We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Id go back.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Platanias
Reviewed July 8, 2013

WE went as a family with 3 generations so it would be hard to please us all BUT it DID.Room a bit small but don't. Go on holiday to stay in room lovely view from balcony of sea and greek life and could hear tbe church bells and sea we had sidesea view room 309.Didn't use the pools much as the sea provided us with varied conditions from calm to still to surf so loads of fun.The food was alright its a case of communicating and tben you get what you want and don't be afraid to as the chefs and waiters are only to pleazed to help so if you want a well cooked piece of meat simply ask the grill chef DONT let other in a hurry holiday makers dictate your taste and pace.All the staff are friendly and reaxy to help.Ask for a kettle if you don't have one then you will.The cleaners did a fantastic job.WEALL LOVED IT. And easy to travel to other places such as chania old town.

Room Tip: .Side sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank callum t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 961 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

There were some highs and lows during our recent stay at this hotel.

Pros: The lobby is beautiful and they have two pools. Breakfast and dinner were included in the price of the room. They have a free private parking lot across the street. The hotel sent us champagne, fruit and flowers since it was our honeymoon. This hotel is in a good location. It's within walking distance of stores, restaurants and supermarkets. There is a snorkling boat that will take you towards the nearby island) right outside the back of the hotel- it's really fun! I suggest you go!

Cons: It was our honeymoon (as I just mentioned) and we had to sleep on two hard twin beds that had been pushed together - not very romantic. There was a LOT of noise at night. Kids (there are a lot of kids here) outside screaming, rolling carts in the hallway, chatty maids, etc. The TV in our room was the size of a computer monitor (17 inches? maybe 19) and it got three channels. The food is very BAD. During my stay I got food poisoning resulting in vomiting, diarrhea, fever and chills. When we reported this they offered us a spa credit. (note: the spa was nice). The shower is strange. Every time we tried to use it, we'd get water all over the restroom. The beach is not a nice beach. You're much better off driving a bit. Crete has some amazing beaches. I suggest Falasarna!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank melodys_adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia K, Manager at Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your preference toward our hotel "Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa".

Furthermore, we would like to inform you that we just read your review about our hotel and we would like to thank you for your useful comments.
However, we want to express our point of view on some of your problems you mentioned .
First of all, we would like to clarify that we have not been informed from your travel agency about your honeymoon before your arrival, in order to make our standard arrangements as honeymoon guests. In these occasions we place in the room a bottle of champagne, a fruit basket, walnuts with honey, strawberries with chocolate sauce and whipped cream, small fruit tarts, flowers and we offer our guests a gift voucher from our Spa for 2 free spa entrances. As soon as you informed our guest relation manager about your special occasion, we offered you all the above. Therefore, the free spa entrance we offered you and your husband, was not according to your complaints about food, but it was as a standard procedure for our honeymooners guests.
Regarding your comment about the bed , we would like to inform you that most of our rooms have 2 single beds, and when we have a request for a double bed, we place an extra thick mattress on top, and we transform the two bed into 1 large double bed ˙but unfortunately we were not informed about this request either.
Further, according to the “food poisoning” that you mentioned in your critique, we would like to inform you that more than 600 people ate dinner that day in our restaurant, including your husband , and no one complained about any problems. Thus, we believe that either you have been infected by a virus or something else you ate outside the hotel caused you a stomach problem .
For any further information you may require we always remain at your disposal.

Kind regards,

Sofia Kapaki
General Manager
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

All in all, it is a good hotel and we had a lovely relaxing holiday. Personel is friendly and the location is good: right on the beach and close to a Chania and other places of interest. Food was tasty but not varied.

However, you have to pay some things extra: sunbeds, deposit for beach towels (can be changed only twice a week), drinks at dinner (HB). Restaurant gets very busy, as it looks like they have buit an extra buiding but didn't expand the restaurant. On the beach the sunbeds (8euro for 2 sunbeds with an umbrella) are very close to each other, and people smoke right there. Did not have any problem with beds, as some people mention.

Animation was almost ABSENT. The biggest frustration of the stay. We hoped to see some shows in the evening, but they kept canselling them as "there are not enough people", and they didn't even bother to go around and invite people. Very disapponting.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slavia_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Hotel was very good overall. Exceptionally clean with several pools to choose from including an Adults only pool, however a lot of the area around this pool was in shade by around 4:00pm. Although there were signs about not leaving towels on beds this was still widely done without any issue from the hotel. Having a private beach across the road was also good, although the beds were chargeable (8 euros for 2 beds plus a parasol). Staff were very friendly and the service was excellent. Pool towels were available with a deposit altough quite small and thin. On the downside there were very few Brits at the Hotel as it is a mainly Scandinavian resort. There was only 1 bar for the all inclusive which was a bit restrictive and the cocktails were poor. In order to get a reasonable strength drink you need to ask the bar staff to hold back on the ice and give you a double measure which they were quite happy to do. The evening entertainment was also not very good. Maybe it's better during high season? The only other complaint we had was that there was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. Generally the food was very good with a wide selection. Overall I would still recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Disappointing that there are no tea or coffee makinf facilities in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Co-op Travel
2  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

What can I say. From start to finish I could not fault the resort and staff. I requested a room upgrade and what a room I got... Over looking the beach and a fabulous corner room (room 301) with a balcony.
The SPA is out of this world. Maria was fantastic. We used the SPA on our last day and it was the perfect finish to a great week.
I could not fault the food and Katarina in the restaurant was outstanding.
To name but a few of the staff that made my holiday the best.
Yiannas - Check in
Evegina, Yiannas, Katarina and Anastasia and Alex
If you want a great holiday with great food and nothing a problem this is the place to stay.
Thank you Porto Plantanias for a wonderful stay

Room Tip: Room 301 has the best views and is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The quality of service at this resort is excellent. Staff are friendly without being overly familiar, very helpful indeed going out of their way to serve guests, and genuinely interested in guests welfare. My room was functional but well maintained and clean. A good experience.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank PARollinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a nice hotel with kindly staff. The activities and the leaders of the activities are great, such as stretching, dart, volleyball :-) The cleaning of the room was not the best, i wonder if they wash the floor? Again if it werent for the dart and stretching i would be bored.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexandra19990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
1.6 mi away
CHC Galini Sea View
CHC Galini Sea View
#7 of 31 in Agia Marina
869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Dome Hotel
Blue Dome Hotel
#4 of 68 in Platanias
181 reviews
2.9 mi away
Asterion Hotel Suites and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Indigo Mare
Indigo Mare
#21 of 68 in Platanias
246 reviews
84.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,186 reviews
0.8 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort
Minoa Palace Resort
#1 of 68 in Platanias
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa

Address: The Beach Front, Platanias, Crete 730 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
#7 Luxury Hotel in Platanias
Price Range: $107 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Platanias Beach Hotel Platanias
Porto Beach
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing