We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent restaurant in the midst of a tourist trap”
Review of Dos Amigos

Dos Amigos
Ranked #99 of 138 Restaurants in Platanias
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I will begin by saying that Dos Amigos is more of a tex-mex restaurant rather than a real mexican restaurant. Secondly, this is a 3-star restaurant but it gets a fourth star because it managed to provide very good service and decent food at the peak of the tourist season in the midst of a tourist trap, and that is laudable.

Restaurant: The restaurant is in the middle of the tourist-trap square of Platanias, close to Chania. Everything in the area is flashy, illuminated and loud including the local bar-hopping crowds that travel from bar to bar becoming increasingly inebriated. Lucky for you, Dos Amigos is not on ground level but on the first floor of the building which somehow shields much of the noise from below without sacrificing the vibe of the street below, especially if you sit outside. The restaurant is modern in its decoration avoiding Mexican clichés (unless of course you want to take a photo wearing a sobrero in which case you can get one from the entrance). Toilets were spot clean and that is worth mentioning.

Food: The food came in better than average portions, was cooked on the hour (not preheated) and they accommodated all of our special requests. We had many items from the menu and non of them were bad. I cannot claim that the food was the best mexican I had ever eaten (or the best tex-mex or anything of the mexicanesque variety) but it was much better than what you would expect from a Mexican restaurant in a tourist destination at the peak of the tourist season and that was a huge plus. The margaritas were generous, fresh and with a good punch of tequila.

Service: Our waiters were friendly, courteous, spoke greek (this is a big deal if you come from Cyprus where most of the waiters do not speak the native tongue, but don't get me started...) knew the menu by heart and did everything else in their power to accommodate a group of people unfamiliar with mexican cuisine and wanting less spicy food, all the sauces and all dressings on the side.

Overall: If you are with friends then its a good place to go for margaritas It wouldn't be the most romantic place to visit as a couple but it should be on your list if you just want out to go out somewhere casually for a drink or two. Remember, this is a 3-star restaurant that stands its ground in a tourist trap without service or cleanliness and that's worth an extra star for the effort.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank FinickyCypriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kostas A, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dos Amigos, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014
Google Translation

Σας ευχαριστω για τα καλα σας λογια! σας περιμενουμε ξανα κοντα μας!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Dos Amigos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 62 of 170 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

A Mexican restaurant in the heart of Platanias, very busy at this season but a quick and friendly staff. Fajitas,with chicken, love it with extra spicy dressing as I prefer it like this. Salad was great too, generous portion too. Everything we had was perfectly made, even mojito cocktail was nicely made. Definitely going back!

1  Thank Giroin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kostas A, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dos Amigos, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

thank you for your comend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

we eat here last night
a very friendly welcome and we were impressed with the service

the nachos starter was ok but I suspect they came out of a bag of Dorito's!. the salsa was homemade and tasty

the waiter kindly made a vegie fajita for my wife as the only vegetarian option on the menu was burrito
it was pretty good but like my meal only had 2 wraps which is not enough for the meal if you are going to wrap the food inside the fajita.

I had a chicken fajita and the meat was nicely done but disappointingly the sizzling vegetables that normally accompany this dish back home were replaced by cold white shredded cabbage.

the cake offered as an on the house after would be better being replaces by a shot of tequila

we paid about 16 euros more for this meal than in the top rated tavernas we have been to and frankly, overall the food was not nearly as good and the little extra just didn't materialise

but we wanted something different and is was ok - just not as authentic or tasty as back home

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cathie-David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kostas A, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dos Amigos, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014
Google Translation

Θεωπουμε το γλυκο πιο χρησιμο μετα το φαγητο! δεν το κανουμε για οικονομια το ιδιο μας στοιχιζει! ευχαριστω παντως για την κριτικη σας!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

A restaurant with ok TexMex and nothing more. Managed to be empty of guacamole early in the evening. A lot of noise from kids. People working here knows service and they have good WiFi.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dr3as
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kostas A, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dos Amigos, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014
Google Translation

Θελουμε να σερβιρουμε οσο πιο φρεσκα προιοντα μπορουμε και αυτο καμια φορα μας στοιχιζει! λυπομαστε για αυτο που σας συνεβει! ευχαριστω για το σχολιο σας!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Went here on first day and it was so good I went back two more times. Excellent food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kostas A, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dos Amigos, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014
Google Translation

ευχαριστω για τα σχολια σας!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dos Amigos also viewed

Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Dos Amigos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing