We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid like the plague”
Review of Mythos Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mythos Apartments
Ranked #57 of 68 Hotels in Platanias
Reviewed July 30, 2008

The hill you get use too ,everything else was horrible.
Where do i start ,we were charged 3 different prices for the same two drinks,charged 15 euro for two burgers that should of been 9 and when we pointed this out all hell broke loose.
The apartment was dirty especially the bathroom ,the toilet seat was cracked and had not been cleaned for a long time ,until we pointed it out.
the sheets were full of holes or patched up and were only changed twice in two weeks.
The owner ,who was supposed to be the best host ever was quite the opposite and was only interested in making money,
This hotel was on a busy walk way and yet attracted no passing trade ( i wonder why)
We would certainly not recommend this hotel to anyone and i will be writing to thompson, to air my views.
A HOTEL TO AVOID .

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank timmsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 34 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2008

The 70 metre hill was a killer, we are in our 30's and it did us in, but after all that lovely greek food a little exercise was what was needed! Apart from that, the apartment was spacious and clean, maid service 6 times a week and very quiet. Panos the owner very friendly and helpful, food good and the pool very clean, overall the holiday was excellent value for money. We will definitely visit again. Not for the faint hearted, old people, people with mobility problems or perpetual moaners!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellersWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2008

Take mountaineering equipment, this hill is a killer. Also take plenty of money as bar prices are expensive. Do not go to the Barbecue, 15 euros for a pork chop and chips and a greek salad to share between five. Kids under 12 can go free but they won't get fed, parents were expected to share their food. Pool is tiny, four airbeds and a rubber ring filled it also you cannot walk around the pool - lack of space. Do not expect to stay up late, the owner asked everyone to stop talking at 12.00 as the lady in the villa next door had complained about the noise. On the plus side the rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoppyWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Mythos Hotel Apartments.When they say its up a hill no one prepares you for the climb you have to do to get to these apartments....good job we both don't suffer from heart problems!!!!!!!!

The pool is rather small, no matter how early we got up someone had beat us to it and had towels on every bed - so down hill again to the beach each day,and was told last year in July the temp reached 46 - those poor people going up the hill.

Sue and Terry Ipswich

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan_heater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2007

Booking our week holiday to Platanias four weeks before. It was a pick of the bunch between several destinations and for once we thought we would try a greek resort .. Looking at the Thomson review it seemed fine! Admittadly the thomson site stated the coach drops off at the bottom of a steep hill, it was not entirely as we expected... We were dropped off in the main square and met by the owner, Panos. He takes your luggage in his van and instructs you to walk (approx 50 metres). More like 150 metres firstly up 20 steps which lead onto a winding & very steep hill. We are in our 30's and it did not get any easier as the week went on! It does have its advantages staying in the 'old town' as many people come to eat in the several tavernas due to the beautiful sunsets around 7.30 to 8 o'clock depending on the time of year.Mythos bar/pool area expensive.
We experienced the Almiras approx 75 metres down hill. The food & service was excellent.Good value & LARGE portions. Beware, it is a roof top restaraunt, stunning views but with several flights of stairs.The Miri restaurant is NOT TO BE MISSED. Excellent food and service. Only open 6 weeks or so. Not a typical taverna, more like a classy and contemporary restaurant .We did enjoy our stay but not enough to do especially for children. 1 main road left of the square with tavernas and gift shops.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Chris-Adrienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Fiquei nos quartos inferiores, pois a rua da frente tem barulho dos turistas, mas a rua dos fundos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuthCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Platanias hotels
0.0 mi away
Indigo Mare
Indigo Mare
#20 of 68 in Platanias
246 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Dome Hotel
Blue Dome Hotel
#4 of 68 in Platanias
182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seashell Apartments
Seashell Apartments
#2 of 2 in Pirgos Psilonerou
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Avra Imperial Hotel
Avra Imperial Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kolymbari
1,279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort
Minoa Palace Resort
#1 of 68 in Platanias
1,212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Conte Marino Villas
Conte Marino Villas
#1 of 1 in Kontomari
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mythos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mythos Apartments

Address: Ano Platanias | Old Village, Platanias, Crete 730 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 68 Hotels in Platanias
Price Range: $44 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mythos Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mythos Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mythos Hotel Platanias
Mythos Apartments Platanias, Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing