We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Blue View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belvedere Santorini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Belvedere Santorini
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Stunning Blue View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have wanted to visit Santorini for years and decided last minute to do just that. I'm glad we did. The hotel is located in Firostefani which is a great location with good restaurants and an amazing view high up over the caldera. The Belvedere is located along a cobbled footpath (ladies take flat sandals or wedges with rubber soles as they are very slippy) - making for an interesting and entertaining "ice dance" walk down to Fira. First impressions are good as the hotel rooms tumble down the cliff to a nice pool area that is just the right size. It is worth booking a suite for the views and the space - as although we booked a room with a sea view that is not what we got on our first evening - we were moved for the following 7 nights after speaking to the manager and given a room with a lovely glass balcony near reception. I really liked the hotel, its rooms and location - breakfast was its biggest drawback. It was included in the room rate - but we walked along the path and had delicious breakfasts in one of the cafes clinging to the cliff edge

The fact that the girl serving breakfast played the same tracks of music very loudly each morning during breakfast encouraged us even more to look elsewhere for breakfast. Diana the girl at the pool bar was completely the opposite and the star of the bar - always chatting friendly helpful and smiley.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    121
    47
    9
    14
See reviews for
59
296
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Great views, great service, great value and I cannot wait to visit both the island and the hotel once again. The hotel is one of the best on the island and its situation has to be one of the best in the world with magnificent views and beautifully decorated rooms.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheeky_leon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We recently stayed at the Belvedere Hotel on the island of Santorini. The hotel is brilliantly located, a 5 minute walk to town along a path which overlooked the sea. We had our own balcony overlooking the swimming pool, and the sea, and had the best views on the island of the famous Santorini sunsets. The staff were exceptional, with their hospitality and assistance. Our stay was too short!

Room Tip: If available, the rooms with a seaview are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurraj0ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and nicely situated between Oia and Fira. We felt had we stayed in Oia, we probably would not have visited Firestefani or Fira. The hotel is very nice, but there are a few things that they could do to improve it. First, the breakfast is good, eggs are real eggs and well seasoned. Some pastries, coffee, tea, juice, etc. The negatives are the area gets very humid, so at night, our room, including our sheets, and clothes would be damp. Not sure what the hotel could do to fix this, but we slept with the heat on. They were kind enough to bring us a fresh comforter that was dry. The other negative is that there is no space to place your toiletries in the bathroom or your suitcases in the actual bedroom. Also as others have commented the beds are very firm. Overall, I think it is a nice hotel, not much to compare it to, but we would recommend it with some disclaimers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cubalibre212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

I read the Tripadvisor reviews prior to our stay in late September. I was actually dreading the visit. Boy was I surprised! I totally agree with everything 'birdogdad' had to say. The room was perfect for us; interior, but not too many steps. Cute & typical of a boutique hotel. Some unique furniture, like the giant gourd floor lamp, and the ladder towel rack in the washroom. We loved it.
And the service? So helpful. I can't remember their names, but a young lady and gentleman were very helpful to us, providing much insight & valuable info for Firastefani. Yes, one must hike a bit- we're from flat Florida, so a bit of an incline is indeed a hike! But the Belvedere was exactly what we were seeking. After heading to Hiraklion and Athens, I really missed the personal service provided from this hotel.
Hope to get back one day.
The only negative I can say is that the small reception office is smoky. But Hell, everyone in Greece smokes, so you might as well get used to it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank df999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

The view from this hotel is awesome. We had very high expectations about the rooms in general. When we checked in my wife's first impression was that the room was not clean. In addition, the suite is not much of an upgrade vs. the standard room. This could be a 5 star, but attention needs to be paid to all aspects of the experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaseWilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I've come to the conclusion that it is is much more interesting reading Trip Advisor reviews AFTER staying at a given property than when considering a destination, judging by the wildly contrasting opinions and different experiences. It is fascinating how some people can't say enough good things, while others foam at the mouth in anger.

All I can do is relate our experience at the Belvedere in late September, which was excellent. My wife and I had booked a trip through Friendly Planet, and three nights at the Belvedere in Santorini were included. We had no idea what to expect in advance, nor can I tell you the individual price for the room, since it was all part of the package.

What I can tell you is that we were given, unrequested, one of the best rooms in the property (all attached photos were taken literally from or within a few steps of our room). The staff was very welcoming and friendly. The property was clean and in general well cared for. It was quiet and not very crowded, perhaps due to the fact that we visited at the tail end of the tourist season (an excellent time to visit Greece, by the way). I can only imagine how crowded and chaotic Greek destinations must be in the middle of summer, which must stress out visitors and hotel staffs alike. I suspect some of the negative reviews may have been due in part to the hordes that overwhelm Santorini in the summer.

The main appeal of the Belvedere is its prime location, perched at the top of the cliff hanging over Santorini's famous caldera. I cannot imagine a better spot on the island, and we toured all of it. Sunsets are, as advertised, among the best in the world. Early evenings were a delight from where our room was situated, allowing us to enjoy a glass of wine in relative privacy while watching the sun sink and loading up the memory card on my camera.

The Belvedere does indeed have a number of interior rooms, and I would not have wanted one of them. Makes no sense to travel all the way to Santorini and be stuck behind a wall 50 feet from the panoramas we enjoyed. My advice is if you want to enjoy the views, wherever you stay, be absolutely certain of the room you have booked.

I can't help but comment on some of the reviews herein. Air conditioning: our room was fully air conditioned, capable of making you as cold as you wanted to be. Lack of restaurant: you can't go 20 yards in Firostefani without encountering a good restaurant. There are more than you could try in a year, dozens and dozens within easy walking distance. Who would want to eat in a hotel restaurant when there is so much variety and choice nearby, and a stroll through Firostefani on a pleasant evening is a joy? Difficult to find: True. Everything in Firostefani is difficult to find. The smell of horses? Please. First of all, they're donkeys. Second of all, if you can smell a donkey a couple of miles away in the stiff breezes that characterize Santorini, I envy your sensory abilities. Breakfasts: Not the most extensive we've seen, but certainly adequate.

Bottom line, I'm sure other folks have had some genuinely bad experiences, including problems at the Belvedere, but fortunately we did not. Our stay was outstanding, one of the true highlights of our tour through Greece Why not five stars? The Belvedere is not a five-star hotel. Very few are. Its location, though, and the views, are off the star-o-meter.

I'll leave you with two pieces of advice: (1) There are a lot of stairs to and from the Belvedere. If you can't handle stairs, this isn't the place to stay. If they get wet, which fortunately is rare, they can be deadly. (2) If you have a bit of adventure within you, rent an ATV while on Santorini. We covered the entire island on one, and it is a thrill. Infinitely easier to park, maneuver, pull over and grab a photo, and get around on than a car (Fira traffic is pretty bad). Learn to drive as the locals do (aggressively and with no fear) and assuming you survive, you will have the time of your life!

Room Tip: Leave no doubt about the room you want and expect. Inside rooms have no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank BirdDogDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.2 mi away
Anteliz Suites
Anteliz Suites
#4 of 79 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.2 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#3 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Porto Fira Suites
Porto Fira Suites
#8 of 79 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Santorini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Santorini

Property: Belvedere Santorini
Address: 91 Fira Town, Firostefani 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Firostefani
#8 Family Hotel in Firostefani
#10 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Belvedere Santorini 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belvedere is located in Fira, the beautiful and vibrant capital of Santorini. Suites build with respect to the Aegean architecture including the latest and the finest amenities, promising you to pass the more relaxing and calmness vacations during your visit to the unique one travelers’ destination; Santorini Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Belvedere Santorini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Santorini Hotel Firostefani
Belvedere Santorini Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing