We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay. Retired Cornish hoteliers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay. Retired Cornish hoteliers”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The outstanding memories of the Minoa Palace were, the building had been beautifully constructed with some outstanding features. It had a very relaxed atmosphere and you seem to have plenty of space and never seemed overcrowded although the hotel was full. The food was excellent the staff were friendly and polite and the service was first class. There was always a warm welcome and greeting from the Managers down to the trainees, one particular person we found to be first class at his job was Visili a manager at the restaurant he was always quick to welcome you and to seat you using his staff to give you the best experience. The room was good and although it may have been serviced late it was always serviced to a good standard and the maids were always very helpful. Having owned a small hotel we tend to look at things in depth and we consider this a well run, friendly and high standard facility. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thomas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    250
    48
    16
    8
See reviews for
318
504
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
192 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 662 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have recently returned from a week's stay at Minoa Palace. The hotel is average for what it offers and the old part is certainly not a 5 start resort. The rooms look tired and relatively small - at least the ones we have had in block 6 - and the air conditioning failed twice during our stay. The new wing of the hotel (the Imperial Wing) looks more stylish and the architecture more appealing but I do not know what is the quality of our rooms.

The main issue with the hotel is the reception staff attitude and the complete lack of care by the Customer Relations Manager. During our booking we had requested two adjacent rooms and has two email exchanges to confirm this - clearly stating this. The treatment of our booking on arrival was totally shambolic and it took 30 minutes to check us in. This was particularly unpleasant as we were travelling with elderly relatives and we arrived after midnight. We were very thirsty and there was no attempt to offer us a welcome drink. Next day we were offered an alternative room which was still unacceptably far away from the other room, although it was in the same block. When we expressed my dissatisfaction about the solution offered the receptionist treated us with utter irony and distain. We were all shocked by this behaviour. We insisted to see the Customer Relations Manager but he ignored us and we only caught up with him the day of our departure. He was not apologetic and did not offer any solutions - in any case it was too late. The only excuse was that the hotel was running in full capacity and they could not honour our original request.

As you can imagine this completely tainted our view of the hotel, which has some positives. The restaurant staff are friendly, although the service is slow. The Imperial Wing pool is wonderful and the views of the Glazio restaurant beautiful. However, it also has several negatives that do not warrant it a status of a luxury hotel. Our room was serviced consistently late, ie after 13.00, and the bathroom amenities were never replenished. The beach towels are available during limited times - twice we wanted to swim before breakfast but this was not possible. Because the catering targets the all inclusive tourists the quality of the food suffers. Some rooms have non heated plunge pools which remain strongly lit throughout the night (the light is controlled centrally). If you are a light sleeper you will find it very difficult to have a comfortable sleep.

In conclusion, even without the problems we encountered this can not be considered a 5 star resort. It does not have the facilities or the service that would merit it such a status. I was shocked by the arrange of the receptionists and the Customer Relations Manager and this was in complete contrast with the usual Cretan hospitality and warmth. I would go as far as to say that their behaviour gives Greek hospitality a bad name!

Room Tip: If you have to stay at the hotel you should choose the so called Imperial Wing. Avoid at all costs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Scotscouple99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george_mathioulakis, General Manager at Minoa Palace Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for choosing Minoa Palace Resort & Spa for your vacation. Having read your comments, we strongly feel the need to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. However, please be kind enough to note the following:
-First of all, regarding to your wish to allocate both of your rooms next to each other or in connecting rooms, we would like to inform you that unfortunately, our Reservations department never received any e-mail with that request.However, having been informed of your wish upon arrival, on the second day of your stay you were offered a free upgrade just next to your relatives, but you refused it and you decided to stay in your upgraded private pool bungalow. For the next two days, we tried several times to contact you by phone or by messages in your room, but you informed us that you were not available. After that, we preferred not to bother you again.
-Regarding the delay during the check-in procedure we are positive that our high level standards determine that guests arriving in our hotel are immediately allocated to their room. Especially during late arrivals of individual guests, delays are unlikely to occur.
-Concerning your request about switching off the private pool’s lights, we would like to mention that for safety reasons the lights should be onduring night time. Allrooms though, are equipped with double black-out curtains which assure that no natural or artificial light comes into the room.
-Fresh clean beach towels are available at the pool &beach bars from 10.00 till 18.00. Other than that, they are available 24 hours a day by simply requesting them fromthe reception. Also, the guest always has the option to keep his towel in the room and use it at his will.
-Housekeeping service is provided every day between 09:00 and 14:00 and bathroom amenities are everyday replaced. However, if any guest has a special wish referring to a particular cleaning time or extra amenities during the day, housekeeping staff will be glad to satisfy it.
Lastly, we are really sorry that our gastronomic choices didn’t meet your expectations, especially since we strongly believe that gastronomy has always been a strong part of our services. Our main focus is on Cretan and Greek recipes, with the high nutrition value & fresh ingredients. However in the 4 different restaurants that we have, we have included a great variety of flavors and cuisines in order to meet all kinds of tastes.
We hope we will have the chance in the future to welcome you again in our premises and offer you the best.

Best regards,

George Mathioulakis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We just arrived from Crete back home to Sweden and I am so glad we stayed in Minoa with; good, calm, clean rooms, amazing view, good staff, good food and good location I could not possibly want more than that.


The staffs are pretty helpful with smile which gives you positive energy. The rooms are really fresh. If you want to keep close to your beloved one you can easily ask for extra mattress for double bed, so it fills the little gap between 2 beds. Staff are pretty open and helpful and it is great.

Room Tip: The room with private pool is a bit extra while you have a pool behind and a sea in front of your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marzi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was the second time that  my wife and I had stayed at this hotel, we were at the hotel previously in 2011. We decided to return as we had enjoyed our previous stay so much. The hotel is situated in Platanias, which is a resort 12 kms to the West of Chania, although the hotel is close to shops, restaurants and bars it does stand alone away from the busy area of Platanias, I must stress that this is a laid back resort, typical of the Cretan lifestyle. 

About the hotel, this is a large complex of two parts, divided by the Main Street. To the South of the street is the original hotel, to the North the more recently built part of the complex. On both occasions we stayed in the older part of the hotel, although it still has a new and spacious feel about it. One thing you will notice about this hotel is space, there is plenty of it. There is a fresh and light feel about the whole hotel. 

The staff are very polite and attentive, here are two examples to support this comment. The hair dryer in  our  room was not working properly, this was fixed within hour. I dropped my knife on the floor in the restaurant, which I was about to pick up, but the waitress replaced it before I could do this. These two things might not sound important, but to me this suggests attention to detail. I could provide other examples. Perhaps a memorable point would be the cake that had been left in our room to thank us for the loyalty we has shown in returning to the hotel. 

This hotel has a number of pools, with plenty of sunbeds, and a number of bar areas. It is situated adjacent to the sea, with an easily accessible safe beach. 

There are three main restaurants, with the choice of buffett or waiter/waitress service. The food is of a very good quality and varied to suit most diets, themed nights are provided.  

The room we stayed in had a pool view and was adequate in size to suit our needs. There was an excellent maid service, who meticulously cleaned and prepared our room every day, including two towel changes per day if needed. The room was comfortable with the creature comforts we now accept as the norm, e.g flat screen TV, beverage machine, safe, and WI-Fi. 

It is worth checking when booking this hotel as to what the outlook from the balcony is like as this can vary, the last time we at the hotel  we booked a mountain view room, where the view from the balcony was the    
car park. The mountain could only be seen from the rear of the block we were in and then when only on an upper floor. However, no problem this time although we had to pay a little more. 

Overall again this  hotel has left an excellent lasting impression, I would recommend it to Trip Advisor readers. 

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t_gibbs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the great reviews on the web and the hotel's impressive website, all of which suggested an upscale vacation experience. Unfortunately for us, our expectations were not met. We paid for a room at the newer, supposedly more luxurious 'Imperial Wing', which is closer to the beach area. Although newer, I did not find anything luxurious about it. The public areas inside the building (such as the bar, sitting areas, lobby etc) were completely deserted and unstaffed and had a weird, stale smell, while everything else seemed just standard – the room, the pool and the beach were all nothing more than just ok and lacked style.
The area around the pool did not seem very tidy and certainly was not up to 5* standard. As for the main section of the hotel – I actually thought it was nicer than the newer section. It had several pools and nice gardens but did seem dated and again just not 5* level.

The hotel (or at least this part of it) seems to have very little separation from its surroundings, which made us feel almost 'exposed' and without privacy - the walkway to the room on the second floor is completely open and every time we went to or from the room we were stared by people sunbathing at the pool of the hotel next door. The way to the pool feels almost like walking on the street, as again there is very little separation between the walkway and the parking lot, garbage cans and minimarket right next to it. The balconies of the hotel next door are right across the street from the pool so guests of that hotel can get a really good, unobstructed look of what’s going on in the imperial wing’s pool.

Our room was described in the hotel's website as "overlooking the hotel's water features". In reality, these water features are a narrow strip of shallow heightened pools, probably about 4-5 meters wide, so what we really got to see from the balcony was mainly what's just beyond them (the aforementioned parking lot as well as the back of a restaurant)

In addition, we’ve found the in-room facilities and general level of service to be lower than expected. Some examples:

- Guests in the imperial section can have breakfast at the restaurant by the beach. For some reason, we were not informed about this during check in and were told to use the main section's dining room

- If you stay at the pool after 6:00PM, you will have to take the towels with you to your room, or bring them back to reception as there will be nobody there to give you your towel cards back. On the other hand, if you wish to use the pool before 10:00AM and need fresh towels, you will have to go all the way to the reception to get them

- Very weak water pressure at the shower

- Tiny TV screen (23") that did not work

- No coffee/tea making facilities in the room

- Maid came by to clean the room at 1:00PM - we had to wait with tired children after an entire morning at the pool until the room was cleaned

To sum up: Having stayed in several 5* resorts in the Greek islands I completely object to the notion that “this is probably the acceptable level of quality for a 5* Greek resort” as from my personal experience there are many fantastic resorts in Greece that live up to any international standard. We will not be coming back and will not recommend this hotel to those who look for an exclusive vacation at a high-end resort

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oeim1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george_mathioulakis, General Manager at Minoa Palace Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear guest, first of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property. We feel very disappointed that you left the hotel with a negative view, especially since we strongly feel that most of the issues would have been solved, if you had talked them through with our Guest Relations Department or our Reception Staff. In order to “clear the air” though, kindly note the following:

-we are a summer resort hotel, which means that we remain closed for 5 months during the winter time. That allows us to maintain & repair anything that needs to be repaired, before the beginning of the new season. We like to believe that both sections of the hotel,are well maintained & in a very good condition.

- The hotel has 4 restaurants and 4 bars, apart from the lobby bar of the Imperial building that you refer to, that we use only in special occasions and conferences. That gives our guests a large variety of options, even at the times that it remains closed.
-The architecture of the Imperial part, ensures that even the rooms with no sea view, have view to an impressive water surface, which concludes to an array of trees in the garden - fence. These trees,prevent the people outside the hotel from watching the guests located inside. -Referring to the beach towels policy, we consider that 10.00 to18.00 to be a reasonable period for anyone to take or change the towel. Additionally, there is no problem if the guest gets his towel in the room.

-We would also like to mention that it is common practice for the housekeeping team, to clean the roomsfrom 9.00 to14.00. However, if a guest has a special request regarding the time, we easily transform the schedule in order to satisfy his/her needs.
We really hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future and offer you the best we can.


Kind Regards,

George Mathioulakis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

1.First of all I would like to thanks again to Kostas from the coffee pub (near the church of the hotel) for his kindness and for the way he made is guests to feel like at home.Kostas ,thanks again!
2.Wonderful resort,superd and exceptional quality & variety of food.
3.We have stayed in a bungallow with private pool and garden and it looks exactly as it is shown on the hotel web page.
4.Tips:choose 501 or 502 (if going in september) because the water in the pool is not heated and the sun stays more only on 501 and 502 (but especially on 501).
5.Very close to Lidl (300 meters)and to supemarkets and pubs in the town.20 km to Chania and 28 kmtrs. to the airport in Chania;
6.We hired a car from Gorentacar.gr (we arrived in Heraklion)and the trip was about 2 hrs,on an amazing landscape.It is useless to rent a GP because all roads are very well marked.
7.At the end ,what can I say :wonderful hotel, superb food,magnificient location (they have a sandy beach ,but the water is deep from the beggining),a place where you feel like at home.

Room Tip: for bungalows (for september) choose 501, or 502.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marianbucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on the 3rd September for a week of relaxation and was not disappointed. The hotel is excellent in many areas.

Restaurant buffets were of a very high standard with a large range of hot and cold food available.

Bedroom with view of pool was perfect and cleaned well on a daily basis. You could have your towels and bed linen changed daily if you wished.

We spent our time by the beach as loved the sea breeze. Due to the hotel policy of not pre booking sun beds we never had a problem getting one as only a few selfish people reserved their beds by putting a towel on them.

The evening entertainment provided was good compared to other Greek hotels we have visited. A very good musician/singer on the BBQ night was the best.

Gym at spa had a good variety of equipment but could open a bit earlier so you could get a workout in before breakfast.

Finally a word about the Thomson Rep Sue who was the most helpful, informative and kind person. Thank you Sue for making our trip even better with all your knowledge and kind assistance.

We would certainly return to the Minoa Palace as it a an excellent hotel to stay in while visiting the sites in this part of Crete.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaC577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
38.0 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
104.4 mi away
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
80.1 mi away
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
104.2 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
6.7 mi away
Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
78.1 mi away
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minoa Palace Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minoa Palace Resort & Spa

Property: Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
Address: Platanias, Chania, Platanias, Crete 730 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Platanias
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
#1 Luxury Hotel in Platanias
#1 Spa Hotel in Platanias
#4 Romantic Hotel in Platanias
#4 Family Hotel in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Minoa Palace Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa hotel offers majestic views of its surrounding countryside and the White Mountains. To the north, the hotel enjoys panoramic views of the endless beach of Platanias with the shimmering sapphire blue Aegean beyond. With the extension of the hotel in 2008, guests have immediate access to the beach, over the aerial bridge, connecting the two hotel's sections. The luxury and comfort, combined with the attention to detail and the relaxed atmosphere, provide a holiday to remember for a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Minoa Palace Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minoa Palace Resort And Spa
Minoa Palace Platanias
Minoa Palace Hotel Platanias
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa Platanias, Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing