We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Kantapi Taverna

Kantapi Taverna
Ranked #30 of 136 Restaurants in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

What a beautiful and lush setting for a restaurant! The tables are set out in a magical green garden of fruit-laden orange trees. From the branches hang lights, gourds, and scales/hooks (Kantari is an old Turkish name for scales). The florr is a hard-trodden mud floor and the fountain adds sound and colour to the night. Live candles on each table. The waiters are not the friendliest, but professional and efficient. The food is delicious, and their house red is good too. Try a Raki as an appetiser! Their bread rolls are fresh from the oven and I can highly recommend their "Giaourtloy"..a dish so fragrant and zesty and full of flavour, that my mouth is watering from the memory of the delicious pita smothered in a tangy tomato salsa, topped with spicy keftedes and pork and creamy yoghurt. It's like a mouthful of pure flavour. Worth a visit. gets busy from around 8pm, but quiet late afternoon, early evening.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scaredy-Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    60
    25
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tuusula, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Just an average place for a dinner”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had one family dinner there this summer and we have also visited Kantapi several times during previous holidays. The surroundings are quite relaxed, a bit isolated from the street noise. The floor is just the stony ground, which is ok.

Food is average there and so are prices, too. One thing, which I dislike, is to employ scandinavian young waitresses. I prefer the Greek feeling which is spoiled by the unprofessional, young, non-Greekish waitresses.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Markku J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Disappointing food!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The most important thing about this restaurant (the food) was really bad. The appearance and service in the restaurant were brilliant but the food really let it down. I've have meals at my local Wetherspoons far better than at Kantapi. The mixed grill I ordered seemed to be any sort of left over meat that was in the kitchen. It included a beef burger and frankfurter sausage.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 146tomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Drayton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
“Superb Taverna”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Visited Kantapi Taverna twice during our recent stay and many times in the past too and we have never been disappointed. The setting is lovely with trees and vines overhead and it is hard to believe that you are actually eating on the main Platanias road. The menu is extensive, the food superb and the staff are fantastic. A little tip is.....if you love a wine with your meal try the house red or white as they are actually very very good. Try Kantapi it is a Superb Taverna.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank IanWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best food ever”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I would recommend this restaurant for several reasons. First, it is very friendly for kids. The service is quick and the souvlaki with souces best (garlic and pepper are the best ones).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kantapi Taverna also viewed

Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Kantapi Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing