We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunrise Village - hotel really good... staff not as much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunrise Village Hotel
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for one week.
Room:
Stayed in maissonette, living room with balcony and bathroom downstairs, and bedroom with balcony and bathroom upstairs - overall really nice. Rooms cleaned everyday.
Food:
Breakfast - borring, didn't get what I wanted. Very dry omlette, not very nice toasts, sausages tasted not too good. what I had was only feta cheese ( very nice) with cucumber and tomato. good choice of breakfast cerials tho and cake. every day same.
Lunch - really good, everday something different. choice of soup, and for main chicken or pork meal, choice of fish as well. salads, vegs and kids menu like chips, burgers and fish fingers - nice.
Dinner - like lunch - very good.
Staff: hmmm ... to be fair. Not very friendly. you have a feeling when you ask for something... they think not her/him again.. only smile to you when they really have to. even when the hotel is all inclusive only.. when you ask for a drink, they attack you where is your glass .. even when you ask first time. The worse is a pool bar. The guy.. who is there.. seems like he tries to hide from you.. doing other things... and when asked 5.50 (pool bar closing at 6.00) for a beer and had one customer in front of you, says is very busy... and its last order. Lazy bugger... LOL. snacks very poor!!!!
Pool - good.
Animation team - one peron team. Friendly, chatting guy... who does darts, poor aerobic and pool volleyball + tryies to chat with everybody and play with children. He was okay :)
Overall:
Platanias village like normal summer place, full of lovely bars, pubs and shops... very good connection through public buses to Chania from you can get to other buses to everywhere in island. Chania old town very lovely place. very reccomend to spend day in there.
Sunrise village hotel is about 500 m from the beach, not like some web sites says is only 200 m. But not too bad to walk. Personally .. we walk to the beach everyday, much better to spend day on the beach than next to the pool whith fussy pool bar staff.
Weather.. We stayed in Platanias on beginng of July.. very very hot..... not like England AT ALL!!!
Summary: Hotel, rooms, facitility, food, - quite good, staff - didn't like it. Prefer Spain: Tenerife, Fuerteventua or even party Ibiza.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 359 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

We had some hazzle to begin with when we didn't get two maisonettes next to each, a malfunctioning AC and some other small things but that was solved within a few days when we were moved.

The place is kept very clean by ladies leaving hearts by towels and even flowers.

The food was good and varied. It should have been nice with some more fresh bread such as rolls and croissants for breakfast and my som fruit youghurts though.

The staff was very nice, always helpful (and playful) and smiling.

The most negative thing was that people kept to the bad habit of marking the sunbeds very early morning and left their stuff through the day so it was impossible to get a sunbed just for an hour or two.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chania_Endaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here 2 british couples in our mid twenties for 2 weeks at the start of June. There were mainly Scandinavians staying here, but that was no problem as they are all friendly and well behaved. The hotel was really clean, the maids clean every day and are so sweet leaving flowers and the towels folded into heart shapes and swans on the bench. All hotel staff were really friendly, a special mention to Angie in the bar/restraunt always worked with a smile on her face and kept our glasses full! Also kristian who does the entertainment was really great, he is always smiling and playing games and exercise program's with both the kids and the adults. All the kids really love him and I can understand why. He was also really great with us and was good fun! The location is great, about 5mins walk from the beach and town centre. If anyone complains about this distance they must be a snob and take taxis round the corner. The food at the hotel was excellant, breakfast was my least favourite but I must give it to them they had plenty of variation so most people would be able to find something. Lunch and dinner were extremely good especially considering how cheap it is to stay all inclusive at this hotel. We were here for 2 weeks and the food was almost never the same. Always loads to choose from, 6 or 7 main courses, then loads of different salads, potato variations, vegetables etc and dessert. Some people might complain about the drinks, but again it's not going to be premium spirits for such a low price. The beer is local beer which is perfectly fine, and the local spirits and soft drinks perfectly acceptable if you're not a snob! I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, and If I ever returned to Crete i would stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Maxrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed here with a couple of friends in April. The room was a perfect size, comfortable, spacious and came with a little terrace. The people at the reception were lovely and helpful with info on the area and things to do. Good value for money too.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Laura194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The room excellent...the food excellent...the location excellent in the hill and very guiet...the staff were friendly and very polite...very very good value for money. I think the overall rating is not for a 3 star hotel but mutch more. I am wondering about negatives ratings ...i think are not true... Dont believe them..

Room Tip: I was in mazonette - was grade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I booked this holiday with a group of friends as we were attending a wedding in the area. We chose Sunrise Village Hotel as it's in a very strategic location. Although we arrived late check in was quick and were quickly shown to our room which is just steps away from a beautiful pool. Views from the top floor are lovely, breakfast spot on, and if you need anything extra there are a couple of shops just minutes away. All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I visited this hotel 2 weeks ago with my family and i had a real great time. I stayed there for a week. The room was really nice with a great view to the sea and to the swimming pool of the hotel and also very clean. The food was delicious with a big variety to choose from. The staff was very kind and very helpful.i will definately come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Iurii G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
0.3 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Blue Dome Hotel
Blue Dome Hotel
#4 of 68 in Platanias
182 reviews
0.7 mi away
Indigo Mare
Indigo Mare
#20 of 68 in Platanias
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Asterion Hotel Suites and Spa
0.1 mi away
Oscar Suites & Village
Oscar Suites & Village
#3 of 31 in Agia Marina
435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Esthisis Suites
Esthisis Suites
#5 of 68 in Platanias
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Village Hotel

Address: Platanias, Crete 73014, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Platanias
Price Range: $91 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunrise Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Village Hotel Platanias, Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing