We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Dome Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Dome Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Dome Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platanias, Chania | Crete, Platanias, Crete 73014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

we came as a family of four. Had an amazing weekend at Blue Dome Platanias, june 2014. The service was good, also the roomservice, the beds were good and good space both outside and inside. Beutiful hotel, nice for famylis. The pool was nice as well, and it all went perfect when it was placed at the beach. Quiet and comforting. If yo are going to Platanias we highly recommend this hotell!

Room Tip: Second Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    19
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel,nice and clean. Great service, view and close to the beach.
The rooms were nice, the only thing that were not so great was the wifi , it was very slow, but for us it wasnt very important. Platanias is a nice place to visit, and this hotel is a great place to stay. We travelled with our 7 year old boy, and he loved it as well!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Camilla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keystone, Colorado
Level Contributor
337 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I absolutely loved the Blue Dome! Each room has a deck that overlooks the ocean and the rooms are indeed little apartments. There is a small kitchenette in the rooms so you could cook meals and keep your own drinks in the fridge if you wish. The rooms were very clean and the staff is extremely friendly. The restaurant attached to the hotel Nicos and Mary's is excellent and I ate lunch there everyday while watching the sea.Yummy drinks and cold Mythos beers as well. A very nice pool. The beach was very clean and it is just a beautiful place to relax. I very much hope to one day return to this place.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have an ocean view. I would perhaps try and get one close to the pool but it really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiriusSkier23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijverdal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Our 2 room apartment in Blue Dome was a wonderful experience! What a perfect location right at the pool, beach and sea, no disturbing road in front of you. We were there in low season (May 5-16), so it was very quiet. However, only 100 meters away you find many shops, restaurants and the busstop to Chania (in May every half hour).
We had apartment 511 at the front of the complex in the east wing, close to the pool. Enough sitting space, a tiny kitchen (enough for breakfast), good beds and warm shower. spacious balcony, no morning sun , a bit cold because of the northern wind we had for many days.
Staff is friendly and helpful. We advise a rental car, because of the many trips you can make from there. We enjoyed our stay here for 100%. Thank you Claudia and your staff!

Room Tip: There are apartments with shower or bath, also bedrooms with twin bed and double (1.40 m). The east...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reizigersNijverdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottenlund, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We were supposed to stat at Blue Dome hotel, but unfortunately the hotel was delayed in its opening for the season. I had booked through Expedia and the hotel owner had informed Expedia 14 days before our arrival that our booking unfortunately could not be effectuated, however we heard nothing from Expedia. It was by coincidence I wrote directly to the hotel and then got the information. The hotel owner went out of her way to help us and ensured that we got beautiful apartments at a near-by hotel. Next time we come to Platanias we will definitely stay at the Blue Dome:)

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LykkeBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esbjerg, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

A very good hotel with a very kind staff.
Perfect to relax and all day you can hear the relaxing sound of cicadas.

The hotel has a beautiful view to the beach and mountains.

The airport broke the wheels of my suitcase and one of the hotel staff fixed it for me and was happy to do it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank joazalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

From the first moments with the exceptionally pleasant and knowledgable owner Dr. Danciou to the first dip in the blue waters in front of the apartment we experienced a superb experience of warm hospitality. I loved the sea view and that quality of the room furnishings , especially the bed and its super mattress. I definitely would love to come back and tell my friends about it!

Thank you BLUE DOME!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Giorgos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
0.3 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Menia Beach Hotel
Menia Beach Hotel
#5 of 56 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunrise Village Hotel
Sunrise Village Hotel
#2 of 56 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Asterion Hotel Suites and Spa
0.0 mi away
Indigo Mare
Indigo Mare
#8 of 56 in Platanias
4.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
1.5 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#10 of 112 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dome Hotel

Property: Blue Dome Hotel
Address: Platanias, Chania | Crete, Platanias, Crete 73014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Dome Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most beautiful destinations, in the island of Crete, the Blue Dome Hotel is a beach front luxurious complex of thirty-nine apartments in the unique village of Platanias, not far away from the picturesque city of Chania.  Like its colour name, the Blue Dome Hotel is associated with sympathy, harmony, faithfulness, friendship and confidence. A sense of peaceful calmness surrounds you from your first moment here, while the stunning view over the sea and the comfortable apartments, will delight your senses right away. The warm and amiable ambiance, brings you directly into the feeling of carefree summer days. With no doubt, your stay at Blue Dome Hotel will be a truly magnificent experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Blue Dome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dome Hotel Platanias, Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing