We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big man Sweden”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Giaourtoplimmira

Giaourtoplimmira
Ranked #68 of 128 Restaurants in Platanias
Price range: $1 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: In 1994, in the area of Platanias, Chania "Giaourtoplimmira" has opened, a small shop with a big abition: to be your first gastronomic choice regarding souvlaki, fast food and any other taste you would like to experience. With a lot of work and even more pleasure, we have managed to be established in your preference and in our course to be first in your heart.We made a bet with ourselves, not just to be at the top but also to stay there! So we don't hold back, but we try daily to maintain the high level and quality which we have conquered with so much effort and raise it higher, because you deserve it!!
göteborg
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big man Sweden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is one of the best fast food restaurang i haved visit.The food is exelence, and the stuff is
so friendly.all this for a small costs.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bengt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    26
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A disgrace to Greek cuisine”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We've just come back from this once very good souvlazidiko.

The service was very slow, a tomato/cucumber salad without onions, no water on the table and a coke took 25 minutes to arrive. The worst bit though is the meat. Sawdust sausages, the gyros of the cheapest quality and floppy fries.

They probably use the very cheapest of ingredients and don't actually care.

Admittedly it is high season and they flog their fair to people who probably have never tasted real Greek food. Still to serve this stuff to paying customers is a disgrace.

Go to Tassos in Gerani, 5 minutes by car down the road. You pay just as much and get infinitely better food, though no gyros.

I cannot at all reccomended this place unless you are completely smashed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Htmlterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beware!!! Be 100% sure which bill you pay with...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I got this place recommended by my hotel as the to go gyro-place. I purchased two gyros, and paid with a fifty, I then got change for a twenty!! I asked kindly if he wasn't sure i gave him a fifty - he showed me the cash register and denied this. I was about 70% sure I gave him a fifty, and I got this confirmed by my girlfriend when I came back to the hotel, there was indeed a 50 in my wallet and not a twenty. Very disappointed by this!!! As to the gyros, they were OK, I rate them at 3/6.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
232 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good pita gyros taste”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

one pita gyros is 2.50€
a greek salad 5.00€
a gyros plate (pork) 7.50€
coca cola 1.50€
good value for money!
near many shops and mini golf.
The tablea are for 4 people and totally can reach 30 people

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Easy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“excellent, tasty meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have eaten here a few times now during our stay on Crete. The food is very tasty and enjoyable. The service is very very good, they have remembered us each time, and the prices are very reasonable. Recommend to anyone wanting a tasty Greek meal at a good price.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank karenko111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giaourtoplimmira also viewed

Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Giaourtoplimmira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing