We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazones Village Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amazones Village Suites
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Piskopiano
GreenLeadersGold level
Thame, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazones Village Suites”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay @Amazones Villages. Our room was a great size being a junior suite and although it was over the bar area it was not a problem noise-wise. Ok the furnishings were a little tired but the room was clean and simply furnished to cover everything you might need. Although we didn't use it it was also well equipped if you wanted to do self- catering, with fridge, plates, cutlery etc. We had a small welcome basket of wine, fruit + water, which was unexpected but very nice. From our balcony we had a terrific panoramic view looking out over the lovely pool. The pool area is the hotel's best feature, it was fab with sunbeds on the surrounding area + bar service - what's not to like?

We went half-board and the breakfast was great, lovely Greek yogurt, cereal, toast, eggs etc - dont expect a full English, this is Greece. For the evening meal the food was at best ok, not a gastronomic experience more school dinners! But there was always something from the choice on offer that was fine enough to eat. The Greek food was the best the tsatziki was delicious, good salads, delicious filo pastry squares, lamb etc. I have to say the evening meal was the main bone of contention amongst other guests, some people who booked half- board ate out every night but it wasn't that bad, though I wouldn't have looked forward to a second week of it! We'd recommend going B+B as there are plenty of other places to eat out at @ very reasonable prices both at Piskopiano and the bigger Koutouloufari just a stroll away. Kosta's @
Piskopiano is worth a mention the food here was excellent quality + delicious, if not the cheapest, but there are plenty places offering a mix of mezzes for 16€ for 2 people.

Unlike some of the reviewers we found the staff extremely friendly, from the always very cheerful Dimitri who was stand out nice, to Stella, Nico and Caterina, also Dimitri's aunt and the lovely cleaner whose name I never knew. For the price this place was great value for money.

The place itself is situated up the hill about a km out of Chersonnissus and from our point of view all the better for this! Chersonnissus is quite a busy place but can offer night life, lots of tourist shops, plenty of eateries and cheap beer during happy hour if you want it. There is also an excellent bus service from the main street there, bus stop no 21 I think it's opposite a bank to go towards Heraklion. Don't worry if you put your hand out and the bus doesn't stop, this'll be the express which shoots through, there will be another along pretty soon! By using the bus service it's easy to get to sandy beaches in either direction, we liked Kokkini towards Heraklion. This is where we got drinks for 4 of us for 5€ at the canteen bus on the beach! The owner speaks very good English as do most Greek people.

We also went to Knossos a must see if you are in the area, by taking the bus to Heraklion+ getting off at the bus station for the connecting bus. The connecting bus was easy to spot at one end of the station , you buy your tickets at the little kiosk before you get on. It was during this journey that we realised the ordinary service bus from Heraklion to Malia goes straight through the airport, so for 3€ each we used this as our transfer back to get the plane home! It was very easy and much cheaper than a 40€ taxi. All the bus fares were very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue_and_TonyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amazonesclub, Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your time and feedback.
We wish you a pleasant winter and we are looking forward to seeing you soon in the near future.
Best Regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    111
    59
    34
    36
See reviews for
88
334
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was our fifth year at Amazones. It just keeps getting better and better.

We love it here. It ticks all the boxes. I have stayed in a lot of hotels all over Greece and this is by fat my favourite.

The staff are fantastic. Caterina does a great job. Dimitris, Dizianna and Nikos are all wonderful. So attentive and hard working. They go beyond what is expected to ensure a great holiday. We miss Nikos already and have only been back a week. Brilliant bartender/host and a lovely man.

I don't know the names of the other staff, but the lady who covers breakfast and the cleaning lady also deserve a mention. Breakfast is constantly topped up and tables were cleared for two hours from 8.30 - 10.30. Nice start to the day. It is unusual to get a breakfast like this included in Greek hotels/apartments. The cleaner comes in daily (except Sunday) and makes the bed, cleans the kitchen and bathroom and changes the towels etc. She works so hard and really deserves a mention.

We will definitely be coming back next year for our sixth visit. We are made to feel so welcome and at home. It is a perfect location for a well needed break come September.

I have read the other reviews on here. Whilst I appreciate overbooking may be a problem, I think this problem lies with the booking agents rather than the hotel. I was in the hotel bar until 5am one morning whilst a number of new arrivals were expected. Tet didn't show up. This comes down to the booking agents. The hotel cannot be blamed for their problems. People seem to forget the difficulties the Greek economy have had in recent years. Hotels and small businesses should not be blamed for covering themselves.

Thanks Caterina for another lovely holiday. Roll on September 2014.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandFEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amazonesclub, Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your time and feedback.
We wish you a pleasant winter and we are looking forward to seeing you soon in the near future.
Best Regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

August 2013 We hoped for a nice hotel away from the crowds where we could relax and unwind, and from where we could do a few trips. Amazones Villages was perfect for this. Situated on the hillside it was just a short walk from 3 wonderful villages full of eating places. Old Hersonissos, Piskapiano and Koutlouloufari are all you need for choice for eating out.. We went to Old Hersonissos 3 times where there is an amazing square surrounded by different Tavernas. You have to go on a Monday evening when the square is closed off and dancers arrive and a band - fantastic evening. Some advice though...get seated before 7.00pm or you wont get a seat easily.
At times we were the only ones by the pool at the hotel and it was never crowded - even though the hotel was full. We found the staff very helpful -and a real family feel. We will be looking forward to returning and discovering more of Crete. We recommend the Knossos trip and Spinalonga. But next time we will make our own arrangements and go by bus and spend longer in each place. If you do venture down to the main town (it's hot and humid and full of tourists) get a taxi back! It's worth it:-)
I read from others that overbooking was a problem....it's not the hotels fault! The booking agents just keep sending people. We were well served and loved our holiday. Thank you Caterina, for making us welcome and giving us a great holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amazonesclub, Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your time and feedback.
We wish you a pleasant winter and we are looking forward to seeing you soon in the near future.
Best Regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

got to hotel very early sat morn about 2am only to find that they have a tendency to over book so you end up at a lower rated place to stay for 3nights out of 14 then they want to charge 8 euros for air con when other place was free .shower cubical leaked water on the floor plug in sink us took 4days to get hold of a iron staff very good food brought in by catering firm at 5.30 pm then put out at 7.30 pm with little heaters under neath to keep warm luke warm

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank gordon e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amazonesclub, Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your time and feedback.
We wish you a pleasant winter and we are looking forward to seeing you soon in the near future.
Best Regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed with my goddess wife at Amazones 27 August to 1 September 2013. A wonderful experience with excellent service in all aspects, spectacular sea view, amazing breakfast, exceptional drinks at the bar by the pool, an absolutely fine hotel. On the 29th of August we even enjoyed live music by local lyra players!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GandN_Karahalios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amazonesclub, Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your time and feedback.
We wish you a pleasant winter and we are looking forward to seeing you soon in the near future.
Best Regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our experience chimes with some of the other feedback. The setting was ideal for us and the pool area is excellent and perfect for chilling out. The area was always reasonably quiet which was as well as our suite was right by the pool and dining area. The bar service is very good and the drinks are reasonably priced.
Our accommodation (Suite H2) was spacious and reasonably well appointed. However, there were problems with the room service. There was no room service on the Sunday of our stay. The bed linen was not changed during our stay (6 nights) and the towels were only changed once, at our request. The bath was not sealed so there was a small flood on the bathroom floor whenever we had a shower. We spent a lot of time drying bath mats and towels. The bed quilt was old and shabby. In addition, the air-conditioning was only available for an extra charge of 8 euros per day.
The food was adequate but was definitely not four star. There was limited choice and the hot dishes were luke-warm at best. A member of the breakfast staff was usually smoking.
A spa was advertised but there didn't seem to be one and the gym was basic to say the least.
We are most unhappy with the reception we were given on arrival. Our outbound flight was delayed by fifteen hours. We made two phone calls to notify the hotel of our situation. However,when we arrived at the hotel, extremely tired and stressed, we were told that our room had been relet by some automatic booking system. After waiting for some time without any words of comfort, we were offered accommodation in a nearby hotel, with access to the facilities of the Amazones. When we made clear that we would not be happy with this arrangement, we were suddenly offered a suite in the Amazones and were eventually shown to Suite H2. Not the ideal start to our holiday which was only seven days. Our rating of poor for service is based on this experience. Other aspects of the service were satisfactory or good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amazonesclub, General Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Client,
We are very sorry for any incovenience.
We are also very sorry the way you present your holidays at our hotel.
Your room, despite your 27hours delay, was there and available.
By law, we are obliged to keep a room open until 12:00 noon of the following morning after the programmed arrival date. We kept your room open and you checked in. That is a fact.
You never mentioned anything while on resort for all the issues you describe in your review.
We have spa services and this is what we advertise. You never asked for any spa service.
You never visited our gymn room, simply because we have no records of you in there. How do you know how the gymn looks like?
About the meals: an average of 50 people have dinner in the hotel every day. If meals are of the quality level as per your review why, did you ask to have free dinner after your check out from the hotel? Why did you not go to any of the tavernas nearby? As it was explained to you, after check out you are no longer resident of the hotel. Thus, the hotel has no further obligation to you regarding the offred services. That is a standard policy of all hotels all around the world.
A/C is extra charge as per our contract with the travel agent.
It is your choice whether you use it or not. We cannot give it for free to some clients and to some other clients after payment. Hotel agreements are the same for all of our hotel guests. We welcome all nationalities and all people and hotel policies are the same for everyone.
Again we apologize for any incovenience and we wish you best of luck in the coming future.

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel was lovely. We had a really great holiday here. We have two children ages 6 and 22 months and we were worried about whether it would be suitable for the 22 month old etc. The staff were great - George is as nice and helpful as all the reviews say and Dissianna (not sure how to spell, sorry) was so lovely - she gave my children so much attention and made half size milkshakes for my daughter every lunch time. Caterina is a lovely and professional manager, always there to help in any way.
We had suite A1 at the top which was a killer to walk up to in the heat but we felt we needed the exercise! The view was amazing and so worth it. We sat there each evening with the baby asleep playing games and watching the stars with our daughter. There was a lovely sea breeze.
Breakfast was fabulous, I miss it! We didn't have dinner at the hotel so I can't vouch for that. We went to David Veggera taverna most nights for the most amazing food. A little trip to the village next door, "old" Hersonnissis is well worth a visit - 20 mins walk.
The suite was very clean and comfortable which was all we wanted and we can be very particular about cleanliness. Pool was lovely. There were a lot of couples and I did feel we cramped their style at the pool! Sorry!
I don't understand the negative reviews - must be a mistake. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We loved it!

Room Tip: A sea view is the obvious request. The place is terraced so the higher up the better - we were the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma-Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amazonesclub, Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your time and feedback.
We wish you a pleasant winter and we are looking forward to seeing you soon in the near future.
Best Regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piskopiano
0.6 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Korifi Suites Art Hotel
Korifi Suites Art Hotel
#6 of 9 in Piskopiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dream Village
Dream Village
#1 of 9 in Piskopiano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#4 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazones Village Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazones Village Suites

Property: Amazones Village Suites
Address: Lyktou Road, Piskopiano, Crete 70015, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Piskopiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Piskopiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amazones Village Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awaken to the Mediterranean of your dreams at Amazones Village Suites. Set atop an ocean bluff, with majestic views over sparkling blue waters and neighbouring Hersonissos beyond, this lushly landscaped Cretan 4-star boutique hotel was once a rock. Relax in the most spacious, beautifully appointed suites in the Cretan Sea, where designer furnishing and terraces summon the feel of a small private vacation home. From dazzling bbq parties to a romantic dinner for two, our helpful personal service will see to your every need. Designed in a subtly elegant, comfortable style, this cherished Cretan luxury hotel offers a truly unforgettable destination for romantic retreats, golf, cultural escapes or fun family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Amazones Village Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amazones Village Hotel Piskopiano
Hotel Amazones Village
Amazones Village Suites Piskopiano, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing