We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Minoa Palace Resort
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great hotel and great service”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

When we checked in we were given a free upgrade to a sea view room with its own private pool. The room was new with everything you would expect from a top hotel. The bathroom was also new with good finishes and product.

Breakfast was served in a restaurant looking over the sea and was a good spread with a lot on offer. Service was very good. We did not eat any other meals at the hotel.

We had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend the hotel which is much more upmarket than the area around it

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
1 Thank ManFromLondon186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

I chose this hotel through a travel agency brochure, and I looked at his site, and I'm not mistaken. I thought I was mistaken as taking half, usually I'm used bed and breakfast, but it was a real hit. The food was so good and varied that would be a shame to go somewhere else for dinner. Every day was a food journey through the whole world. The beach is clean, plenty of sun loungers and parasols. Pool neat, large and clean. Cafe restaurant by the beach, fast service, completely tailored for everyone. Restaurant across the coffee bar is excellent. It is possible to substitute dinner for lunch, which is another great option. Hotel reception, super fast and quality service, and plenty of space around the reception for guests.
The only objection is that the new part of the hotel, close to the beach is a little noisier because of the cars that pass between and there is no one from the staff in this part of the hotel so it feels a little insecure.

Room Tip: The best rooms are in the new part of the hotel which overlooks the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vlahovicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We had a fabulous time at the Minoa where we stayed in double Imperial room with private dip pool. The hotel, the rooms and the hotels facilities were beautifully laid out. Although a large complex, it felt intimate with space clearly thought-out, beautiful gardens and well kept spaces. The staff and their customer service were impeccable - incredibly friendly and great with the kids (who were 3.5 & 1.5). A good variety of places to eat both within the hotel and the surrounding area. With two young kids it was easier to eat in the buffet area where the kids could play with other children (our son made friends with a beautiful finish girl - they were inseparable during dinner each evening!). The buffet offered a good range of options.

We have struggled to find another hotel which could match last years holiday!

Room Tip: Rooms with private dip pools are great for parents to play once the kids are asleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2 Thank AllisonPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Minoa Palace offers a very high standard accommodation with delicious food, friendly and personalised service, beautiful scenery, gardens and pool areas. There is a great feeling of comfort, space and beauty surrounding in a large area of pools and an own private beach.
The room had a spectacular view and everything was clean, efficient and the service at all levels perfect. Even tough Minoa is a five star luxury modern hotel, they still take pride in also offering you a local Cretan atmosphere with local food and traditions.This is a place that you want to come back to again and again...

Room Tip: The excecutive suite is nothing but perfect in terms of space, view and location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1 Thank 68HarrietL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This hotel is nice. I would say it is 4-star. But since I paid for 5-star my overall grade here is 3.
The food is 5-star, and the beach is nice except all the stones. The housekeeping staff is very nice and thorough, they even arranged our daughters cuddly toys every morning.
Most of the staff is very friendly, but lack the attention to detail and knowledge that a 5-star hotel needs in my book.
Last year we visited a 5 star hotel located at Mallorca with similar description by travel agencies and internet. NONE of the negative aspects described further down were found there.

From the beginning:
We arrived after a tiresome journey with our 2 year-old and it was very warm. We were not offered any welcome drink in the reception. Our room was not ready and we were suggested to have our lunch. (we had a package deal with all meals included) However, the description to the restaurant was given in rather poor english and we could not find it, got hot and annoyed, and had to turn back to the reception. We got a new description, but still were not escorted to the restaurant. This minor incident made us suspect that the week would not feel ”five star”

- Our first room was infested with ants. We were offered a new room (without any trouble!). A bit annoying however since we had unpacked before we discovered all the ants. The new room was of same standard and nice but nothing special, the shower was a bit defect but we didn´t want to complain again.

-Very bad noice insulation in the room during the night. This never bothers me personally, but still.

- No lifeguards by the pool.

- No showers located directly by the pool. Lots of people swam in the pool after long periods of sunbathing without taking a shower first.

- The big pool area is situated directly by a main road and you can hear every single car. The smaller pool area near the beach is nicer and we spent the rest of our week there.

- You needed ”tovelcards” which you use to borrow tovels from their tovel-kiosks. If you were to loose a tovelcard you had to pay 20 euro at check-out.
This felt cheap, are we suspected of stealing tovels? The kiosks were often unattended and you had to wait a couple of minutes for a staff-member to see you, walk to the kiosk and hand you the tovel.

- Only one type of freshly pressed juice at breakfast (orange, and maybe tomato). No smoothies.

- The beautiful bowl of fruit in the room at arrival… PICTURE A

- One member of the staff at lunch-restaurant Corali showed some attitude.
We asked for butter to the bread. After a long wait (during which he did a multitude of other tasks) we asked again. Then he told us without a smile ”You have already told me once” and left doing other things for a long time. So even if we by then had almost finished our meal we asked another member of the staff for butter and finally got it.

- Rusty equipment in the gym. PICTURE B

- Rust is by the way something you see at many places outdoors, the bridge over the main road and the beach shower for example. There is a need for new paint. PICTURE C

- A dangerous unprotected 2 meter high dip near some sunbeds. Risky for children! PICTURE D

- A big disgusting stain (mold/insect poison?) by the baby pool the whole week. PICTURE E

- This really bothered us: even att dinner loads of guests (maybe 50%) arrived in shorts, t-shirts and/or flip-flops. A written dresscode was visible on the door to the restaurant. The manager should make sure their rules are followed to a higher degree. This will never feel like 5-star otherwise.

- Examples of the lack of attention to detail: This sign on a door from the main reception looked like this the whole week (and probably even longer by the look of it). Also a picture from the beach. PICTURE F

- The surroundings outside the hotel area was not impressive. This room looks nice, but the view is not. PICTURE G

- This example explains the fact that the staff is friendly but maybe not always educated to a 5-star standard the way I see it:
At breakfast one day I was served coffee from a coffee-pot. While the waitress filled my cup I noticed someone had dropped a tomato(!) on the lid of the coffee-pot. 3 or 4 seeds from a tomato was stuck there. I told the waitress and she went for a new pot and started to fill my wife´s cup. To the waitress it wasn´t obvious that I didn´t want MY coffee from the dirty pot any longer so I once more had to ask her for new coffee for myself. She was very polite and nice but if I pay for a Mercedes I am not satisfied with a Volvo and nice excuses.

Overall a nice hotel even if we will not return. With some adjustments and investments this hotel could be 5 star for real, but I am not sure the motivation is there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8 Thank christopher r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minoa_Palace_Team, General Manager at Minoa Palace Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation, as well as for taking the time to write your review. We feel extremely distressed and troubled that you were not satisfied with your visit here and we feel the need to reassure you that most of the issues you presented have already been taken in consideration and have already been fixed/repaired.

There are some issues though that we would like to clarify. For example, in regards to the dress code, given the fact that we are a summer resort, we prefer not to be strict. However, we do have dress code that does not allow beach wear, flip flops and jerseys and to a very large extent it is successfully applied.
For the lifeguards that you referred to, there is always at least one trained & qualified person in every pool bar staff shift with lifeguard duties, as indicated by the Greek law.
As far as the ants are concerned, please take into consideration that as we are surrounded by nature, from time to time such incidents may occur. In these cases we immediately take action by disinfecting the room /area the phenomenon is noticed.

We would like to thank you again for your review, since the comments and suggestions from our guests are the facts that motivate us to improve. We sincerely hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again in the future.

Best Regards,

George Mathioulakis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Am a regular customer with my family for the last six years. The hotel has excellent location, walking distance to Platanias where you can find many restaurants, bars and shops. The staff is very friendly and well trained. Very good professionals. Good facilities and the best food in Chania. Yiannis, the chef, is top, like the rest of the guys in the hotel. Rooms are big and very clean. Feels like home.

Stayed August 2013
Thank Malexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

What more can we say? We've just returned from a week holiday at the Minoa Palace Resort & Spa fully relaxed and nicely recharged. As previous reviewers have stated the staff are very welcoming and friendly, the food good and plentiful, and the atmosphere just right.

One added note for those celiacs out there - the resort can cater for this no problem. The staff could not be more helpful. My husband unfortunately has a high sensitivity threshold and does suffer from the slightest trace of cross contamination, happy to say this was our first holiday ever where he did not have any issues at all and remained gluten free for the entire holiday. The meal options are clearly marked with what is gluten free and what is not, gluten free bread is available and if no gluten free deserts are available they will happily make a lovely separate individual desert just for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4 Thank psv09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
38.0 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
104.4 mi away
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
80.1 mi away
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
#8 of 37 in Kato Gouves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
104.2 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
6.7 mi away
Avra Imperial Hotel
Avra Imperial Hotel
#1 of 13 in Kolymbari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
78.1 mi away
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minoa Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minoa Palace Resort

Property: Minoa Palace Resort
Address: Platanias, Chania, Platanias, Crete 730 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Platanias
#1 Spa Hotel in Platanias
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Platanias
#4 Romantic Hotel in Platanias
#4 Family Hotel in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Minoa Palace Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minoa Palace Resort offers majestic views of its surrounding countryside and the White Mountains. To the north, the hotel enjoys panoramic views of the endless beach of Platanias with the shimmering sapphire blue Aegean beyond. With the extension of the hotel in 2008, guests have immediate access to the beach, over the aerial bridge, connecting the two hotel's sections. The luxury and comfort, combined with the attention to detail and the relaxed atmosphere, provide a holiday to remember for a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Minoa Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minoa Palace Resort And Spa
Minoa Palace Platanias
Minoa Palace Hotel Platanias
Minoa Palace Resort Platanias, Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing