We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right on the beach!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kyano Beach Restaurant

Kyano Beach Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 127 Restaurants in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated at Platanias Beach, with a 15year history, serving pure Cretan and Mediterranean cuisine.The restaurant is seasonal, opening from the beginning of May till the end of season.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Right on the beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This restaurant in situated right on the beach. You can here the sea as you eat. The service was good. Our waiter recommended the seafood platter for two. I don't usually order seafood over meat but had my arm twisted by my partner. When the food arrived I was not disappointed, the dish included grilled octopus, sea bream, shrimps, calamari, squid, sardines and mussels. Having never tried octopus before I was a little bit apprehensive. I was pleasantly surprised with how meaty it tasted, not what I had expected. We ate quite late and it was a bit cold towards the end but that was our fault for under dressing. Maybe wearing trousers and a long sleeved shirt would be a good idea if going later in the evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 146tomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    161
    41
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leikanger, Norway
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The most wonderful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We returned four times to have dinner at Kyano Beach Restaturant. Most of all because of the very friendly and personal service and the stunning location on the beach. But also because of the food. Among our favorites were Moussaka, Veal Stifado and Lamb cooked in a wood oven. Together with an icecold Retsina. Perfect! We could sit here for ours--even after our grownup daughters had left to visit the bars in the center. We wish all the best for this litte gem of a restaurant and its wonderful staff. Too many people tend to choose restaurants at the center of Platanias, but the staff at Kyano will make it worthwhile that you walk the extra half kilometer to enjoy an evening at this spot. And then you can wade through the waves on you way back to the hotel. Very romantic.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kristinnorway_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food and service. It seems impossible to miss if you order greek food here. Very pleasent location at the beach.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
357 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Best Beach and Restaurant in Platanias”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Although we went on a windy day but the place is fantastic , welcoming staff, good food, (Octopus, Mushrooms or Dako) .great service , dessert everything is good ....we moved finally to the sea side just 10 meters away with its great sandy Beach and enjoyed the water while having a delicious Greek café Frappe.....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrTBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Went back and had a better experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife and I went back to Kyano and we had another good experience. However, this time I had the lamb (it was the daily special) and my wife had gyros. It was very good! The lamb was very well prepared and the gyros were perfect, not too dry as in other places. And again, the service was impeccable! The evening was a little bit cold and the staff offered us a blanket, which was very nice. Being Canadians, we of course declined! This was the best culinary experience we had in Platanias.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sgivigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyano Beach Restaurant also viewed

Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Kyano Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing