We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant!!!”
Review of Barbas Thomas

Barbas Thomas
Ranked #8 of 131 Restaurants in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!!!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Don't get fooled by the sign outside the restaurant - this place is quality all through! We have enjoyed traditional greek food as well as pizza and hamburgers there, and the food has always been so incredibly well cooked. The service is outstanding too. I can't think of a better place to recommend. The place is almost worth the trip to Crete by itself....

Helpful?
1 Thank Fredrik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    50
    21
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kouvola, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Service is great! You feel welcomed every time. Pizzas are the best I have ever tasted! If you haven't tasted lamb, I recommend lamb chops of Barbas Thomas.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Katri134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Food & Service”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Went for lunch at Barbas Thomas @ reading reviews here , was well worth searching out, a small very friendly family run taverna .It gave off a really good feeling from the moment you walked in .just sited above the main road in Platanias up a few steps .The Pizza was fantastic will certainly visit again next year .
The whole menu looked great & the staff & facilities were very good .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1089collector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Booked after reading the reviews here, was not disappointed. The food and service were excellent. Will be returning as soon as possible.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horten, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Strange experience”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I went to Barba Thomas for a quick meal as everybody here has been giving it good reviews. I ordered garlic bread for starters and a pizza for main course. Despite asking the waiter for my starter several times I never received my starter. The pizza I ordered was average and the mushrooms I asked for them to remove from my pizza was not removed. When I paid the waiter was full of excuses and gave me a complimentary small bottle of raki.

The restaurant was full when I was there so this might explain the trouble I experienced. Also a lot of noice from the main road.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cebbe58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbas Thomas also viewed

Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Barbas Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing