We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely hotel. Have been there two times.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunrise Village Hotel
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really lovely hotel. Have been there two times.”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I really like the hotel. I been there 2 times, and would definitly come again. The service is perfect, and the staff is really helpfull and kindfull. The rooms are perfect for at family. I like that the hotel isn't that big, cause all the guest are getting more close to each other, and be more helpfull. The pool area is also really good. But I think it would be great to refresh the pool-bar, it would be great if you sit more comfortabel there.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jannialbaek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise Village H, Διευθυντής at Sunrise Village Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Firs of all , thank you for your wonderful review.
Its pleasant to know that you have chosen our hotel many times over the years as your holiday place and that make us to work harder in order to fulfill your excpectations.
All your suggestions will be taken under consideration.

Hope to see you again!!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    113
    28
    10
    3
See reviews for
184
95
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Hi, first a bit of background to put my short review in context. we`re a family with a 3yo from the UK and I haven`t visited greece for around 15 years. But this is our 4th all inclusive holiday this year, Majorca twice and lanzarote were our previous trips.
I chose this hotel on the reviews on tripadvisor, after a day or so I had my doubts on the authenticity of some posted? The friendly staff? generally I didn`t find this to be true? Served at the bar with stern attitude, the animation (I don`t think they really deserve that name!) only seem interested if you were young and female or wanted to take part in darts when they wanted to play? Upon arrival we were sent off to find our room on our own to find our room complete with heavy heavy bags and our 3 year old kid, to negotiate the many steps (that never seem to be mentioned anywhere on the reviews?). The one member of staff worth mentioning is the lady in the dining room who was genuinely friendly....
One of the biggest annoyances for me was the small glasses of Beer and wine etc.. normally filled about 2/3 to 3/4 full leaving you with about a third of a pint? When dining I was sick of consantly getting up for drinks. The part filled glasses just leaves me thinking of money saving stingyness, not the way I have found it elsewhere this year.
The food is ok, again I previously visited hotels with a brit bias. Pork in some sort of dish and pasta are served every lunch and dinner with with few other choices. Hardly a fish served ina week? To be fair the sald etc was good but the supposedly home cooked bread was sometimes undercooked. The kids selection..... chips and Pizza almost every meal and not much else. Good choice of cereals at breakfast but milk was not cold enough so these not really a choice? Eggs looked fresh and good quality but the bacon? looked like a processed product, tasted ok though. Food is quite good but after a week we had a enough...
Having a bad knee and 3yo I wish I was made aware of the steps everywhere? I asked for ground floor room, it was... but I had to go up a decent amount of steps and back down again the otherside? And some mornings it had been cleaned and left wet with no warnings, quite slippy not very safe. Also access to the hotel is steep, steps or ramp, the (very basic) kids playground is up many steps. The hotel is also up quite a long hill from the main resort so generally old or people with mobilty problems should look elsewhere.
Animation? Not what I`d call it, they seem to be just bar staff who would play darts when they felt like it or chatted to younger female guest. Entertainment virtually nil, the BBQ night (best night of the week) we had some Cretan dancers for short while and that was it for the week! Not what i have come to expect from our last half dozen trips to all inclusive resorts?
The bar aera/ stroke dining room after food finished lacks any atmosphere, only very quiet mainly greek traditional music and due to quite a few lights not working slightly dingy. I wonder if this was deliberate to make people want to go out or go to bed early? Would a kids disco or kareoke be to much to ask? Also due to only a handfull of Brits a nice chat is mainly not going to happen either....
Ok moaning done! The hotel is above average and generally good value. Very clean with good size rooms. Decent pool (but quite cold even in early september) food decent, location ok if you don`t mind the hill. would I go back? No, would I tell others not to go? No, but would make some things clear to help their decison.....thanx for reading

Room Tip: make sure you get a suitable room if you`ve any mobilty problems, even ground floor rooms may have s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise Village H, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Sunrise Village Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guest

First of all, we would like to thank you for the time you spend writing a review for our hotel.
It is not very kind of you to doubt the previous review, all of them are personal opinions of guests who have visited us during these years. Of course, everybody has his own perspective and point of view.
However, we would like you to know that we are taking all your recommendations under consideration, in order to improve our customer services and fulfill your expectations!
As regards your comments, keep in mind that it is a three-star hotel.
That means that the hotel does not provide bell boy's facilities.
Animation program is basically based on the participation of the guests and the animator tried to be flexible in guests' preferences.
Drinks and beverages are in accordance of standards quantities of bartending (250ml and 330ml), and in addition you have unlimited consumption because of all inclusive program.
Our lunch and dinner buffet is based on cretan cuisine with plenty of choices every day, which of course includes fish variety.
To conclude with, we respect your opinion and we really feel bad that you didn't have a very good time to our hotel. W e hope to give us an opportunity in the future to fulfill your expectaions.


Have a nice winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just back from the Sunrise Hotel and we had a great week, friendly staff, good variety of food at meal times, Italian and Greek nights, always something to suite us. Very relaxed, laid back hotel with plenty of sunbeds.
Centrally located with just a short walk to main resort centre/beach etc. access via a lane to the side of the hotel which could have been better lighted at night [nothing to do with hotel might I add it was a public lane].
We were in room 220 so had both pool/sea views which we request when booking and they staff accommodated us with, Thanks we very much appreciated this as it really made the holiday perfect.
The only down side was the lack of information leaflets available at reception, no maps of the local area, local activities etc.

All in all we had a great holiday and would recommend a visit to this hotel if visiting the Palantias area.

Room Tip: We like the sun on our balcony in the evening as a result the room we were given suited us perfectly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise Village H, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Sunrise Village Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are so happy you spent some of your time to write such a wonderful detailed review for the hotel!
It is a pleasure to know that you had a great time in our island!
All your suggestions are taken under consideration, we are trying hard for everyone's satisfaction. We will be glad to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soenderborg, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

we stayed there for a week and we were very satisfied. The staff were very friendly and service-minded. The rooms were lovely big and had what we needed. Neat and very clean. Located in very beautiful and tranquil surroundings and is it just a 10 minute walk awayfrom the main street with bars, restaurants and the beach. All in all I would say it is definitely a hotel that is worth revisiting. So big smile to Sunrise Village

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise Village H, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Sunrise Village Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We would like to thank you for your review!
It is really important for us to now you had a great time on your vacations in our hotel!
The details of your review give some essential information, needed for the next guests!
We hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We spent 3 days in the hotel qt the end of august and it was perfect! The chef is very very good!!! The plates were great! International cusine, greek,italian an so on! A special thank to Mrs. Cristina Who welcome all guests with a perfect savoir faire! The hotel gave us a fantastic room with a panoramic window and it seemed to have a picture on the wall!!! Definetly you have to go!

Room Tip: Ask for Room n.220!!! Is quite and hai a fantastic view and also the couple can have their own Priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nosybe03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise Village H, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Sunrise Village Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review!
We hope you have the best memories from your days here and it would be great if you decide to visit us again!
Greetings from all the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed only three days, but they were three fabulous days! Service, food, staff and cleanliness of hotel was excellent. Recommend this for families as the facilities are all family friendly and the staff from the cleaning crew to the restaurant to the front desk to the bar staff were all friendly, knowledgable, courteous and efficient. Would easily go back again for a longer time.

Room Tip: We preferred room on higher floor with balacony which was very nice, but family with kids can take a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise Village H, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Sunrise Village Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We are so happy you had such a great time even the few days you were here!
It would be really nice to have you back for more days!
Your review is important for us in order to continue to try our best!
We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a great time !Best value for the Money. Good friendly stuff . Many Extras.The all inclusive food was great, the variety was good. If you love Greek food this is definitely the place for you. Several different traditional dishes every day including my favourite moussaka. A special thank to the cleaning lady who made small decorations on the beds every day. Great place - perfectually situated in the quietnes just up the hill from the beach - and only a few minutes walk to Platanias and Agia Marina.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EVK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise Village H, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Sunrise Village Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
07/09/2013

There are no perfects words to thank you for your wonderful review!
The little details are really useful for our future guests!
We are very happy you had such a great time here and we really hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
0.3 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Oscar Suites & Village
Oscar Suites & Village
#3 of 31 in Agia Marina
405 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Dome Hotel
Blue Dome Hotel
#7 of 68 in Platanias
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
419 reviews
0.7 mi away
Indigo Mare
Indigo Mare
#18 of 68 in Platanias
230 reviews
1.4 mi away
CHC Galini Sea View
CHC Galini Sea View
#5 of 31 in Agia Marina
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Village Hotel

Property: Sunrise Village Hotel
Address: Platanias, Crete 73014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunrise Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Village Hotel Platanias, Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing