We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family Restaurant”
Review of Symposium

Symposium
Ranked #3 of 136 Restaurants in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Symposium Restaurant Symposium is the trademark of elegance and class in Platanias. Acclaimed in its collection of Greek and International dishes based on organic and free range and a best quality products for those who care about what they eat. Indoor and outdoor options Dinner A selection of Greek and International wines, spirits & cocktails Bookings essential Bookings essential
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Restaurant”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is an excellent family restaurant, modern in style but still with the distinct Cretan flavours, Excellent service, with waiters efficient, friendly and professional. Whilst the owner is Danish, nevertheless the food is Greek but with a hint of other European countries on the menu to choose from. We did not have one bad meal out of the five we had there, each one different than the last. We noticed that children were especially well catered for and it was further noted that locals dined there to. Would advise to reserve or eat slightly earlier than 7.00pm or you will have to queue.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    790
    234
    60
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Probably the best along the main street”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Dining at Symposium was a memorable experience for all the right reasons. The food was tasty and well presented whether it was a traditional Greek dish or dishes with a Nordic influence.
Absolutely worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pseudo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
“Delicious food.”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Very delicious food.

I have eaten there on both of my vacation, the first was a week and the second was two weeks.
The first time I ate dinner there every day, it was really nice and would like to try a bit of everything on their lovely menu.
The next holiday, I was there many times, I had brought a friend to try their lovely salmon;-)
He also wanted to try more of their menu.
It is a really nice staff they have, you always feel welcome ...
Sometimes it is good to reserve your table, as there are many who know it's the best places to eat.

Can only say try it .....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebeltoft, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

A pleasant experience. The restaurant is owned by a danish girl, and they serve good food which equals the prices.
We were there 3 years ago and had excellent food, this time a little more average, but absolutely worth the money.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank carsten_lind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This restaurant has good food but no soul at all, think that one such exposed place would have more soul! The prices are not in line with what is delivered to the table! Maybe I'm wrong but that's how I understood it when I visited this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Conny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Symposium also viewed

Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Symposium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing