We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gyros!”

Arokaria - Restaurant - Cafe
Ranked #128 of 136 Restaurants in Platanias
Price range: $19 - $21
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: On the main street of Platanias, lies the restaurant “AROKARIA”In a beautiful garden, with touches of traditional architecture that tie up harmonically with the rich natural environment, we have accommodate, since 1991 til today, thousands of visitors, known or not.Staying faithful to the authentic Cretan cuisine, we offer our visitors the joy to taste traditional dishes given with a modern perception, emphasizing to the authentic tastes and pure local products..
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great gyros!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

If you ever eaten out in Platanias, you wont be surprised by what you will find on the menu here. Yet, the place manage to separate itself from the crowd with it's cooking. It's simply better. The gyros is excellent and actually comes with a fear share of vegetables (which seems rare in Crete). If you came to Greece to try out the gyros, then stop looking, this is the place. I have to recommend the beef stifado (beef stew) as well. It's fantastic!

And of course you get the complimentary raki, which tastes horrible, but that's the charm, isn't it?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    23
    18
    13
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
GREECE
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“arokaria restaurant: delicious cretan food”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

we ate in arokaria restaurant and we liked us the atmosphere and the delicious cretan food! they have their farm and the meat s were fresh! we tried lamb fillet Strogkanof which was excellent and in reasonable price! bonne apetite!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MERISA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant gave it a go when I was close by!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Don't forget to ask for their suggestions and special local Cretan dishes. They have a a good amount of traditional greek deliciousness hidden in them! I went there alone during my military days when the food was terrible in the military camp and everytime felt like an oasis in the desert.

They have good prices and the service is very fast so if you don't like waitting its highly recommended. A joy for taste.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Petros X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano Marittima, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent medtiterranean cuisine one of the best Chania restaurants”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Arokaria is traditional restaurant operating since 1991. The restaurant is in a beautiful garden and offers authentic Cretan cuisine and pure local products. They use only chosen Cretan olive oil and vegetables are from their own garden.
We visited Arokaria for dinner with my family and we are very impressed by both the atmosphere and the quality of the food.
We ordered traditional salad with chicken, pork fillet with wine sauce and mushrooms, fried lamb, giouvetsi, boureki, moussaka and one of the special dishes for children for my nephew John
All were really delicious and good sized servings. The atmosphere is fantastic and service is friendly and fast. We really enjoyed every part of our dining experience and we highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tzilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The food was awful. The souvlaki was not grilled and extremely over cooked. Dry and hard to chew. Not a good experiance

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Per L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arokaria - Restaurant - Cafe also viewed

Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Arokaria - Restaurant - Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing