We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice atmosphere, tasty food & good service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Drosia

Restaurant Drosia
Ranked #13 of 127 Restaurants in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, tasty food & good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

As the other writers have written, this is the restaurant where you always feel you’re welcome. The staff is particularly friendly, nice garden makes atmosphere even nicer, and because you’re definitely able to eat very nice and tasty Cretan food there, these are all good reasons why everybody should visit Restaurant Drosia. Ask staff for recommendations if you are not able to choose your top favourites from the wide menu.

I would definitely like to go back to Drosia in my next visit in Platanias and try some new tastes again. Thanks to everybody at Drosia for all funny moments!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaddeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    121
    37
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely food and the staff has a great sense of humour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Excellent stifado, good selection of wines and many good laughs with the nice dedicated staff. Also a charming garden environment.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Helena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
169 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“We had all our meals Taverna "Drosia"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This has never happened to me before. We had all our dinners for a week at Drosia. Owned by Diktatis Antonis & Filio and with a superb staff they gave us and other clients a 5 star service.
The menu includes the staple Greek and Cretean dishes, an ample winelist were I can recommend the housewine produced by Mr. Diktatis himself, not forgetting his Raki or Limoncello. According to my wife the Peppersteak she had one evening was the best one she ever tasted. We also had some of the best, juiciest oranges we ever tasted coming fro Mr. Dictatis own estate. The Taverna Drosia is a family restaurant with adjacent playground for children situated on a sideroad opposite the chinese restaurant China Palace on the main road through Platanias.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansund, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummie!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very good food and good service :) And the staff was great! I am really looking forward to come back in september 2013,to good food,happy faces and raki ;)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent cretan food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were on holiday in Platanias in June and ate at Drosia several times. Tried also couple of other restaurants but they couldn't beat this one!
Drosia serves excellent cretan food with reasonable prizes and portions are good in size. Interesting menu and lots to choose from. We tried different dishes and all of them were so, so tasty. Try e.g. cretan salad (remember to add some excellent olive oil and vinegar), fried mix, rabbit etc.
Very friendly staff and nice atmosphere, nice blooming trees in the garden too. After the bill, also complimentary fresh fruit and raki was offered to us - very nice gesture! Never had such a sweet and tasty water melon as had in Platanias!
I definately recommend Drosia restaurant and will return!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Phantom30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Drosia also viewed

Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Restaurant Drosia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing