We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”
Review of Ikastikies

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ikastikies
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

It is very nice beautiful hotel with excellent services. The owner of the hotel is a great person (his name is George) who always makes sure you enjoy your stay and have a wonderful vacation. He provides you with any information you need (where to go, what and where to eat, what to see). Great breakfast, alot of food, everything was tasteful. Room was too big for me, but I guess it is a good thing. Walking distance to town. Amazing view. Love this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
104
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edmonton
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

this reveiw is long overdue, but this hotel was so amazing i had to make sure it got said. My husband and I travel alot and we were at this hotel in 2009, and since then every place we have gone to fails in comparision. The hotel is small and intimate, you never have to fight crowds, you have the total privacy you want to enjoy santorini at your own pace. The veiws from the hotel can not be put into words.. we had the sunset picture from our trip blow up into a wall mural that is how breaqthtaking it was. though the hotel, room and veiws were beyond amazing, the staff at this hotel surpassed all those items. They were what made this stay incredible, and all staff, every single one of them. they gave you the privacy you want, but were there for you at a moments notice, they went above and beyond to help on every aspect of our trip. We just can not recommend this hotel enough, and being that we have travelled to almost all sides of the world , this hotel still ranks as one of the best we have stayed at. It is a garanteed you will remeber a trip to this hotel for the rest of your life and talk about it for years after like we do!!

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bombayandtonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at Ikastikies for four nights in the first week of April. Hiring a car at the airport we weren’t sure we’d be able to find the place, but we ‘phoned George, the owner and he put our minds at rest. He suggested a place to park and came to meet us and collect our bags. George and the other staff are so friendly and keen to make your stay the best! It is like visiting friends and the personal touch and service cannot be beaten.

Ikastikies is a place with only four suites – in a dream location, right on the side of the Caldera in Firostafani. The views from the terraces over the sea are a dream-come-true. Each of the suites is unique, with real character and charm. We stayed in the spilia (cave) suite, which was like having our own home, with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen-dining-sitting area and a private pool and terrace. If you were asked to describe a dream holiday stay this would be it.

Ikastikies is in an ideal location, only 10 minutes walk from Fira (the main town on the island) or imerovighli, so you have the choice of all the restaurants and facilities on hand, yet are sufficiently far away from the main town to have quiet and privacy. The walk to either ‘town’ is a delight in itself, with the paths hugging the coast all the way. There is also public car parking close-by for those that have a hire car.

Breakfasts were prepared by George, with delicious pastries (fresh each morning from the local artisan bakers), fruit, fruit juices, santorini omelettes, coffee and meats and cheeses. George was happy to vary things according to our taste – fantastic quality and service.

In short – we loved this place and would love to go back. For anyone who doesn’t want the blandness and ‘sameness’ of standard hotels, this lovely, unique, individual place, with genuine personal service is a dream holiday stay. Staying here you really feel like you are staying with friends. Thanks to George and all the staff!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeedschrisYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Really beautiful hotel. It's location is great - close to the center but still quiet. We stayed at two bedroom suite with private pool - very comfortable, spacious and cosy. The staff was amazing - the owner George and his colleague Alberto were so polite and made our stay really special. Next time we go there again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BilyanaD751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I travel about 10-12 times a year mostly short excursions within Asia. This is my first ever trip to Europe (excl. Britain). My stay in Santorini has been my best experience yet in terms of the room's design, the view from the hotel, and the hospitality I've received during my stay.

Let's start with the design. Most hotels hire professional photographers to take photos that create expectations which couldn't be matched when you see the real thing; or that by the time you visit the wear and tear is quite apparent. Not so with this hotel. The real thing is as good as you see in the photos. Since the pictures sell themselves already that's all I'm going to say about the design.

The view from the hotel, equally, is great. It overlooks the cliff and ocean with a beautiful sun set view. Now many people say Oia is the place to see sunset. I haven't seen it but I was pretty impressed with the view from Fira already.

George, the owner of the hotel, is the example by which any 6 star hotel should follow. Either we're lucky or everyone knows everyone else in Santorini, but even though we just picked a taxi at random to take us to the hotel, for some reason the taxi driver called George and he was there to greet us at the car park, which is about a minute walk away from his hotel. We're taken aback initially when George started taking our luggages from us - we weren't expecting him there at all. Anyways after he took us in he introduced us to the rest of his gang. He assured us that since it's a family operation we're in safe hands in terms of our valuables.

George has offered us a free upgrade from a 2-person bedroom to a 4. He showed us both and let us decide. We took up his generous offer to stay at the bigger room but we'd just have been happy with the original. George is cheerful, energetic and very helpful. He makes foreigners in a foreign country feel very welcome. He told us that he treats his customers like how he wants to be treated when he's travelling to a foreign country and it shows.

Breakfast is included. It includes bread, some greek pastries, cold cuts, juice/coffee/tea, and omelette (essentially scrambled eggs with cheese and tomatoes). George brings it in himself and introduces us to each item in the breakfast. His introduction makes the food taste better already.

The room comes with free internet. Depending on where you are in the room the reception might not be good. However, at a place like I shouldn't be spending my time surfing anyways so I think it's a blessing in disguise.

Because I wasn't feeling very well I used up a whole roll of toilet paper the first night. He automatically put an extra roll there the second day. That shows care.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonSHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Most AMAZING place i have ever stayed... George and Sophie are beautiful people.Their service was FANTASTIC. The view was breathtaking. The location was great, 10 min walk to Fira and what a beautiful walk it was. Very very clean and very comfortable. Wouldn't stay anywhere else, can't wait to go back :-))))

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveSan2rini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This boutique hotel was breathtaking. Great views great architecture and design. The rooms were very spacious and had luxurious bathrooms. Plenty of towels, toiletries, and a wonderful breakfast prepared by the management/owners. The couple who owns and runs this hotel is very friendly and helpful and makes sure you have everything you need. They plan excursions and can tell you the best restaurants to dine.

Room Tip: All rooms have views of the ocean and are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinoVixen1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.6 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.6 mi away
Porto Fira Suites
Porto Fira Suites
#8 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
0.6 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#3 of 80 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.5 mi away
Enigma Apartments & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikastikies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikastikies

Property: Ikastikies
Address: Firostefani 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikastikies 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ikastikies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikastikies Hotel Firostefani
Ikastikies Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing