We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing view and location in santorini!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kafieris Blue Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Philippines
1 review
“amazing view and location in santorini!”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Staying in santorini was the best part of our honeymoon! We spent 3 nights in kafieris apartments and had the most wonderful time. We were picked up promptly at the airport and brought to the hotel by the owner where we were suprised to be given an upgrade! The rooms given to us were clean and very spacious, with our own little kitchenette and living room. Oh and the views from our rooms were amazing, you will never regret staying here. Our rooms had their little own balcony where we can sit down and watch the sunset. While we were there, the also experience seeing two weddings, this is how good the view is! The location is just near the Fira town. It is good for relaxation and couple time. Overall, this place is just perfect for honeymooning couples.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsc-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    26
    14
    5
    19
See reviews for
29
74
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

As an international filmmaker and actress, I have been fortunate enough to see and film in some truly spectacular locations. The highlights of this hotel are its fabulous view, its enormous and deep swimming pool and its close proximity to Thira, the capitol city.

The town of Firostefani is nicely located off the beaten tourist path, yet still only a 15 minute walk to Fira. No donkeys or cruise ships fill this area, just peaceful visitors and locals.

I was very happy to coordinate with the hotel owners through email before arriving so that they knew exactly when I would be arriving. They were very helpful and kind both before I arrived through correspondence, as well as once we arrived and stayed. Upon arriving, the owner came to the top of the cliff and carried down all of our bags to our rooms. This helped immensely as the stairs are long and our bags were heavy. At the end of the trip, they carried all of our bags back up the cliff, as well.

The swimming pool was great for my daily swims; cool, refreshing and clean. There were ample lounge chairs and shades for swimmers, as well.

The breakfast is your traditional lovely Greek hotel fare: A hard boiled egg, slices of deli meats and cheeses, slices of a fresh baguette/bread loaf with a variety of butter and jellies, coffee your chosen way (filtered, hot Greek or a frappe), sweet marble/pound cake and orange juice.

The beds were comfortable, rooms cleaned perfectly daily and the air conditioning worked excellently.

At sunset, you don't need to travel anywhere but right here on your terrace. Purchase wine and snacks up at the top of the cliff at the little corner market (a two minute walk) and then come back, sit back and relax as you enjoy the peaceful relaxation of your own room. The rooms have nice kitchenettes with wine glasses and cork screws for your use. The sunset views from Firastefani are some of the very best on the island. The legendary Skaros Rock sits off to the right and silhouettes the skyline.

There are numerous elegant and wonderful restaurants just a short walk up the hill from the hotel. I dined all over the island while filming my upcoming feature film/love story "Santorini Blue", and the restaurant at the top of the hill was one of my favorites for Greek food in this area. Don't miss their legendary Santorini Salad.

This hotel is a great value and I truly enjoyed my stay for so many reasons.

Sincerely,
Deirdre Lorenz
www.deirdrelorenz.com
www.thirafilms.com
www.santorinibluethemovie.com

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeirdreLorenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We arrived at the airport at 5:00am and we were picked-up by the owner and taken to the Hotel. Since our room would only be ready at 12:00pm she was kind enough to give us some blankets (it gets pretty chilly when it's windy and you are on the caldera) and offered for us to stay in the swimming pool are. The lounge chairs were well welcomed by both myself and my husband and, after 36 hours without sleeping, we were finally able to rest for a while. At 8:30 we were served a delicious breakfast with a spectacular view!! The hotel is worth every penny we paid just for view we had both from our room and from the rest of the hotel's ground. Raffaella at the reception was great with her advices, tips, kindness and professionalism as was the owner. Honestly we could not have felt more "at home"!! The Kafieris's location in Santorini is another asset: a 10 minute walk to Fira and a 10 min. walk to Imerovigli (charming village, good photo opportunities and you can hike the rock that can be seen at the right of the Kafieris). We took the local bus to Oia, another charming place to visit but don't buy into the "most spectacular sunset ever"...the sunsets are as beautiful as they can be anywhere else on the island except that in Oia you will be sharing with thousands of other people that will leave the village ALL at the same time as you (stay for dinner and expect to PAY for it, or arrange for a taxi to pick-you up). If you have a craving for Italian food or pizza (Italian pizza, NOT American pizza) go to Il Cantuccio, on your left right off the Kafieris top exit (from the roof). We will definitely book again at the Kafieris and already spread the word with our friends. Efharisto Raffaella and Eleuthera!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms in the hotel have a view to the caldera
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian_Montreal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We went to use the hotel's pool because our hotel did not have one. We asked the lady to pay and she said you can pay later because the person responsible for the pool is not here at the moment
after using their pool which was quite small for two hours we went to pay and they asked 40 euros!!!! We told them it was too expensive andthat we stay at the hotel near themandthey said ok give 20 euro.....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LefkiPanteli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We spent a week on July at Kafieris blue apartments!! We love it from the first moment, the view was magnificent. The rooms are very close to the Fira town, only 15 minutes walking. The hotel is very quiet, we loved the big pool that is on the cliff and enjoyed the jacuzzi, the room was cleaned every day. The owners where very polite and give us all the important informations that we need to see the island, they helped us to rent a car and they suggest us some very good restaurants. the value for money was better than our expectations, I have payed more for hotels that they do not have this view and so many services, we would definitely recommend it. Thank you so much, we will see you next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario000032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This may not be a 4 star hotel but the fact that you have a full sized pool on the cliffs of Firostefani in Santorni makes up for it. There is no beach to walk to so this is ideal. Most of the accommodations in the area have no pool or just a plunge pool to cool off in - not my style. This was truly an excellent value hotel to stay in though it's a bit difficult to find and to book if you don't speak Greek.

The family that runs it is quite nice and friendly and the free breakfast at the pool is awesome. Keep in mind though that there are no elevators so you will have to lug your luggage down many many stairs - my husband still gives me grief about taking a huge suitcase here.

Rooms are just fine though we blew a breaker because i didn't change my curling iron to the correct current from North American to European standards. They were kind though and didn't give us trouble.

It's a fabulous location that is walking distance into Fira and it is just spectacular to walk over in the evening to check out the shops, vendors and restaurants. Plus there are a few close by convenience type stores to pick up the things you may need to put into your fridge - to me, this is super important. I love to have a fridge to put my leftovers and milk, juice, water into.

The only thing that was a negative was that we had prebooked the airport shuttle to the property and they forgot about us. After over an hour of waiting, we took a cab and they just shrugged their shoulders about it. That was very much the Greek mentality. They did however take us to the port for our boat with their van even though they charged us extra for it. Thought perhaps they'd do it for free considering they left us at the airport upon arrival but nope... like I said, the Greeks are just very laid back and they do what they want, when they want. Customer service is not something that exists in that country and as long as you realize it without having your North American expectations, you're fine.

I would definitely recommend this property and recommend you seek it out if you want a full sized pool on Santorini without having to pay super high prices at the exclusive inland resorts. Just don't rely on the airport shuttle to pick you up.

Room Tip: Older rooms but spectacular views and the full sized pool is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlphaTangoZulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 463 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed at Kafiereis Blue Studios for 4 nights in mid June - actually by mistake as our Greece based travel company booked the wrong place on our behalf !!

Anyway, despite the initial disappointment and probably anger that we not at the hotel we requested, we decided to just get on with it. By the way, I am still trying to get an answer from the Agency as to how and why they booked the wrong accommodation !

Back to the Kafieris Blue. Like other reviewers have said, you do need to either be, or hire a pack mule to get your luggage down to the hotel. Worse on the way back UP and for a 40 something year old bloke, it was tough work and a good cardio work out - AND we travelled relatively lightly !

Without doubt the view from the pool area and from the individual room balconies is without peer. Words cannot describe the beauty of the Calderra from this location. The pool area itself is magnificent and is a bit different as the whole place is painted sky blue rather than the traditional white buildings on the island.

The room was spacious - enough beds to sleep 6 people, as there is a loft at the back end of the apartment with a douyble and a couple of singles, to add to the double on the ground floor of the apartment. Clean and serviceable with a small kitchennette if you choose to cook your own.

Breakfast was served either over the top of the pool, or on your own individual balcony. That was kind of funny, because at check in, we were told breakfast would commence at 7.15am - I think other guests were told the same thing. In reality, breakfast started at 9.00am - didnt bother us, but some people wanting an early start to their day were a bit miffed. The breakfast was a perfect start to the day.

Then the walk up the stairs.............man, in the heat it's not a great way to start your day ! Never mind - get over it and be prepared for it. Just dont think about it ! restaurants close by the hotel were awesome. People traffic in Thira was diabolical during the day when a number of cruise ships arrived - so my advice is stay in your hotel and have a swim, or do as we did and hire a jeep and get out of town between 10.00am and 4.00pm.

Once the cruise ship people disgorge from the island and head back to sea, the place becomes quite a beautiful spot to wander the streets, eat and drink in the many bars and cafes - all with unbelievable views.

Santorini is without doubt one of the most unique and beautifully scenic places we've visited, but 4 days is more than enough in my opinion.

Kafieris Blue Studios is a 5 star + LOCATION for the VIEW - tough work climbing in and out, and average but adequate quality rooms. Oh, by the way, free internet but not in your room - have to go outside in the sun to get a signal - minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mullos1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Firostefani hotels
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.1 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 21 in Firostefani
820 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manos Small World
Manos Small World
#8 of 21 in Firostefani
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cliff Side Suites
Cliff Side Suites
#10 of 21 in Firostefani
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#4 of 21 in Firostefani
976 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#9 of 21 in Firostefani
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kafieris Blue Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kafieris Blue Apartments

Property: Kafieris Blue Apartments
Address: Firostefani 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kafieris Blue Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kafieris Blue Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kafieris Blue Apartments Hotel Firostefani
Kafieris Blue Apartments Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing