We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not five star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Platanias
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Impressive reception area and nice pools but that's where it stopped. Our room had no natural light and an underground terrace. We asked to be moved on 3 occasions but were told the hotel was fully booked, we wrote a letter to the manager also and this was ignored. We were all inclusive but all inclusive here did not include sunbeds on the beach which were crammed in and there was an additional charge of 4 euros per day, fresh juice at breakfast which was available one morning a week for an additional charge. The food was just about passable, the house wines were not. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DKR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (971)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 971 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We checked in very late. The following morning realised that the patio area was underground. There are rooms built over the patio, we couldn't work out why we had slept so late until we realised that room recieved no natural daylight. Lights had to be on the whole time you were in the room. 3 times requested to be moved. 3 times we were ignored. Wrote a letter to the hotel manager listing our concerns and we are still awaiting for a response! We were never told of a restricted view by the travel company. Food was 3 star at best. Supplement of €3 for fresh orange juice at breakfast or orange squash? That is not service for a 5 star hotel. Limited selection. We have stayed at various 5 star hotels in Rhodes and Cyprus and the accommadation and food have been superb. It seems Crete has its own star system.
Positives were the staff who were excellent, friendly and very helpful for everything else. Its a shame that the rating system is so artifical. Avoid rooms 121-127, unless you like staying in a dungeon or living like a mushroom.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just spent a week at the hotel, firstly I requested a room with a nice view, even e-mailed guest relations, we were in room 135 ground floor with no view!!! just a high building! room was clean and bathroom was lovely though.
Don't bother AI it only applies to 1 bar and after a couple of days, as its all local stuff we couldn't manage or tolerate it any more, beer hit and miss, forget the red or rose wine, dreadfull, Food again 1 restaurant and although pleasant it was a bit bland all the time. We ate out a few times. Staff were all very pleasant, pools kept clean, but we struggled with getting a sunlounger on a afternoon, Don't bother sun loungers on beach @ €8, walk along for about 5 mins till you come across the most luxury sun-beds you will ever see and only €6, so comfortable and well worth using the taverna there, superb.
I compared it with Coral Beach Hotel here in Cyprus now AI there you get branded drinks, champagne etc, you can eat in A la carte restaurant, truly a 5*
Place is full of Scandanavians in Lycra!

Room Tip: If you like to spend time on your balcony, maybe pay for a upgraded room, sea-view rooms would be be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

they claim they are a 5 stars hotel but it's not true the price are not nither a 5 star so if you find it the same as 4 stars prices is because they also know that I suppose
the food is ok we started to get half pension but later on we found out a 15 euro extra per person is worthed to upgrade to all inclusive because if you don't then you ll be thirsty all day and a drink cost 7 euro the half pension does not include drinks so you have to pay 5 euro for a beer and plus coffee then you are up to 10 euro so pay 5 euro extra so you get lunch and snack and drinks all day

if you are depending on Internet so forget it they wireless sucks speed is less than modem and you get cut off constantly this is a disaster for a 5 star I give 1 star for wireless
all inc I give 2 to 3 stars because the drinks are bad or no brand don't expect Smirnoff or Chevas the coke is nither a coca cola or Pepsi

the food is 3 to 4 stars same food and lots of cheaps

the personal and entertainment was great

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We had one week at the Porto Platanias in late August and we had a brilliant time. The staff were very helpful and friendly in all places, they had big smiles and made every effort to make our holiday one we could remember in a very positive way. The pools were clean and very inviting, we mainly stayed around the Atlantis bar area as we had all inclusive and this is the bar that serves the fre edrinks for that tariff. The one thing that was annoying was that people would put towels down on the deck chairs in the early morning and "reserve" these until they turned up, sometimes after lunch. Therefore, we found ourselves doing the same on the way to breakfast (9:30-10:00) but then after breakfast we would go straight to the chairs.

The rooms were clean, and the cleaning staff prompt and polite. The breakfast was good, lots of fresh fruit. Juice was watered down so this not great, but all else was very good. The spa was excellent and so were the staff, and you have to try the experience shower, just for the the experience.

We did the Samaria Gorge walk which was well organised and good to do. The food at the resort had a wide variety (lamb, chicken, turkey, beef, plenty of fish, pork), many salads and vegetables, pasta, and lots of desserts. The chief of the kitchen was constantly checking on the restaurant and the staff were very well trained. We always were taken to a lovely table, mostly with a view of the beach and the waves, and the sunsets were incredible.

One disappointing thing was that the beach had the red flag up most days so swimming was not allowed, although on our last day it was dead flat! As we grew up in Australia we are used to waves, so the times we did go in we had fun. The beach is a bit rocky, although sandy parts are near the hotel. Plenty of night life close by, there was a good "oldies" band playing at the hotel one night but had good variety from the 80s and 90s.

Our kids are 14 and 12, and this was good for them. We wouldn't consider this a singles hotel at all, excellent for families with kids of different ages. There weren't meny Brits there, mostly Sacnadanavians. They are excellent drinkers we found, some start very early.

We would absolutely recommend this resort highly and we thought it was good value.

Room Tip: Get one close to the beach so you can sleep with door open and listen to the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We just come back last nigh from our 1 week holiday, already missing the place! Many nice pools, beach was front of the resort! Rooms were clean, there were two satelite-tv in our two room appartment, free wifi, fridge, nice balcony with view to pool and sea! Frendly staff and mini-disco, witch our doughter was loving every night! WE WILL BE BACK! :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Excellent hotel, we stopped for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon and the mgt put a bottle of bubbly, fruit, voucher for the spa etc in our room even though we booked on a last minute booking. Very clean and staff are just the right level of friendly and helpful. Right on the beach front. Hotel was quiet enough on the entertainment side but we enjoyed the chilled out atmosphere, plenty of places nearby if you want some more entertainment.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank butm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
81.3 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Blue Dome Hotel
Blue Dome Hotel
#4 of 68 in Platanias
182 reviews
84.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#5 of 184 in Hersonissos
3,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oscar Suites & Village
Oscar Suites & Village
#3 of 31 in Agia Marina
436 reviews
37 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
2,345 reviews
0.8 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort
Minoa Palace Resort
#1 of 68 in Platanias
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa

Address: The Beach Front, Platanias, Crete 730 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
#7 Luxury Hotel in Platanias
Price Range: $109 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Platanias Beach Hotel Platanias
Porto Beach
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing