We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Lodge”
Review of Summer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Summer Lodge
Ranked #5 of 16 Platanias B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had a very peaceful stay at the Summer Lodge and it was a good base to explore this part of the Island. As we were visiting relatives it also allowed us to escape from them for a while. We would definitely go back to this hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zed-Brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerLodge, Public Relations Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for staying at the Summer Lodge on your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to know that your overall experience from your stay at our house was an enjoyable one. Once again, thank you for your kind words and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to our house in the very near future.
With warmest regards from sunny Crete,
Vassilis & family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 89 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

We've spent two weeks at Summer Lodge and really had a great time there. The staff, which consist of family members only, is very friendly and helpful. They have given us the feeling of being welcome guests, provided us valuable tipps and, last but not least, a bottle of home made red wine. We were even invited to join a beach party which actually was for locals only.

Summer Lodge is a great opportunity, no matter if you're traveling as single, couple or family.

The room was big, had a closet, a fridge, a bathroom with shower and a balcony with a nice view. It's been cleaned 3-4 times a week which is enough I think. The room did NOT contain a/c but a fan instead which worked good enough for us. There's also free parking for hotel guests and it's just a few minutes walk to the beach, supermarket or numerous taverns. Apart from that the location is really quiet and you won't find much tourists around the hotel, however, if you prefer to have nightlife, souvenir shops and all that tourist stuff you just need to drive about 5 minutes to Platanias where it's loud and crowded. Ah, not to forget that the transport connections, no matter if you have a car or prefer to go around by bus, are excellent.

We'd really recommend Summer Lodge and surely will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Torsten1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for staying at Summer Lodge during your visit to Crete.
We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay in our house and that the comfort of your room, the surroundings with our garden & swimming pool and friendliness of our family members & staff lead you to share your kind comments and recommendation. Once again thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our house and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
With warmest regards from sunny Crete,
Vassilis & family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The Summer Lodge was the best choice for us. It is very close to Chania, and to some beautiful beaches: Falasarna, Balos and Elafonisi. The family is also very friendly and helpful. Summer Lodge has a beautiful romantic garden with pool. The apartment, the pool and the garden is clean and well maintained. I can recommend it for everyone.

Room Tip: there is no bad room. just book a room in Summer Lodge and you'll love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Agnes K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for staying at Summer Lodge during your visit to Crete.
We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay in our house and that the comfort of your room, the surroundings with our garden & swimming pool and friendliness of our family members & staff lead you to share your kind comments and recommendation. Once again thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our house and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
With warmest regards from sunny Crete,
Vassilis & family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Quite accommodation in a beautiful and very green place. 20 minutes west of Chania. Great Pool, very well breakfast outdoors under overgrown pergola. 5 minutes to the beach. Village, tavernas and supermarkets within walking distance. Popular destinations not far away / easy to go from there. Very hospitable, open-minded, multilingual owner.

Room Tip: all rooms quiete and nice. Furnished in Cretan style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank panselinos1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for choosing to stay at our house whilst visiting Greece and for taking the time to share your valuable comments about our holiday lodge. We are delighted that you enjoyed our place and that you found our family members & staff courteous and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back to our house in the very near future.
With warmest regards from sunny Crete,
Vassilis & family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We've stayed for one night only, but liked it a lot. The owner was very friendly, and rooms authentic with such stone beds and balkonies. Not close to the beach. Surrounded by smaller resort villages.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rusne_Nauj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for staying at our vacation lodging during your holidays on Crete and for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that your overall experience from your stay with us was an enjoyable one. Once again, thank you for your kind words and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to Summer Lodge in the very near future.
With warmest regards from sunny Crete,
Vassilis & family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This place is fantastic I went for a couple of nights as part of an intended tour too good to leave still there 5 days later. Quiet charming place where you feel part of the family.I have been back twice and going again this year .

Rooms clean and comfortable and breakfast good value at 4 euros for as much delicious bread,ham cheesejuice and coffee as you could want. Lovely family offer warm welcome and become friends.

Try out the Black Cat inespensive down- to- earth food and delicious cake at bakery.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank clunkEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Summer Lodge whilst travelling to Crete. We are pleased to hear that you found our accommodation to be welcoming and the rest of our facilities enjoyable. We thank you for your kind comments and look forward to seeing you back to our house on your next visit to Greece.
With warmest regards from sunny Crete,
Vassilis & family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We have been staying at Summer Lodge for many years now. It is run by a lovely family who take excellent care of their guests. Room rates are very reasonable and the rooms are bright and comfortable. Lots of information is available from Vassilis over breakfast in the garden patio area. He is a mine of information about places to visit, ways to get there, local festivals, etc. Many of his guests have been staying there for years - we know of one who is in their 25th year at least!! Summer Lodge has a fantastic pool surrounded by one of the prettiest gardens we have ever seen and it's a great place to chill out after a hard day's sightseeing. There are great places to eat within walking distance - notably the wonderful family restauarant The Albatross, and the fantastic Black Lantern. It is really easy to get anywhere from Summer Lodge as they are on a bus route so you can get to Chania and even Elafonisi with no trouble at all, even if you don't have a car. There is parking out front if you drive. Highly recommended - just go and try for yourself.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. None of them face the road and you don't notice the traffic. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank moussaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Summer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for staying at the Summer Lodge on your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to know that your overall experience from your stay at our house was an enjoyable one. Once again, thank you for your kind words and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to our house in the very near future.
With warmest regards from sunny Crete,
Vassilis & family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
0.4 mi away
Asterion Hotel Suites and Spa
0.3 mi away
Ledra Maleme
Ledra Maleme
#3 of 15 in Maleme
252 reviews
7.0 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Indigo Mare
Indigo Mare
#21 of 68 in Platanias
246 reviews
3.2 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#3 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Lodge

Address: Pirgos Psilonerou | Chania, Crete, Platanias, Crete 730 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Platanias
Price Range: $33 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Summer Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run vacation lodging, ideal for relaxing & budget holidays by the beach in western Crete. The luxury of paying less on accommodation and spending more on fun !!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Summer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Lodge Platanias, Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing