We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High up in the sky!”
Review of Cosmos

Cosmos
Ranked #3 of 131 Restaurants in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $56
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Cosmos is the highest restauant in the area of Platanias, and from year 2002, serves suberb dinner to all foodies who are looking for perfection. Relax and chill over the multi-colour view of Chania under lounge music supported with our creative / simple menu of Mediterranean tastes, and a 300 labels cava of wines, whiskys , eau de vie , dessert wines, vintage Vodkas, Rums ect. Βaby wagons/trolleys are not allowed in the restaurant area during dinner time unless there is a kinetic problem, persons with special needs or kids with DOWN syndrome, and sadly is difficult to accommodate children under the age of 6. Have in mind that restaurant does not have children's playground and children's responsibility and behaviour remains with the accompanied adults. Trying to keep our food quality in high standards our menu is quiet compressed, with 10 main courses and 7 appetizers, so we do not serve menus for allergic and vegetarians. We do not have dress code but we recommend smart casual. No running / beach clothes or sport shorts please if possible. Telephone line is open from Monday to Sunday from 11:00-17:55 (28210-68558) Opening days: Monday to Sunday Service Hours: 18:30 - 23:30 dinner only
Horten, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“High up in the sky!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Fantastic food and view from the top floor outdoor seating. The service was utmost professional and the food was greek inspired. Our meal was cooked to perfection. Prices are high. 86€ for 2 starters,2 main and 2 gin/tonics.

Recommend that tables are ordered in advance. Ask the hotell you stay in to order it for you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cebbe58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cosmos, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
dear friend...

thank you for your time

next time if you want you can go for the combo menu that includes salad , steak for two , side of otatoes and soya sauce with 39 euros

if you come back , ask for me so i can sere you personaly in my private table

:)
Cosmos general manager
Δημητρης Πρωiμακης
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    151
    50
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food- bad service”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant is placed om the highest point in Platanias. The view is magnificent. We arrived at 8 PM, just in time for the sunset.

By the looks of the restaurant this was a "high end" place. The quality og the food was good, but the service was not so. It took one hour from we ordered untill we got our food. During this time we did not get any attention from the vaitors. When we complained about the delay, the vaitors brought the adults an extra bottle of wine, but forgot the two kids at our table. The communication from the vaitors were bad throughout the entire meal. Leaving us unessecarily dissapointed when we left, eventhough the food was good.

Although we understand that this restaurant is targeting adults, we still felt it unsettling that the menu especially stated that the adults were responsible for the childrens behaviour. That combined with the treatment we got from the staff made us feel unwelcomed, as we were a company of four adults, one toddler and two 11 year old boys.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Monica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIMPChania, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cosmos, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear lady...thank you for your reivew...

I am so sorry we didn't meet your expectations. Our main target in Cosmos is everybody to leave sutisfied and pleased. But i think i have to answer to some things that you are writing.

At First...We are a slow restaurant. We are not a fast food. We like to serve slow and gentle. No one is permited to run in the restaurant . I do not know to what restaurant are you used to but in Cosmos is little different.The same counts for the guests. Our restaurant is not a restaurant of running and rushing.It is a restaurant for chilling and relax and i am getting paid to keep it like this, and i will NOT change it no matter what people either like or no like it.

It is really surprise me thought that we let you have your babywagon in the restaurant at the time that babywagons are not allowded.It is a Policy for Cosmos no babywagon allowed to enter.But you get your baby wagon to your table . And i ask you now.... Do we look like a restaurant of babywagons? Can you imagine what happens if the floor will full with baby wagons? Why don't you write down that you asked for a baby chair...we gave you a baby chair....you didn't use it at all... and you spend your dinner time with a no used baby chair....a no used babywagon next to you ...and a kid in your hug. Trying to blame us for the kids reputation (that you felt uncomfortable ect) this is my answer as a floor manager. We are responsible only for what we say and not for what you understand. Of course and you are responsible for you child. Who is responsible?Me?Or the waiters?Acceppting a restaurant for dinner means automaticly that you accept the whole concept that is working and you do not look for excuses like...''i felt uncomfortable for what they write in the menu..." ect. Hidden cameras of the restaurant shows that around you where 3 more families...Why didn't they feel uncomfortable and you felt uncomfortable? That means that propably you had the problem and not the restaurant.

About the timing you are totally right. Cameras shows that It took exactly 1 hour to get your food. I really apologize and i will do my best to fix the problem of our timing.But generally i think it happens all around the World to restaurants that are really busy to late at sevrice...That's why actually we have appetizers. Customers order some appetizers to start with , as waiting for their course.

Thank you for the visit once more...but trying to protect my job i can not be less honest and specific so that everybody will understand how difficult is to run a bussines of 24 tables , in the middle of nowhere. From last year Cosmos is up 35% at the time other restaurant are half working. All waiters in their stand trying to give hi quality services and me ..walking 180 days of the summer... for 6 hours every day ...spectating all tables with patient and smile. Thats how we work...and that is how we will continou work no matter what......You have a fantastic family , a fantastic country and all Norwegians are fantastic people. In Cosmos we all look forward to serve you again : )

Hidden cameras shows that you had a perfect and smily serice.

The only problem was your service time



With honor
Cosmos General Manager
Dimitris Proimakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“High on our list in more ways than one.”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Dined here on on the last night of our holiday and was a fab experience to end on. Great setting great food and great service. Salmon starter recommended & chicken cosmos really tasty. With drinks & dessert it still didn't break the bank either.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurzdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cosmos, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
My friend...
:)

your review is a gift for us...

we treat our customers like our family...
:)
Cosmos general manager
Δημητρης Πρωiμακης
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good food and great view”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Very good service in a romantic and tranquil setting. We had the lamb which was amazing.............................

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cosmos, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
thANK YOU my friend!!!

Lamb is a really great dish for sure...

i am waiting for you again in the summer

:)
Cosmos general manager
Δημητρης Πρωiμακης
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“awesome experience”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Cosmos is a very happy place. We went to visit Cosmos because we saw it down on the main street of Platanias, and it seemed like a nice place to get som cocktails with a beautiful view... when we got up there it turned out to be a restaurant (might have been our mistake, but we thought it to be a cocktailbar)... The nice girl greeting us said we could just go in and take a look, and when we saw the view, we agreed to have dinner there...
The food was great, but the reason it gets the full monty of stars is because of the full experience. The staff were all very pro, and on our way out we were of course asked to drink a shot of the mandatory Raki. A question about the Raki turned into a long conversation with owner Dimitris, who ended up entertaining us for many hours and even hitting the clubs with us.
So if u have red this far, go to Cosmos and have a nice dinner with excellent service and fantastic view...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kafandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cosmos, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
thank you brother...

See you again next year

:)
Cosmos general manager
Δημητρης Πρωiμακης
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cosmos also viewed

Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Kolymbari, Platanias
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Cosmos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing