We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel, great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Minoa Palace Resort
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Keighley, England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel, great holiday”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Everything about the resort is excellent! Although do take plenty of euros for drinks in the hotel, there is plenty of mini-markets 100m down the road. Chania definately worth a visit for a change of sceneary if you like to get out and about.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jamie-yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    269
    52
    18
    8
See reviews for
368
563
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed in the Minoa Palace Resort & Spa for 5 nights in the end of the June 2013 during attending a conference.

The welcome at the reception was friendly and professional; checking in was fast.
The hotel is divided into two parts, an upper and a lower part. The lower part is situated directly next to the hotel-beach and can be reached from the upper part by a bridge connecting the two complexes. The beach was clean and inviting.

The staff was very friendly during all my stay and there was really good service during breakfast.
Breakfast was of very good quality with local specialties from Crete/Greece but also with some standards, like egg and bacon, etc.

The room was big and had everything that one needs in a resort. The bed was comfortable and the airconditioning worked fine. One was welcomed with fruits and water in the room. The room provided a safe, TV, kettle, minibar, couch, balcony with table and chairs.
The bathroom was sufficiently large and had a bathtub that was also used as a shower.

The pool areas were clean and invited to relax. Overall cleanliness of the complex as well as of the rooms was very satisfying and there is nothing to complain about!
The hotel and pool bars were very good equipped and the waitresses/waiters were very friendly and professional as well.

The food in the hotel was of good quality (at least the food that was served during conference dinner). Otherwise the main street with a lot of restaurants (of different quality) can be reached by foot in 5 to 10 minutes. It is to mention that mostly scandinavians and finnish people travel to this spot and thus don't be surprised to meet an armada of tall, blond people.

All in all the Minoa Palace Resort & Spa is a great place if you want to relax and I can recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christoph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halesowen
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We've had two excellent stays in late October at the Minoa Palace. Both very positive all round. The food choice and quality is excellent. Staff all helpful and friendly. Slight disappointment that teenage son not allowed to use indoor pool, although no adults using it most of the time. Overall would definitely return again and again.

Room Tip: We preferred the atmosphere of the original hotel across the road from the beach. Mountain view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowleyrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Excellent staff, really friendly and helpful, always smile!
Very good food, very nice buffet and A La Carte with the sea view was great too.
Drinks on the beach bit expensive.
Fantastic location, near shops and restaurants.Bus stop right outside the hotel building.
We loved time at this place.It is owned by private person not a chain and you can really feel it.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the new part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Compass186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our first visit to Crete and the Minoa Resort was a last minute booking for a late getaway - how lucky were we to find ourselves in this wonderful hotel. We were accommodated in the newer part which was on the beach. The weather was superb for the second week in October ( the previous week was cool wet and windy!!) and we made the most of it by dining outside for breakfast overlooking the beach and sea. The meals (we had half board) were superb - with fresh and inviting salads/ fish/ meats for starters and ample choice of hot and cold foods for mains (which always included meats and fish) and a carvery special. Sweets were tempting and plentiful. Rooms were large, modern and well appointed including bath/shower en suite, flat screen TV and fridge. Although the hotel was full, it never seemed busy. Staff throughout were very pleasant and helpful. Drinks were pricey. Not sure whether it was because it was end of season but the pools were very cold and most guests seemed to prefer the sea (which was warmer). Great to see all pairs of sunbeds whether around the pools or on the beach had their own parasol. I would recommend this to my friends.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor overlooking the side road to the beach which was quiet - not the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob1424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I've stayed to the best hotels around the world, never thought I will be treated like that in my home country! Me and my fiance we are native Greeks living in the UK. We booked a room online, the deposit was non-refundable. We arrived at the hotel after a long trip from Edinburgh and the moment we checked in, we were asked to pay up front the rest of the amount, for a matter of fact we were asked by a very rude receptionist to "take care the rest of the payment UNTIL this EVENING"!! Excuse me but this ruined my stay at this hotel for good!! A deadline by the receptionist, that is all "GREEK to me" ! We've traveled the world, we've stayed in hotels such as W in the States and Hilton across several countries never been asked to pay during check-in as if we were about to flee without paying! The employee didn't even have the IQ to keep the credit card number and as usual in all hotels the customer pays during check-out! Guess we were treated in this way because we were speaking in Greek!! I asked for the manager a couple of times in order to complain, he was not there!! Also in terms of room facilities etc,the room was pretty much standard, nothing special...with the thousands of amazing resorts and spa in Crete and in Greece, this hotel should really try to keep up! It's out dated and pretty much nothing to do except if you are Scandinavian and around 80...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Semina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minoa_Palace_Team, Director of Sales at Minoa Palace Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear guest,


First of all we would like to thank you for your comment. Being aware of our guest remarks is essential in order to improve the quality of our services.

However, please note that our payment policy is similar to most hotels around the world and is valid for all guests booked online, regardless nationality. Moreover, please be informed that the payment policy is stated in all online reservation systems as well as phone reservations.
On the other hand we would like to apologize if the explanation of this policy was made in a dissatisfying way.

We really hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future and offer you the best we can.



Best Regards


Christos Giakissiklis
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waasmunster, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have been on holiday at Minoa Palace (newer part on the beach) for five years in a row. We stayed there the first weeks of september.
All this holidays were great. Good food (in all inclusive during the last two years) great drinks (premium brands included), clean rooms and most of all very friendly people there.
If possible stay in a room with sea vieuw. If you like a private swimming pool it is also possible, although in my opinion the main pool is large enough.
Hope to go back for the sixt time next summer.

Room Tip: Rooms at the newer part can offer sea vieuw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
38.0 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.8 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
85.0 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
104.2 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
6.7 mi away
Avra Imperial Hotel
Avra Imperial Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kolymbari
1,178 reviews
14.9 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort
Kiani Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kalami
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minoa Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minoa Palace Resort

Property: Minoa Palace Resort
Address: Platanias, Chania, Platanias, Crete 730 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
#1 Spa Hotel in Platanias
#1 Luxury Hotel in Platanias
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Platanias
#4 Romantic Hotel in Platanias
#4 Family Hotel in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Minoa Palace Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minoa Palace Resort offers majestic views of its surrounding countryside and the White Mountains. To the north, the hotel enjoys panoramic views of the endless beach of Platanias with the shimmering sapphire blue Aegean beyond. With the extension of the hotel in 2008, guests have immediate access to the beach, over the aerial bridge, connecting the two hotel's sections. The luxury and comfort, combined with the attention to detail and the relaxed atmosphere, provide a holiday to remember for a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Minoa Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minoa Palace Resort And Spa
Minoa Palace Platanias
Minoa Palace Hotel Platanias
Minoa Palace Resort Platanias, Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing