We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Platanias
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Summertime Boutique Hotel & Spa
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok but not excellent”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed there two weeks on August 2012. Hotel looked good outside and also the pool area were really nice. Rooms were spacious but the walls were made from paper. We woke up every morning about 7 am. because the cleaning ladies was screaming outside our room. Tried to told them to be quiet but unfortunately that didn´t help. Also you could hear when other guest came to the hotel at night.

Cleaning at the room were poor for being 4 star hotel. We had some little bugs in our kitchen and had to wash our dishes by ourselves.
Staff at the spa was really kind. Also staff at the bar was nice but when the date of departure came the service also ended immediately. So it left quite bad taste.

Basic hotel, great location but not more than 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanssija83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummertimeBHS, General Manager at Summertime Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. Your feedback is much appreciated.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the facilities, as well as the service of the bar and spa staff.

We regret and sincerely apologize for any trouble potentially caused to you. However, please have in mind that our cleaning crew starts work at 07:30 in the morning, but start cleaning the rooms only after 10:00am. Overall, we would love to have had the opportunity to discuss with you in person regarding your experience prior to your departure, so that we find out exactly what happened to take care of the situation right away. We would appreciate it if you sent your booking details to: summertime@chania-cci.gr and assure you that we have taken your complaint into serious consideration.

Our aim here at Summertime Boutique Hotel and Spa, is looking after you, as our guest, and providing you with the best service experience. We would like to welcome you back to Chania on your next visit.

Thank you for your review as it helps us to continually improve our level of service.

With appreciation,
On behalf of the management team,
Stefanos Zoidakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    26
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
18
63
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

On the plusside:
Very nice, modern decorated. Close to everything in Platanias. Staff eager to please. Big bathroom and room in general. Clean. Hammock outside, nice and extra plus. Childrens seperated pool and free swimming mattresses.

On the not so good side:
Everytime one of the neigbourrooms flushed their toilet it was very noisy in our room, I didnt get much sleep throughout the night. It's sad but true that such a small thing can destroy your sleep and bring down your overall feeling for the hotel. Sleepcomfort is essential and neither hammock or big room could make up for little sleep. The breakfast had to be ordered at the bar and could have been been better priced for the guests. Almost £10 per person felt a bit too pricy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I want to thank Hotel Summertime, for the most relaxed week, ever! Beatyfull room whit the sunset, safe envioment, and a very nice staff.I have never returend from a vacation whit so much piece ind my mind.Fantakic service from the staff.The beds and room service were 1 class.My special thanks to George and his staff, you were always kind and open to any quistions i had.
I will give Summertime 5 stars....5 is to George ! 5 to Summertime, but 10 is not allowed.I have been to Platanias many times, next year, Marroco.But the week in paradise, will me think twise.
Thank you, to George and the exelent owner off this fine hotel.Janni Mahler, Denmark

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jannibetinamahler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronnoysund, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just came from a 7 days stay at Summertime. Good impresion from the arrival . Came to the hotel at night and we were showed to the room by a friendly night receptionist. Had a very good rom ( nr 300) with a sea view ,nice terrace and very quiet and private. The hotel was spotlesly clean, had a good lay-out , the pool area was good and the pool -bar also. Tried the spa and had a good experience with massage, pedicur and manicur.
Platanias was not to my liking, too much "plastic" but Summertime did act as an "oasis" with a calm atmoshere. Took the local bus to Chania, just 1.90 euro and 15 minutes away with a lot of restaurants and shops and sharming venetian streets and harbor. Much better choise than eating out in Platanias.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bullebusken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two weeks, and had a very pleasent stay. The hotel it self is modern and nice, but what really made this a great stay was George, the bar manager. He'll do all in his power to make your stay at this nice place even better. We will also use this opportunity to thank both Oma (bar assistant) and the security guard for their contribution to our fantastic vacation. Food and drinks from the bar are highly recommended.

We did as well rent a car, driving in Greece is probably nothing we'll recommend, and unfortunately it did not help that we got the feeling one of the employees in the car rental (still in the same hotel) seemed to search/investigate hard to find something negative to point out on the car when delivered (rented cars several times before, never experienced this kind of behaviour).

The ladies in the Spa may seem a bit grumpy, but Spa you can find a lot of other places (car rental as well, available on every corner).

Thank you Summertime for modern, nice and clean rooms.
THANK YOU GEORGE for your hospitality, greek food, late nights and awesome drinks. See you next year!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummertimeBHS, General Manager at Summertime Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your experience during your stay.
We appreciate that you found our hotel modern, nice and clean.

I apologize for your uneasiness upon delivery of the car. A thorough check before, as well as after the rental together with the client is a standard procedure and it is not deliberated to make one uncomfortable.

We regret that we had not had the opportunity to service you in our Spa. I apologize if our professional staff came across as grumpy- but I am certain that should we had the chance to serve you, you would have a complete different opinion.
We are a highly qualified and widely acknowledged hotel spa, recommended by many travel agencies, and therefore the quality is something that cannot be compared by neighboring spas.Please feel free to contact me directly if you are travelling to Crete again so that I may personally take care of you on your next stay.

I am pleased to hear that overall you had a memorable stay, and a great experience with several staff members of the hotel. We hope that on your next visit, it will be even more exceptional.

We thank you for choosing Summertime Boutique Hotel & Spa, and hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,

General Manager
Mr. Zoidakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Just returned from a 12-days stay at the Summertime Boutique Hotel. As we arrived the receptionist was very welcoming as so the Bar Manager, George. We where greeted with 2 cold drinks, which was nice after the flight and the taxi drive. The rooms are new, modern and cleaned on a daily basis. The hotel is located in the middle of Platanias, and very close to the beach. A big thanks to the whole staff at the hotel - from the cleaning ladies, to the receptionist, the bar manager and his employees. I really have nothing bad to say. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed at Summertime in June, and although the hotel is beautiful, we did have a slight problem with the manager, Georgio. He was like a babysitter, always watching our every move. It was annoying, and made us not want to eat or drink at the hotel bar at night.

The rooms were spacious, but had a distinct smell coming from the bathroom. The bathroom door was also a problem. Do not share a room unless you know your partner inside and out.

Our porch was made out of glass, and the fact that the cleaning staff spent more time polishing it, than they did cleaning the rest of the room says it all.

Apart from these small complaints, we really did enjoy our stay at Summertime. The location was superb, as was the pool area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummertimeBHS, General Manager at Summertime Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Madame,

Thank you for pointing out the positives you experienced regarding our great location in the heart of Platanias, the spacious rooms and the great pool area.

Please accept my apologies regarding the housekeeping issues that you encountered during your stay . I certainly would have loved to be notified of these issues so as to make sure they were immediately handled upon.

As regards the general style and decoration of the hotel, we have chosen a minimal approach , therefore glass and stainless steel are materials that match the image we wanted to create.
I am sorry if that was not appealing to you, however you must agree that beauty can be perceived differently by different individuals.

As regards Mr. Giorgos, it seems that you have mistaken him to something other than what he is, and that is the barkeeper! Mr. Giorgos has specific duties related to the bar management and he is not part of the management team.

I am sorry you misinterpreted his personnal interest as somehow pressing, yet again, I would love to have had the opportunity to talk with you in regards to all this , especially when I am present every day the whole day, as complete satisfaction is our goal here at Summertime Boutique Hotel and Spa.

Either way, we appreciate your feedback, and hope to see you again in Chania some
time in the future. Your feedback is important to us, so as to improve our services.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance, at
summertime@chania-cci.gr.

Warm Regards,
The General Manager,
Mr. Stefanos Zoidakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Platanias hotels
0.5 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Indigo Mare
Indigo Mare
#18 of 69 in Platanias
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Dome Hotel
Blue Dome Hotel
#7 of 69 in Platanias
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marika
Hotel Marika
#14 of 69 in Platanias
187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Geraniotis Beach Hotel
Geraniotis Beach Hotel
#26 of 69 in Platanias
162 reviews
0.7 mi away
Menia Beach Hotel
Menia Beach Hotel
#9 of 69 in Platanias
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summertime Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summertime Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Summertime Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: Main Road Platanias, Platanias, Crete 731 10, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Platanias
Hotel Class:4 star — Summertime Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Summertime Boutique Hotel & Spa Platanias, Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing