We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great unusual restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mylos tou Kerata

Mylos tou Kerata
Ranked #36 of 128 Restaurants in Platanias
Price range: $16 - $54
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek, Grill, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great unusual restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We've eaten here twice - 5 years ago and during another recent stay in Platanias. Both times the food was very good, and the setting and service excellent. It's a quirky, unusual place - very different to the usual eateries in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    131
    67
    51
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Food good but too expensive.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

It is in Platanias which is not a place to visit if you can help it because it is so tacky. Service was very cold to start with but the waiter improved. Bread and tapenade brought to the table (good but was very expensive addition - much more than any other restaurant we went to all round western Crete). We both had the special of the day which was lamb shank with small rice-like pasta. It was delicious.
This is not a restaurant to enjoy the scenic views (unless you like roads!)
Even though the food was very good we would not go back because it is over-priced and not in a good position (and because I was really sick during the night after being there - may not have been anything to do with restaurant but it leaves memories!).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1plato23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good looking, but din't exceed my expectations.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Ok , just wanted to say that Mylos tou Kerata is an attractive restaurant, but unfortunately the food isn't all that glamorous, therefore I'm not quite sure whether I would recommend it.On top of everything, for Crete, this restaurant is extremely overpriced.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stelios A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Réthymno, Rethimni, Greece
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Traditional Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

A very good and old restaurant but unique during the time. each time I visit Chania I visit it because of the big variety and good quality of food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Irene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“A nice surprise in Platanias”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Platanias is a bit of a dreary hole but this restaurant transcended its surroundings. Despite being a very large group, the service and food were very good. Great dishes kept on emerging from the kitchen, including several made with local cheeses (gravieras was very good), and some very good house wine (particularly the red). I would definitely visit again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mylos tou Kerata also viewed

Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Mylos tou Kerata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing