We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Menia.”
Review of Menia Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Menia Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Menia.”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The beach was disapointing. The staff was ok. We are not that happy with the cleaning, the table and chairs outside had to be washed before use and the floor felt like it had not been cleand for weeks..

We had som bad experience with the poolbar/restaurant and therfor we did not go back to eat.

The pool is great, the sunbeds are ok , but all in all we are not coming back to this hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carntsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    96
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
120
73
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paphos, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at Menia for 5 days. The location of the hotel was central. Generally the hotel was clean and the staff were friendly. The beach in front of the hotel was very disappointing compared to the other beaches along the same side of the hotel. I found it unacceptable that there is a charge for the use of umbrellas and sunbeds for hotel residents whereas on the other beaches in Platanias there is absolutely no charge even if you are not a resident.
I had telephoned the manager the previous day we arrived to ask whether beach towels were given and he said yes. However on arrival, we found out that although beach towels are given...he conveniently omitted to tell me that there is a charge for their use.
Hotel is good as a base to visit other areas.
Chania is beautiful, I wouldn't stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madeleine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Back from Menia after one week with my children. We had a lovely time together. it is clean and friendly staff and the food is very good. We are definately going back there sometime. The Hotell have all you need, and it is the right place to go for relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Nice place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We just got back after a lovely week staying at Menia Hotel, very clean, very friendly staff always happy to help, lovely location, really miss it already, would go back there definately. 10/10 MENIA!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platanias, Greece
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2012

just camehome after one week in menia hotell. we had a great holiday me and my two sisters.
cleen hotell, good food, really nice and frendly people working there.
i will go back next year i think :) already miss menia and the lovely people there!!

Room Tip: room partly under ground is perfect if you like littlecolder room. our room was just 6 stairs steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen_moazzem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gjøvik, Oppland, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Clean, good service and has all you need. Friendly staff. For a relaxing holiday. Good restaurant.

Room Tip: Ses view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STNarten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We just arrived from our holiday in Menia. Two lovely weeks with a cosy atmosphere and really friendly staff - we'll be back, no doubt! :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trine_helene_hansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
0.2 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Blue Dome Hotel
Blue Dome Hotel
#8 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Indigo Mare
Indigo Mare
#18 of 69 in Platanias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oscar Suites & Village
Oscar Suites & Village
#3 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marika
Hotel Marika
#16 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Village Hotel
Sunrise Village Hotel
#4 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menia Beach Hotel

Property: Menia Beach Hotel
Address: Platanias, Platanias, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Menia Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Menia Beach hotel is environmentally friendly, was built right next to a beach and designed to offer ultimate pleasure and recreation with our customers to live and feel Cretan hospitality on the lovely sun kissed island of Crete. It is located in one of the most cosmopolitan regions of Crete, Platanias, only 10 km west of Chania and 25 km away from the Chania International Airport. The hotel is well-positioned for exploring the surrounding area, having a convenient location ensures quick and easy access to many shops, restaurants, coffee shops, night clubs and water sports facilities which can be found at a walking distances. Most of the hotel rooms are facing to the north ,enjoy panoramic views of the endless golden beach of Platanias with the shimmering sapphire blue Aegean beyond, while some other studios and apartments feature a pools, mountain or garden view from their balcony or terrace. The hotel is far from the traffic street, and inside the hotel there are elegantly designed garden with flowers, shrubs and citrus trees. Wired internet PCs and printer is available in internet corner at reception and is free of charge. Wi-Fi is available in all areas of the hotel and in rooms and is also for free. Hotel parking is free and safe. The opening period of the hotel is from 21/04/2017 till 20/10/2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Menia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menia Beach Hotel Platanias, Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing