We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amazones Village Suites
Nearby Hotels
$64
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lofos Apartments(Piskopiano)(Great Value!)
$34
$24
Bookgreece.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dream Village(Piskopiano)(Great Value!)
$16
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Asterias Village Resort(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
$31
$28
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Stelva Villas(Piskopiano)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mika Villas(Piskopiano)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveler rating
322
122
62
34
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
122
62
34
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardsea viewgreek yogurteach eveninggreat holidayexcept sundaycold meatssteep hillamazing viewsnext yeartransfer coachrestaurants and barspool area is lovelyfresh towelswalking difficultieskitchen areahired a car
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
405 - 410 of 578 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We've spent one week of holiday enf of July beginning of August 2009 in this small family run business and for us it's the perfect place to relax and unwind. Located on a hill overlooking Chersonissos and the sea, it's very quiet, modern (build about 4-5 years ago), clean and both the owner family and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was varied and our Junior Suite very spacious which even included a fridge. One thing which we in particular liked is the fact that the atmosphere (even amongst the other guests) is very personal. On account of its spectacular location on the hill, it's recommended to rent a car tough. Amazones Village Suites is a truely remarkable and unforgettable spot and we really hope to get back next year again!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZurichVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Stayed with my gf. The hotel is advertized as 4 star....no way. Maybe 3 stars at the best. Rooms need renovation ASAP. Everything is very old in terms of furniture and doors/windows. Average breakfast not so much in terms of quantity but in temrs of guality. Rooms where not clean, and towels where dirty with red stains... The pool was clean enough and the staff did try to help as much as they could. The advertised gym is truly awful..noone even tried to work out there as everything is very and i mean very old. The cost of a frappe coffee was higher than that of beer! This clearly states they want to rip off Greek tourists, according to my belief. Would only reccomend it as a 2-3 star hotel if it was cheaper.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ribasg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaz0nes, Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2009

Dear Valuable Guest,
Your review will only help us to improve.
As they say:
' You can please ALL of the people SOME of the time.
You can please SOME people ALL of the time
BUT You cannot please ALL of the people ALL the time.'
ps) We advertise Mini Fitness Center.
If you could give us some more details of your reservation we could check things out. One friendly suggestion: We could have helped if you had come to us and let us know of your complaints. We are here for you all the time & we care for each one of our guest.
Kind Regards,
Caterina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We decided to stay at Amazones, because, based on the price, it would pay for the rental car to stay out of Heraklio with the difference. It was a great place. You would not have to go anywhere if you just want to relax. The buffet breakfast was fabulous, hot foods well prepared and all you can eat. The pool was beautiful, overlooking the sea when you get in it.
We chose it for a non-smoking policy and the room was great. But know that the staff smoke in the lobby and others too, I suppose, but the room was fine. That is par for Greece, however. We drove all over Crete using this as a base and it was great. We got in late, almost 11 PM, and the manager brought me up a Gyro, very good, delivered for 3 E. Would recommend it and go again. It is a bit hard to find at night, look carefully for the signs. They are small. Great balcony view. Watch out for speed traps where the road from Ierapetra on the south intersects with the national road East of Agio Nikiolaus. Got caught and was not speeding. I would recommend Economy Rental cars, reasonable, full insurance at no extra cost and we had a wreck, no hassles. Rent before you get there. Also, the ferry from Santorini from Santorini cruises, is a crock. It says 2 hours on the schedule, it took three and made us very late getting in and hard to make connection with the rental people. If you are going to be late, call from the ferry and let them know when you will be in. Love Crete.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terryLCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

Stayed beginning of June in a junior suite/garden view. Lovely rooms, very clean, great bathroom, hairdryer etc. Didn't need a sea view, the suite was nice and cool, hardly used air conditioning, had a terrace to sit out on.
Staff were very helpful and friendly, especially Dejan. The whole place is very clean and of high standard, pool area is beautiful with stunning views. Breakfast was ideal.. lots of choice for a continental, and so nice to eat it by the pool! Didn't eat at hotel during day, they do an evening special for 7.95 euro...main course and glass of wine. The food was great, very good value and romantic setting by pool in candlelight.

There are some steps in front of hotel that take you down to Piskopiano, 5 minutes walk. Longer to go back as it's a tad steep! There is a food store to your left as soon as you hit the main little road. Turn right and you are in the little village, a few shops, bars and tavernas. Kostas Taverna by the big new church is great, as is the tiny tapas bar on the main street just near the church, very traditional and cheap. Carry on walking for 10 mins and you come into the second village Koutouloufari. This is slighty bigger, lots of tavernas and little shops, plus a little cemetery.
If you turn left from the hotel and walk for 15-20mins you come to Hersonissos village. Lovely tavernas round the little square and a bakery. GREEK NIGHT on MONDAYS in this village square, get there by 7pm to get a table, singing and dancing excellent and it's a great night!
Spinalonga Island - cost about 50 euro with tour reps. If you have a car drive to Elounda, about 45 mins, and get the boat across from there. Ten euros and boats every 30 mins! A haunting island, well worth the trip, spent an hour on it. Alternatively, get a bus to Aghios Nickolias, and a boat from there...still a big saving to be made.

All in all, we wanted to relax, chill out and soak up the sun. This place delivered it all, and we would go back. Hersonnissos area isn't very pretty, but the Amazones made a perfect break. Drinks at the hotel were expensive..7 euro for half a karafe of wine.. 4.50 for a frappe!!! Just have a few and buy some for your room. The BBQ nite was a bit expensive for what it was, but if you have nice people staying there it's a nice get together. We were lucky, met some special people!!

Wouldn't recomend this for anyone with walking difficulties, it's manageable but not ideal. Don't bother taking high heels, you'll never wear them!
Wouldn't think this is a hotel for young kids either. Pool is deep and the area round it would be a worry for me with little ones, plus no area really on the grounds for playing.

A fabulous holiday, and lots of wonderful memories!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traci22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

We arrived at 10am in the morning after a nght flight to be told that they had overbooked us and had put us in an alternative hotel. We expressed our concern but they said they were sorry and had upgraded us the following day. The hotel that they sent us to was an absolute disgusting hole with dirty bed sheets a dirty bathroom overlooking a noisy road and to be frank I wouldn't have put my dog there. So we photographed the room and went back to the Amazones. When we got there they refused to help us or provide us with alternate accomodation. I ended up having to drive to the other side of the Island to find an alternate hotel and the whole episode cost me a day of my holiday. I am raging with this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank SteveL1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaz0nes, Hotel Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2009

With great disappointment we saw this review.
The gentleman created an account on 3rd July 2009, for his review, for arrival (?) date of 28/10/2008! He shared his "awful"experience 9 months later ,when the hotel is receiving praising reviews from all over the world. We cannot help but to think that this is questionable move.
We kindly asked him to email us the mentioned photos, the name of the location we put him "where even dogs did not stay" , his booking voucher or our emails where we booked and confirmed his under question reservation, a proof of the money deposit for booking directly, photos, but he emailed nothing back. The hotel closed on the 3rd of November 2008, since it was the end of the summer season of 2008. We checked our records and we have no reservations or any relevant data the mentioned date or any other date around that time! We are very sorry to read all these about the Amazones Village Suites.
Please, submit all relevant evidence of the allegations; we are innocent until proven guilty.
Thank you for your time and attention.
With friendly regards,
Caterina Psarris
Hotel Manager/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews