We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special but ok”
Review of China Palace

China Palace
Ranked #126 of 133 Restaurants in Platanias
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Description: China Palace Restaurant serves authentic Asian cuisine. Our specialties include Satay Duck, Sweet & Sour plates and a large selection of other dishes, starters, and desserts. We also offer 2 different menu packages. The staff is friendly, talkative and always eager to get to know our guests and answer any questions they may have about the menu! Stop by for lunch or dinner and let us make sure you have an enchanting experience.
Denmark
Level Contributor
182 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nothing special but ok”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Your average chinese restaurant, food was ok however nothing fancy. Service might have been a little bit better but its the end of season so the local staff was probably a bit worn out.

Helpful?
Thank Kim1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    21
    28
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hvidovre, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Medium.”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

There are two Chinese restaurants in Platanias with the same owner and menu. The other Red Dragon is by far the best. China Place has from bad to decent food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlemmingA2650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Do not eat here”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Having read other reviews, I agree the staff were very nice. The food, however, was awful. The selection of starters was horrid, the duck just about edible although overpriced. When the main courses came they were difficult to distinguish from one another. What did stand out was the sweet and sour "pork", which proved very difficult to find in the balls of batter and enclosed goo. Complimentary desert was a nice touch but failed to rescue a terrible and expensive meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kleobright, Manager at China Palace, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Naturally, we would like to accommodate the taste buds of every one of our clients. Unfortunately a 100% satisfaction rate is not always possible, although based on feedback (both on trip advisor and on location), we come pretty close. We are sorry that the food was not to your taste. As far as pricing goes, all prices are clearly listed on the menu next to each item. We also provide a booklet of photographs by which one can gauge the portion sizing.

As far as your over-all unpleasant experience, I personally make it a point to ask each and every customer if every thing is O.K. with their meal. Had you been more vocal about your dissatisfaction at the time, perhaps we could have done something more for you.

Thank You,

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tasty, very very tasty - nom nom”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a very popular restaurant and is always full !! The staff are very friendly indeed, the young lady working there took the time to talk to us even though they did not have an empty table in the house which I felt was lovely.
The food really was excellent, imagine your favorite take away at home that you always go to, that is what you will get here. The portions were generous, lovely and hot and even though they were packed to the rafters, very timely. All our meals arrived together and everything was exactly as we ordered.
The prices are very reasonable for both food and drinks. It certainly made a lovely change from the local cuisine.
A thoroughly enjoyable eating experience - thanks guys x

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank milliecope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
“Loved it”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Being from Canada and being used to EXCELLENT Chinese Restaurants there, I truly did not think we could find anything close to back home, but China Palace did really impress us, would totally recommend it... Great food, excellent service, can't wait to go back...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary19520910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Palace also viewed

Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to China Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing