We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at Santorini”
Review of Argonaftes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Argonaftes
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Was looking for a budget stay around Fira and found this accommodation. Price is very much within my budget. After arriving at this place, I was surprise to find it very homely, clean, room has fridge, working A/C, TV and hair dryer! Towels are so clean and has a very fresh smell.

Loula and her husband greeted so warmly upon arrival. After checkin, Loula was very eager to share the interesting and must-see places. For someone who is first time and travelling alone, this information is very much appreciated.

For this price in Fira, walking distance (5min) to the square, it is just fantastic. I love Santorini and if I come back again, I would certainly return. Highly recommended!

Oh yes, you get free cucumber, home grown by Leftalis (Loula's husband, hope I spell it right)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PigletLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 90 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel and absolutely loved it. We were greeted like old friends upon our arrival and given recommendations about how to best use our limited time on the island. Our room was large, quiet and clean. There are many places to eat and drink within walking distance. It was a little hard to find at first, as it is tucked down a quiet little street - but it is next to Tony's Car Rental and behind a small pre-school. I would absolutely stay at this place again. It was an incredible value for a small price!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginger_Diamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were so pleasantly pleased with our accommodations at Argonaftes that I cannot recommend staying here enough. It was a very short walk into Fira for shopping and Caldera views. We found the hotel owners to be incredibly hospitable and we really enjoyed talking with them. Our room was full of character and incredibly clean. The character and affordability of the hotel were it’s selling points for us. If we ever have the good fortune to visit Santorini again I would not even consider staying somewhere else.

Room Tip: We got the top round room with a balcony.. it had a great view and was very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My sisters and a friend of ours loved this hotel! The owners are amazing people. Very friendly and polite. The room we had was a good size for the four of us, very clean and quiet. When we go back to Santorini we will definitely stay there again! We recommended it to our friends in NY!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 912Maria912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This establishment gets our highest recommedation. We were greeted on arrival at 2am by "Effie", the charming daughter of the caring owner-family. Over our stay we met the whole family, including the most friendly little dog in Greece. Father's links to the sea (he was a naval or coastguard officer) are evident from the wonderful "naive" art that adorns the rooms. Each piece tells a story from his colourful life. Although you don't wake up to a Caldera view, it's still picturesque at only a fraction of the price, and a few minutes' walk puts you in the centre of the ritzy tourist area of Fira - and a few more minutes gets you back to peace and quiet. Internet worked well from our room, including Skype video. Fantastic value, and we would most certainly stop again should we ever return to Santorini.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

When we were searching for a hotel to stay during our 7 day trip to Santorini we came across this hotel on many hotel websites. We were weary as there were only 2 written reviews years ago. However, we decided to take the risk as the price and location were very good.

Location: The location of the hotel is in a quite area which is very peaceful both in the morning and when its time to sleep. The walk to the center of Fira (including shops, bank, tour offices, grocery store and bus station) is about 5-7minutes. GREAT LOCATION!!

Room: We were also a little hesitant of the room in the tower. But the circular room was so interesting and fun, We actually preferred it and were soo happy we had the chance to stay in it. The room is spotlessly cleaned everyday. Fresh sheets and towels are always provided. A small fridge is provided, the A/C is fantastic and for all the fussy girls whom can't trust other hairdryers, I managed just fine with the one provided.

Lastly, the hotel fit our needs and our budget. It was clean, safe, and authentic. The hotel is family run and they are always available to suggest areas or beaches you must see.

The only negative thing we have to say...is that our 7 days in Santorini and especially at this wonderful hotel was short lived. We are planning a trip back real soon and this hotel is at the top of our list.

Enjoy your time here...and take it from us, we would not suggest a hotel if it wasn't safe, clean and in a good location. :)

Have fun!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PANOSDALIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2008

My wife and I spent three nights in this charming little hotel and I if I ever come back to Santorini will definitely stay there again.

We had a beautiful and very clean room, with all the facilities needed. With a balcony and a beautiful view to the sea. The staff - basically the Korounious family - was the best.

If you want to have a genuine experience in Santorini, in a hotel that people even stopped to take pictures of, Argonaftes is the place to stay.

Comparing with other hotels in the island, the price was unbelievable low. I strongly reccomend this place. Perfect in all aspects.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karydakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.3 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#1 of 21 in Firostefani
864 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mylos
Hotel Mylos
#14 of 21 in Firostefani
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
0.4 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
3.7 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaftes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaftes

Address: Firostefani 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Firostefani
#8 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range: $51 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argonaftes 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argonaftes Villa is located on the boundary between the town of Fira and the scenic village of Firostefani. Our small, family-run guesthouse offers traditional Cycladic-style units facing east with a sea-view balcony. Breakfast is served on the patio surrounded by colorful flowers. Rooms and apartments at Argonaftes are decorated with paintings made by the owner. Each air-conditioned unit comes with a flat-screen satellite TV, mini fridge, electric kettle and hairdryer. Free toiletries are provided in bathrooms. The apartment includes a kitchenette with dining area while two double rooms are in a windmill-like tower. Free Wi-Fi internet access is provided throughout the property. Near Argonaftes, there is a bus stop connecting to the charming village of Oia. Fira center is less than 600 meters away, and provides a wide choice of restaurants, shops and night clubs. Santorini’s Port is 9 km away, while the Airport is 7 km away. Shuttle bus service from/to Port and Airport is offered for an extra fee. Free parking is available near the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Argonaftes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argonaftes Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing