We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel with big green area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Geraniotis Beach Hotel
Ranked #26 of 69 Hotels in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Swarzedz, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“nice hotel with big green area”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have choosen this hotel becouse of location. I liked visited west part of Creta and this place is ideal, moreover is close to airport in Chania. Hotel is a little bit on the subarbia of Platanias in quiet neighbourhood. Another advantage is location of bus stop wich is only 100m from hotel. That what I liked very much was great green area and about 100m length access to the beach. This caused that always you can find place little bit priavte. The beach is sandy. In hotel There are 2 swimming poolS and swimming pool for children. Attantion! if you like train snoorking is idel for you becouse one of the pool has 2,9m depth.The service is very friendly and helpfull general atmosphere in hotel is very relaxed. Breakfast dinners and suppers are very tasty and diversifided. Always you can get typical continental dishes and typical cretan food. rooms are tidy an clear regulary. GOOD HOTEL!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agtom8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    64
    35
    10
    1
See reviews for
78
54
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Råde
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The hotel sits right next to the beach and just 10-15 minutes walking from the town center. Nice, clean rooms, all close to pools and the beach. The staff is nice and helpful and the food is generally good. We had the all inclusive program and feared we'd be eating the same for every meal, but that was not the case. The kitchen offered a nice variation both for lunch and dinner. Some of it was not quite as warm as you'd wish, but there's always something else. And with the town center and all of its restaurants so close, it's no big deal to find other places to eat, for a change. One drawback to mention, at least for the rooms in the main building, is that the doors are really thin and don't really block any sound from the corridors. As the corridors are all stone, you really hear anything going on... If your neighbor gets up early, you probably do as well.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building have non existing sound insulation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BGrim47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Gorica, Slovenia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Good location, just 15 minutes from the town center.Excellent food, friendly staff, clean rooms.Highly The weather was great, the sea warm (25 ° C). We were from 15 - 29 September.
Recommend this hotel,especially for older couples and couples with children.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boris-tanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hokksund, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Geraniotis Beach Hotel is situated at the western outskirts of Platanias, not far from the Gerani village. It is a 10 to 15 minutes walk from Platanias main square. It consist of several 2 storey buildings. All are close to the pool areas.

We were friendly received by the reception ladies. We were given a room in the reception building. We were not fully satisfied with the bathroom and asked if we could change. We got a new room with a showercabinet the next day.

The hotel rooms are all approximateley the same size, but some has a bath tub and some have a shower cabinet. The bed had a mattress slightly too hard for our liking. There is a build-in fridge in the room. The fridge got colder if you kept the outside shelt-door open to get rid of the heat from the fridge. Some rooms have a deposit box. We got the key from the reception free of charge.

There are also 2 room appartments in the hotel. These are bigger and nice for families with kids.

There are two pool areas. Both have a children pool. There is a 3 meter sunbed-free tiled area around both pools. The sunbeds are placed under palmblade umbrellas on the large greenarea. This was a very good solution. You did not have to go around sunbeds to reach the pool and despite some rough playing in the pool you were not unintendedly wet. However, during out 2 week stay, we never say anyone wash the tiled areas. The poolds were vacuum cleaned occasionly, but then during busy using times. There are room for some improvements here. The hotel do not have suntowels, so bring your own.

The becah is only 50 meters from the pool area. The beach is sandy except for a 2 - 3 meter pebble area just before and after you reach the water. During the afternoon the sand gets very hot, so maybe it will be wise to bring some bathing shoes.

The greenarea also contains a playground and a football pitch.

We were in the hotel with an all inclusive package. You get breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets. The food is average. They do occasionly arrange a Ctetan evening. These evenings are better than normal with BBQ dishes. From 10 am to midnight you get free drinks from the pool bar, where Andrea takes good care of everybody during daytime. During daytime you can also get iceream, toast / snacks and cakes if you have bought the all inclusive package.

There is also a small supermarket in the hotel.

The hotel has free Wi-Fi covering all inside and outside areas. It was very unstable the first week of our stay. We did not have any coverage at all in the room the first week-end. After some complaints they immidiately upgraded the network and it worked perferctly - until the last day - when it again failed. I hope thay have fixed the problem permanently by now.

Check out the internet page http://www.geraniotisbeach.com

Room Tip: The rooms in the reception building seem to be a bit older than the surrounding buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eskog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We have been to Crete a few times before, but this was the first time with our 10 month-old daughter. When we booked our trip (charter), we researched the hotels available and decided that Geraniotis had the best options for us. I will not discuss the charter-trip bit here as this is something for another day. I will focus on what the Hotel had to offer us and our little one. We had one of the apartments (one bedroom) with a large bathroom and an adequate kitchen. Some nights we went out for dinner and some we stayed in and cooked. Both worked just fine, although I wish the kitchen had more working space. There is a TV in the room, but it is nothing to brag about. However, we never felt the need to watch TV anyway. The hotel offers all-inclusive, half-pension or breakfast only and we decided to have breakfast only included. Nice breakfast buffet, although not as many fruits as we thought there would be. Maybe later in the season there might be more options. Nevertheless, we had plenty to choose from. The staff was very nice and friendly and attentive. And I mean, not only the breakfast staff, but everyone that we met. The hotel has a nice green lawn all the way to the beach, with swimming pools and enough sunbeds. The option to stay on the beach or on the green lawn (grass) and take the short walk to the beach/sea is yours. There is a supermarket (Lidl) just on the other side of the street and even a small groceries store within the hotel with enough products and good prices. The attending lady is very friendly and speaks good English. Our daughter was well received anywhere in the Hotel and the staff seemed to honestly care about kids and make the effort to play with them. We truly appreciated that. The walk into Platanias is fine and takes no more than 10/15mins. Just remember, it is an all-inclusive Hotel and serves a big charter company. You will meet all kinds of people in such place. There are plenty of other hotels in the area to choose from and certainly better ones. For our holiday, this one was perfect and very easy going. And that is exactly what we wanted. Would easily return to Geraniotis beach Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ripwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Norway, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I have so many mixed feeling about this place I am not quite sure where to start. When we first arrived at the hotel we asked for a different room. We had paid for an apartment but we were traveling with family who had paid for rooms, their rooms were across the property from ours. It also took 10 minutes to lock the porch door and there was a build up on one of them we couldn't see out. We were told that the hotel was full but we could check back in the morning. We never did check back in the morning but the following afternoon we asked them if they could do something about the tv. The tv in the apartment was a 12 inch box tv mounted high on the wall, you could not see anything. Since we were traveling with our two year old we would have early nights in. The lady at the front desk told us no, but she would ask her boss, she never took our name or room number so we knew there would be no improvement there. We also told her that the ac wasn't working her response " you must be doing something wrong because it does work" later on someone did come to the room to fix it. Other than that the room was dated but clean and functional. We decided to go all inclusive and the only thing I can say is it was a disaster. I am allergic to all pork products and there was ham and pork in almost everything. I spent most of the week eating tomatoes and feta cheese. Everyone else in our group felt like they were constantly eating leftovers. I can't imagine being a vegetarian at this place because you would have starved. Some of the staff we encountered we're very nice, we got the feeling from others however that we were a inconvenience. Im not asking anyone to serve on me hand and foot but it wouldn't hurt to smile every so often.
Some good: the hotel itself was very clean everywhere you went, and the layout is very spread out which is nice you don't feel like you are stacked on top of each other. The beach was ver close and the playground was fantastic for the kids.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinggirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

This is by far one of the best hotels Ive ever stayed in. A modern, great looking hotel at the end of the beach in Platanias, Crete. That made the beach not crowdy at all, and you felt like you had your own little private spot there. And yet, it was just a 5 minute walk to go downtown.
It was a familydriven hotel, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Nice comfy and clean rooms, highly recommended:)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tihauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
0.5 mi away
Indigo Mare
Indigo Mare
#18 of 69 in Platanias
227 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Dome Hotel
Blue Dome Hotel
#7 of 69 in Platanias
147 reviews
0.9 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lito Beach
Lito Beach
#22 of 69 in Platanias
97 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Amaryllis
Hotel Amaryllis
#16 of 69 in Platanias
64 reviews
1.1 mi away
Silver Beach Hotel
Silver Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Gerani
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geraniotis Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geraniotis Beach Hotel

Property: Geraniotis Beach Hotel
Address: Platanias, Crete 73014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Geraniotis Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Geraniotis Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geraniotis Beach Hotel Platanias, Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing