We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Mexican Food”
Review of Dos Amigos

Dos Amigos
Ranked #114 of 131 Restaurants in Platanias
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
larnaca, cyprus
Level Contributor
134 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Visited this restaurant with my friend and we really enjoyed our meal. We both ordered burritos one minced meat and the other veggie. Each serving had two fat burritos with a side of rice, greens and red beans it was yummy. The service was lovely and the decor of the restaurant was beautiful. Along with a fresh orange juice and a glass of wine our bill was 29 euros thought that was excellent for the amount of food that we had. Would definitely go back again. The restaurant is situated in the main square of platanias and it is not on ground level but on the 1st floor of the building.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kostas A, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dos Amigos, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Google Translation
Σας ευχαριστω ελπιζω να σας ξαναδουμε συντομα!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    23
    25
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect food!!!!!”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Try the burrito with minced meat!!!! Absolutely excellent!!!!! Ask for margarita frozen!!!! Lemon or strawberry are excellent!!!!!!!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Manolis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kostas A, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dos Amigos, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
thank you manolis!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We got tired of greek food during our vacation, so Dos amigos is a very great place to get som mexican tex mex. We all had some sort of tacos in both soft tortillas and crispy. Everyone was satisfied with the food quality and the service. To drink we prefered mexican beer,(sol, and corona). The kids also enjoyed their meal and it was a fair price. The service was great and the food came quickly.. easy choice later..

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank auper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kostas A, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dos Amigos, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Google Translation
Ευχαριστω για το σχολιο σας σας περιμενουμε ξανα στο χωρο μας!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Decent restaurant in the midst of a tourist trap”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I will begin by saying that Dos Amigos is more of a tex-mex restaurant rather than a real mexican restaurant. Secondly, this is a 3-star restaurant but it gets a fourth star because it managed to provide very good service and decent food at the peak of the tourist season in the midst of a tourist trap, and that is laudable.

Restaurant: The restaurant is in the middle of the tourist-trap square of Platanias, close to Chania. Everything in the area is flashy, illuminated and loud including the local bar-hopping crowds that travel from bar to bar becoming increasingly inebriated. Lucky for you, Dos Amigos is not on ground level but on the first floor of the building which somehow shields much of the noise from below without sacrificing the vibe of the street below, especially if you sit outside. The restaurant is modern in its decoration avoiding Mexican clichés (unless of course you want to take a photo wearing a sobrero in which case you can get one from the entrance). Toilets were spot clean and that is worth mentioning.

Food: The food came in better than average portions, was cooked on the hour (not preheated) and they accommodated all of our special requests. We had many items from the menu and non of them were bad. I cannot claim that the food was the best mexican I had ever eaten (or the best tex-mex or anything of the mexicanesque variety) but it was much better than what you would expect from a Mexican restaurant in a tourist destination at the peak of the tourist season and that was a huge plus. The margaritas were generous, fresh and with a good punch of tequila.

Service: Our waiters were friendly, courteous, spoke greek (this is a big deal if you come from Cyprus where most of the waiters do not speak the native tongue, but don't get me started...) knew the menu by heart and did everything else in their power to accommodate a group of people unfamiliar with mexican cuisine and wanting less spicy food, all the sauces and all dressings on the side.

Overall: If you are with friends then its a good place to go for margaritas It wouldn't be the most romantic place to visit as a couple but it should be on your list if you just want out to go out somewhere casually for a drink or two. Remember, this is a 3-star restaurant that stands its ground in a tourist trap without service or cleanliness and that's worth an extra star for the effort.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FinickyCypriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kostas A, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dos Amigos, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Google Translation
Σας ευχαριστω για τα καλα σας λογια! σας περιμενουμε ξανα κοντα μας!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus, Greece
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Well done dishes and nice atmosphere!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

A Mexican restaurant in the heart of Platanias, very busy at this season but a quick and friendly staff. Fajitas,with chicken, love it with extra spicy dressing as I prefer it like this. Salad was great too, generous portion too. Everything we had was perfectly made, even mojito cocktail was nicely made. Definitely going back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Giroin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kostas A, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dos Amigos, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
thank you for your comend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dos Amigos also viewed

Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Dos Amigos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing