We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Italian food in Crete!”

Restaurant Zafferano
Ranked #14 of 128 Restaurants in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Restaurant Zafferano is the second Italian restaurant opened by the owners of the well-established Restaurant Kariatis in Chania. Beautiful, contemporary design offering both style and comfort, Zafferano opened in 2004 with a refreshingly different menu comprised of premier ingredients from both Crete and Italy. Every dish at Zafferano is prepared and cooked completely fresh to order, serving up a delicious selection of fresh pasta, risotto, fresh filleted fish and seafood specialities, vegetarian dishes and succulent fresh fillet steaks. Also for the third summer we continue to seduce sushi lovers with our sensational sushi bar. All this, together with the added indulgence of our delicate, gourmet desserts and a wine list featuring both excellent award-winning Greek wines and an extensive choice of great International wines from around the world - we invite you to fine dine in Zafferano for what promises to be, an evening of delicious indulgence!
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in Crete!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Incredible food, well presented and extremely helpful and friendly staff. Extensive menu and reasonably priced for the quality. Loved it and will go again and again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Niru84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    65
    25
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Platanias, Greece
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Don't be put off by the location of this restaurant. It's on the outskirts of the town next to the Minoa Palace hotel. Again, don't be put off by the car rental and supermarket at ground level. Trust me, I've eaten in a lot of so-called good Italian restaurants and this one is up there with the best. The staff are attentive without being overbearing, but it's all about the food for us.
My wife just fancied a pizza and she wasn't disappointed. Not the usual run of the mill pizza, but quality through and through. I had linguini with chicken and asparagus, which was just fantastic; not smothered in cream like some poorer imitations.

Word of warning though... they have a sister restaurant Kariatis in Chania, by the old harbour - give this a miss. The menu is the same, but the service is poor and you'll be waiting a long time for your food. My wife decided to have the linguini, because I raved about it so much, but it wasn't a patch on Zafferano; so poor that we sent it back! It just wasn't the quality that we were expecting having been to Zafferano. The setting of Kariatis is better, but we're in it for the food not just the location.

Go to Zafferano in Platanias, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyandTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel24, Owner at Restaurant Zafferano, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Despite truly appreciating this glowing review for our restaurant Zafferano and knowing how much influence and encouragement this gives to others to try our restaurant, we found the warning about our very well-established and very popular harbour restaurant, Kariatis really tainted what was shared and as the owner of both Zafferano and Kariatis I would like to reply to this gentleman's comments with the following response.

This particular couple arrived at our restaurant, were kindly greeted and seated and in due course once they had decided on their choice of dinner, their order was taken. They chose a very nice Greek Sauvignon Blanc and a bottle of sparkling water which was served to them promptly with proficiency and care. Their food order consisted of a shared starter of tuna carpaccio which was prepared efficiently fresh to order and served to their table. On finishing their starter their plates were collected and the table was reset with fresh clean cutlery for the main courses. They had ordered a medium rare fillet al gorgonzola and a linguine pollo parmesana. After several minutes into their main courses they called over the waiter who had taken their order and complained that they were dissatified with the linguine claiming it had very little chicken or asparagus compared with the very same dish they had enjoyed at our other restaurant Zafferano a few nights previously. Our staff at both our restaurants are trained altogether by the same person, my husband who is a self-taught chef and all portions at both restaurants are based on the same measured ingredients in each individual dish. It would non-sensical of us as owners of both establishments to do otherwise! Nevertheless, focusing on service and despite it being a busy time for the kitchen, the waiter immediately offered to arrange another plate of fresh linguine with extra chicken and extra asparagus, above and beyond what we normal serve, in order to placate the situation. The linguine dish took priority in the kitchen and was prepared fresh to order immediately and served within fifteen minutes of the dish being returned. Their response was that they didn’t want it anymore and they had already asked for the bill. I sent a message to gentleman who wrote this review asking why there was no mention of the other dishes they had enjoyed, why no mention of the replacement pasta dish that was knowlingly prepared for them only to be refused once it reached the table and why no mention of after serving up two plates of pasta (the second with extra ingredients) there was no charge placed on their bill. The gentleman never bothered to reply to my message.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We enjoyed this restaurant 2 or the last 3 nights in Platanias. The salads are luscious and large. The pasta and pizzas were incredible, especially the truffle ravioli and the chicken and chanterelles. The service was very friendly and prompt. The decor and atmosphere was casual chic. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TSAFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fab food!!! But....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We visited Zafferano in June whilst on holiday, the restaurant is stylish and the atmosphere was lovely and so was the service. My boyfriends pizza was the best he has ever had! And my pasta was delicious although the ratio of meat to pasta could have been better but the taste itself was outstanding. The homemade complimentary chocolates were orgasmic and we would have liked a whole bowl of them!

The only problem we had with this restaurant was the fact that when we received the bill there was a charge of 2.80€ for bread. We hadn't asked for this bread, it was just brought over and put on the table. In most restaurants in the area bread is complimentary and so we assumed this was the case here. We wouldn't have had bread out of choice. This is very cheeky and after a great dining experience we left feeling cheated. This somewhat soured our experience and would probably put us off dining here again. Such a shame.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dogpaw1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel24, Owner at Restaurant Zafferano, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you, we appreciate your review and are very pleased to read such enthusiastic comments about our food. With regards the charge for bread, we do state on the first page of our main menu…“We serve olives, extra-virgin cretan olive oil and a selection of fresh breads to your table at a charge of 1.40 per person. Please kindly inform the waiter if you prefer not to have this served to you.“ We are very sorry you didn’t see this comment – the very last thing we want is for any of our customers to feel “cheated” in any way. Please accept our apologies and had we known you were disgruntled we would have happily removed this charge from your bill. It is customary and standard practice in all restaurants and tavernas here in Greece for bread to be brought to the table and for customers to be charged an extra cost. This is not unique to Zafferano. We hope to be able to welcome you back to our restaurant next time you visit Crete with the lure of some more of our delicious wood-fired oven pizza and fresh Italian pasta and of course our homemade chocolate truffles that you adored so much! Our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claro, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best pizza ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I come from Ticino, the italian part of Switzerland and I've eaten a lot of Pizzas during my life... but I've never eaten a pizza as good as here to Zafferano Restaurant! And only for 11 Euros!

Great place, great atmosphere, great staff!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb123Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Zafferano also viewed

Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Restaurant Zafferano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing