island! We hiked to Imerogovili and Oia and the view from our hotel was better than from either of those towns.

We were picked up at the airport when we arrived and we were given a tour of the suite and received wine and fruit. We arrived just in time for sunset which was unbelievable!

If you even mention something you need or want, they will get it ASAP. We wanted to rent a car and they had a guy at our door the next morning with our car parked out front. When we returned at the end of the day, Justin took the keys and they returned the car so we didn't have to deal with it. If they see you on your balcony at sunset, they will appear with wine and fruit. They will recommend restaurants and things to do on the island. Whenever you want breakfast, they will bring you the most amazing spread of food you have ever seen. I agree with the other person that said Justin's omelets are superb!! There is coffee, fruit and nutella chocolate dip, ham and cheese, breads and rolls, and more...

When we arrived, we had not yet booked our return ferry back up to Athens so they went online for us and compared flights and ferry prices to help us get things booked. By the way, the high speed internet is the best we had in Europe. We talked to our kids every night on a webcam and we were able to check email quickly and easily. Everywhere else we went had slow service and it took forever to check email and the camera would be too slow.

When we left, Justin came and had a toast with us of local beer before our ride to the ferry station. It was a perfect final touch to our time there. We toured all over Italy and Greece and each place, we were ready to move on after a few days and see the next place. I felt like I could stay in Santorini forever. Ikastikies is heavenly and we did NOT want to leave.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyfloridafamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2009

• For anyone who is looking for paradise & an unbelievable experience, this is the place. As a quick measure of my travels, I’ve visited a dozen countries & had the chance to say in 5 diamond hotels. Ikastikies is my favourite. I hope that giving you some insight to my previous experiences, it allows you, the reader, to better gauge my opinion
• Sublime, stunning, at a loss for words. These are my first impressions of Ikastikies. If a picture is worth a thousand words, and if no photo can encapsulate the spirit of peace, tranquility, serenity and absolute luxury you feel at Ikastikies, then no matter what is written in this review, the end result is that you have to live the experience to fully understand it. And that is exactly what differentiates Ikastikies. Whereas other hotels offer a room and perhaps a view, Ikastikies offers all this and an experience, in which uncomparable service and amenities make all the difference.
• Each room has its own distinctive charm & beauty. No matter which room you take, you will not be disappointed. The difficulty will be selecting just one, as each room is stunning, and impeccable.
• The love and passion that both Giorgios and Justin have for what they do is evidenced in every detail from the architectural design and decor of the hotel to their personalised service. They are the most remarkable hosts that we have had the pleasure to meet throughout our numerous travels, and it is guaranteed that we will return to enjoy their wonderful suites & hospitality.
• Your only challenges will be to finish the incredibly abundant breakfast and to pull yourself away from your seat where you can enjoy the spectacle of the caldera as its moods change throughout the day. Your only regret will be that you could not or did not stay longer.
• Breakfast consists of coffee, juice, a ham, cheese & tomato platter, cereals, croissants and other breakfast breads, chocolate spread, jams, honey a fruit dish, feta cheese garnished in oregano and olive oil, and fresh yogurt. At least that is what fits on the tray, on its first trip, that is served to you wherever you would like to have your breakfast (we enjoyed it poolside with the caldera view). As you are trying to figure out how you can possibly eat all this, Justin will ask, “How do you like your omelette?” At this point, the thought of more food is incredulous, however this is no joke, and the fresh omelette with tomato & cucumber contour is brought to you several minutes later. I am not a huge fan of omelettes, as they are often oily, however Justin’s are delicious and are not oily in the least, and I enjoyed them very much.
• The location is fantastic. You are a breathtaking 5 minute walk from Thira. If you walk back from Thira at night, you will find many other premium hotels that are close to the pounding music of the discos & night clubs. Several of these place we had considered ourselves, and I am happy to have chosen Ikastikies. These other places charge premium prices however you have the loud music from the hilltop discos that disallows late-night poolside quiet time. Also, many of these places have their pools next to the main pedestrian walkway where people pass by at waist-height. I cannot imagine there is a feeling of privacy or seclusion. Luckily, at Ikastikies, there is no such issue. You are far enough to not hear the music, you can enjoy the balcony or poolside at night as it is quiet, and the pool cannot be seen from the pedestrian walkway as it is set low enough such that the hotel walls are neck-high or higher. This does not impede your views as, from the hotel grounds, the walls are only a foot high. Basically you have both your view and privacy. Also, important to note is that the walkway that passes by the pool is not the main walkway but rather a secondary walkway that is used by much fewer people. The main walkway is at the top of the hotel, near the reception.
• The location of Ikastikies is within 100 feet of one of the best restaurants we enjoyed in Greece. The restaurant is called “To Aktaion” and has been around for 3 generations since 1922. Enjoy the Santorinian salad , the zucchini & bacon pie, and what is probably the world’s best mousaka. We enjoyed it so much, we ate there every night. Food is great, prices reasonable. As places are limited, I recommend reserving. It is only open from 6:30 to 12:30 at night, and is a favourite of locals.
• We had the privilege of enjoying 2 rooms, the Roza and Spilia suites. Each one is exquisite with fantastic decor. The rooms are beautiful, fresh, impeccable, incredible clean, pristine and enormous (the “smaller” of the two measured 80 square meters!). There are not enough words to describe them, therefore I suggest you look at the photos, and see for yourself. These two suites were both caves, which is a unique experience in itself. I enjoyed watching the sunlight come in, hitting the curved surfaces and ceiling, which gave it a unique soft glow.
• We walked to Imerovigli & past it halfway to Pori Beach. This side of the island is pretty therefore I would not recommend staying this far out if you want to walk to Thira at night. While Imerovigli is still within a reasonable distance, the return trip involves a good uphill series of stairs which may not be suitable for everyone. I recommend the walk past Imerovigli. It is intensely quiet, bordering on desolate, and if you want to feel alone with your thoughts, this is a good place to go.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreciaBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.0 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.4 mi away
Anteliz Suites
Anteliz Suites
#4 of 80 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Porto Fira Suites
Porto Fira Suites
#8 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#3 of 80 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tzekos Villas
Tzekos Villas
#14 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikastikies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikastikies

Property: Ikastikies
Address: Firostefani 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikastikies 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ikastikies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikastikies Hotel Firostefani
Ikastikies Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing