We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad, Not Great...Still a good choice and value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Piskopiano Village Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Groningen
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not Bad, Not Great...Still a good choice and value for money”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

As being active on tripadvisor because of our own business, I think Piskopiano Village deserves a review rather than all the bad ones concerning their overbookings. My girfriend and I stayed at this resort in June 2011 for 2 weeks and where quite happy with the experience.

It is very true the apartments are frequently travelled by Dutch travelers. I am Dutch myself however it seemed that quite a returning group habituates the resort randomly...It's truly like living in a village feeling, since everyone knows everyone and it's always hot news when someone new comes in! That being said, Yannis and the Bar man were very friendly, helpful and the resort is very, very well maintained, with 2 lovely pools and amazing views on the Mediterranean and Hersonissos downtown. It's quite a relaxing place and within easy approach of all main attractions such as restaurants, bars and leisure activities, yet fare enough from the madding crowds and youngsters on drinking holidays in Hersonissos.

The rooms are basic, and surely not as nice as pictured on the website, but considering the amount of money paid (550 Euro's per person, 2 weeks including flights and transport to-from the airport) in peak season is surely worth the money spend. The Housekeeping was dissapointing. A quick brush was apparently more than enough and even the beds where not made up, just clean sheets were put down daily on the bed so we could make up the beds ourselves. The kitchen is rather a "Kitchenette" with a 2 pit cooking equipment not handy for people that like to cook themselves....however you shouldn't since there are many great options to go out for dinner all around..!

As working as a hotel manager myself, I have to kind of side with the owners / managers of this resort. Dealing with many, many agencies can be very difficult at times and over bookings may happen easily outside your control. Having met the owners / managers plenty of times during our stay, we found them trustable and honest and very welcoming. I am sure they have never intended get into a situation like that, and I am sure the will continue delivering good value for money accommodation.

Considering the price, location and service we think it is a acceptable accommodation in a lovely setting, and would recommend it to other travelers choosing Crete as there holiday destination! It surely is one of the better options in the area!

Room Tip: Apparantly the lower section and the biggest pool is occupied by the Dutch, while the British seem t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erwin_perdok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    82
    28
    21
    24
See reviews for
83
147
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 1 week from 19th July 2011. On arrival at 6am in the morning we found the apartments closed and in darkness which caused a bit of a panic until we realised that there was a note on the reception door to tell us that the key to our apartment was in the door and gave us directions to it. The apartments do not operate a 24 hour reception which is the reason why this happened and therefore is something guests should be aware of. The apartments are in the ideal location and although basic; they are clean and comfortable. You have to pay extra for the safe and also the air conditioning which is operated by a remote control available from reception. We basically had the top pool to ourselves the whole week which was right outside our apartment door. The village itself is typically Greek and very quiet - which we loved along with the neighbouring village of Koutouloufari. Both have lovely restaurants and a few very nice cocktail bars. A visit to the Dutch Bakery in Koutouloufari is a MUST!!

We found the owner of Piskopiano Village, Yannis and all his staff lovely. Couldn't fault these apartments or the resort. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here twice - sometimes three times a year for the last 3 years and beyond. The accommodation - and we have stayed in various rooms- has always been great. Exceptionally Clean - rooms cleaned almost everyday - linen changed at least twice a week. Staff are all fantastic - some people have left negative reviews about Yiannis - the manager - whenever we have stayed there he has always been a gentleman and a scholar - always there to assist and offer advice and has gone out of his way to be very very helpful. We have stayed at many accommodations in Pisko and Kouti but you will not find anything better than this. Highly recommended to couples and families alike - plenty of places to eat - not far from Hersonissos but pure heaven - places you must visit are David Vegeras and the Romantica. Have already booked twice for 2012

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coleham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We visited Piscopiano Village Appartments again this year as last year with 4 other friends
Appartments spacious and as usual clean and well looked after while we were there cleaned every day and sheets changed at least 3 times pern week staff really friendly Yani is not everybodys favourite person but we found him helpful and friendly weather fabtastic. Beautiful Village . The middle one of three All the restaurants we went really friendly and pleased to welcome you we obviously went a few times to our favourite ones.Food fantastic. Families catered for but not much for the chlidren to do other than the two pools on two levels the upper one was the quiet pool so it was more private mostly kid free The only problem we came across was on arrival one of friends apartment had been double booked even though this holiday had been booked in October 2010 we arrived 11pm so they were given an apartment overnight then another provided for them the next day. After that the Holiday went fantastically and we would highly recommend a visit Only drawback is the area is really hilly++ so not too good for any asthmatics or anyone with walking difficultys

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank willism1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinner, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

A fair distance from the sea and the hill was steep in places coming back up. There are loads of steps between the various pools etc, but many also have ramps. The kitchen is basic and not ideal for doing dinners, but with low cost of eating out/takeaways, we didn't have to worry about that. Reception can help with food delivery numbers etc.
The staff couldn't be nicer, friendlier or more helpful. The overall external area was cleaned daily by George, who also carried out maintenance, while his wife Marietta cleaned the rooms and was really polite and friendly. Anna, Receptionist (who sadly quits to head abroad end of Oct) was amazingly headful, polite and efficient. Nicos (the barman) was just as wonderful but unfortunately he left mid-October to go abroad as well. They were a great asset to the place and I hope they'll be back next year, if not I'm sure Yiannis will find equally good staff.
Local restaurants were good, but the best we found was "To Steki tou Papou" a 24 hour family-run place with delicious food and very reasonable prices. They were friendly and even gave us parting gifts delivered to our hotel on the day we left! David's Restaurant a few doors away was equally good quality food, but the menu was less varied. One to avoid is Ta Tria Adelfia In Ano (Old) Hersonnisos. Although recommended in the Rough Guide to Crete, they don't have a price list/menu so rip-off the foreigners, we paid 37.5 Euros for Burger and Chips (x2) stuffed cabbage leaves, a greek salad and 2 soft drinks. A meal for 4 at To Steki Tou Papou, including wine and a soft drink cost less than that!
If you drive there is a Lidl 2 kilometres away and the quality of the food there is excellent. All types of Greek produce available. Cretans are very frindly people, hope you enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Bigger rooms down the back, but up steps to pool and too far to get wi-fi. Free wi-fi available in r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GinatheGael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Apartments are in a lovely location in centre of village with wonderful views over Hersonisos.
I would say a car is a must or some mode transport to go to a beach or some sightseeing. Apartments were basic but adequate and beds comfortable, kept very clean and towels and sheets changed twice a week. All staff were friendly and helpful never used bar at night as rather enjoy meal out and what wonderful places to eat in area 3 within 50 metres. Davids really traditional serving Mezes real greek feel. Gevsi across road family run wife waitress and husband cook. The Sole was comparable to Dover Sole, always great welcome.
Would definately come to Piskopiano again in the future.
On a Monday night well worth the walk to Old Hersonisos village where they hold a greek night with dancing and singing around the square.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

After booking a 2 week holiday in October 2010, my wife and I arrived late afternoon on the 15th Sept. We waited patiently for someone to arrive at reception, only to find it was the same man who had passed us several times while we waited with our cases. Low and behold, he gave us a strange look and asked if he could help. Em, guess what standing with suitcases in your reception !!!!! No room at the inn. The man quizzed us as to when we booked, with who, and answered he had no confirmation of our booking, but then said he phoned Thomas Cook 2 weeks before to tell them he was fully booked. I'm sure Thomas Cook isn't the only agent booking holidays, so did he phone up all the travel agents in the UK and other countries, don't think so. After some discussions he eventually agreed to pay for a taxi and found us another place to stay. Bit far away from where we wanted to be, but the staff were very welcoming and helpful at Irene Village. Looking at the amount of similar reviews, I hope Thomas Cook and other agents do something about this cos it certainly puts a bad start on your holiday landing to find out you don't have anywhere to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piskopiano
0.1 mi away
Amazones Village Suites
Amazones Village Suites
#3 of 9 in Piskopiano
546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dream Village
Dream Village
#1 of 9 in Piskopiano
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Korifi Suites Art Hotel
Korifi Suites Art Hotel
#4 of 9 in Piskopiano
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,031 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astra Village Apartments
Astra Village Apartments
#8 of 13 in Koutouloufari
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piskopiano Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piskopiano Village Apartments

Property: Piskopiano Village Apartments
Address: 37 Europe St., Piskopiano, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Piskopiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Piskopiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Piskopiano Village Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piskopiano Village Apartments has lovely traditional Aegean Island style decor. An ideal place for relaxing and close to many interesting places to visit, most of which are within walking distance. The apartments are located in the hills above Hersonissos, between the small villages of Koutouloufari and Old Hersonissos. The apartments have panoramic views of Hersonissos Bay which is a 15 minute downhill walk. Facilities at Piskopiano Village Apartments include 2 outdoor swimming pools with children's pool, pool showers, free sun beds and umbrellas, a poolside bar serving snacks and drinks during the day. For children there is a small play area. The indoor bar has a big screen satellite TV, a pool table and internet access. The bar has an outside veranda and is a popular place to socialise in the evenings. There is an 18 hole golf course and water park 4km away.Due to it's hillside location it has a number of stairs which make it unsuitable for buggies, wheelchairs or those who have difficulty walking. Heraklion airport is 24km away, Knossos is 34km, Malia is 5km.The apartments welcome families, couples and well behaved groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Piskopiano Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piskopiano Village Apartments Hotel Piskopiano
Piskopiano Crete
Piskopiano Village Apartments Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing