We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many plusses”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amazones Village Suites
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Piskopiano
GreenLeadersGold level
leicester
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“So many plusses”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This small hotel is a lovely place to stay. The rooms are large and spacious and well equipped. They are not luxurious but very good value. The staff are really helpful and considerate. The pool is a good size for the complex and although the hotel is out of the town up the hill this does have compensations. The view is exceptional and the local villages of Chersonisson, Piskopiano and Koutufoulari have good tavernas - we didn't find a bad one. The beaches are within a twenty minute walk and if you have a car then good beaches are very close. The breakfast buffet is excellent. We had a three year old grandchild with us and we all ate well in the mornings. It is certainly one of the best hotels we have stayed in in Greece although it was our first time to Crete.
The only real drawbacks were the evening meal, which by any standard was very poor, and the transfer. We couldn't understand how everything else could work so well but dinner be so poor. It would lift the hotel immeasurably to have good food. It was also poor to have to walk up a long hill after being dropped off by the transfer coach. The coach stopped at similar locations to drop off so why not the Amazones?
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel but I would advise to eat out.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom and our son,wife and granchild had a two bedroom. Both were fine for our needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayesej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    111
    59
    34
    36
See reviews for
88
334
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ilford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I have just returned from a seven night stay at this hotel. I read the reviews before I went, and saw some negative comments. I am not fussy, nor am I a snob, I have been to Greece about 30 times, so I know what is the norm. How refreshing that none of the negative comments were founded. The staff were all friendly and helpful.The breakfast was continental plus, as it had all the basics and some nice extras like scrambled eggs and dolmades (stuffed vine leaves). The pool was clean and there were plenty of sunbeds. All in all, no issues what so ever. I was lucky to have air conditioning, as this is not given to all that stay free of charge, it depends who you have booked with. The hotel is honest enough to inform you of this when you ask for the control, but common sense tells you that the hotels work on very small profit margins, and some travel companies screw them down to just about nothing (Expedia must be one of the better ones, as the air con is free) .2 very very small issues, but easily overcome, firstly is the lack of proper blinds, allowing the early morning sunshine to cascade through the windows, as I say easily overcome with some creative towel hanging, and secondly, if you have not arranged a transfer from the airport, the location is difficult to find for the first time. the 2 x signs that are on the roads leading to the hotel are easily missed, and could do with being bigger and more prominent. I am now an expert at finding the hotel and will gladly provide directions for anyone who asks me by email stevesenk@hotmail.com. The hotel has a restaurant which provides traditional Greek food at good prices, it also entertainment most nights, which can be a welcome, as the beach and nightlife is quite a long walk downhill, and an even longer walk uphill after you've filled your belly with seaside food and drink. Well done Amazones, I will stay again.

Room Tip: If elderly of have difficulty walking, make sure you have one of the lower rooms. I
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevesenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just returned from 1 week, Bed & Breakfast at Amazones Village Suites and had a really enjoyable holiday. The staff were exceptional....very friendly and helpful and made holiday special. Didn't always have hot water but made no difference as weather was so hot , it was nice to have a cool shower and certainly did not spoil my holiday. Just 20 minute walk into Hersonissos, downhill, and taxi back (7 euros) but lots of restaurants and shops in Piskopiano to keep us happy. Hills and steps could be a problem for anyone with poor mobility....but for me was better exercise than 1 hour of Zumba!! Altogether a very enjoyable week

Room Tip: we asked for pool view and the pool was right below our balcony...and wonderful views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timmy495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A big thank you to all the staff, especially Caroline, Dizianna, Demitris, Vlad and Caterina, who made our honeymoon holiday special. The rooms were large and clean with great views, the breakfast just right and the evening meal a perfection - so what if there is only one choice when it tastes so good, you can always go into town. Made the mistake of having the superb pitta slouvaki 'snack' in the afternoon a couple of times - sheer indulgence which spoils you for the evening meal! How can you beat lying in the sun, by the pool, overlooking the bay and having your food and drink brought to your table with a genuine smile!?
On eating out - Piskopiano village is a few minutes walk down below the Amazones Village with numerous eateries - David's is not the only one (and why do people wait outside?), has no view over the valley and an unexceptional menu. Try the small kafenion, sorry don't know the name, which is down the first turning on the left after the wishing well. Excellent food and pretty authentic Cretan food if that is what you are after.
And give a thought to Harry (won't have a word said against him, he's a star - Greek cats for the most part are feral or semi- wild and you should never try to pet one if you don't want to be covered in fleas and risk being scratched). Animal welfare campaigner Caroline is taking Harry to the vets for the snip in a week or two's time. Very responsible action but Harry may never be the same again.
Thanks to everyone at Amazones Village Suites for a superb holiday and wish you every success for the future.

Room Tip: If you're not happy with your room just ask and they will change it if possible but otherwise w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amazonesclub, General Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guests,
What more can we say than thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!
Caterina and Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We took advantage of a very good Groupon deal for this hotel. It is set high on a hill with breathtaking views of the sea which is about 15 minutes walk away. They look after you very well here. The staff are very busy and very attentive. The set meals with our deal were all really good, no fast food here (and check out the soups). Lovely to dine by the pool looking down at the twinkling lights below but beware of one thing, he's ginger, looks friendly, called Henry and this cat can be MEAN ! Caroline and the team are all brilliant. Try it out.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the view and the sea view is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColnPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amazonesclub, General Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guests,
We are very pleased that we managed to offer you a "lazy" week in Crete!
Thank you so much for booking with us and we hope to see you in the coming future as well.
Best Regards,
Caterina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our stay at Amazone was very enjoyable apart from the fact we had very little hot water, Our fault as we did not complain about it. Not the sort of hotel for elderly or infirm as it is high on a hill. Our main complaint was during the evening meal which was a set menu,( if you didn't like it you went hungrey) Harry the hotels adopted cat was very fond of getting on to tables and trying to take things off guests plates. As we were told "Harry bites" we were very reluctant to upset him. He was repremanded by staff who told him that was very naughty Harry. Otherwise all staff were very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rattyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amazonesclub, General Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for spending your holidays with us & Have a good winter!
Kind Regards,
Caterina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
2 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great staff...all friendly and will take time out to have a chat. Caroline will have a good banter with you! The room was spotless and we had an amazing view from our balcony. Only found one english channel on the tv so hubby spent more time in the bar being entertained by the staff. Breakfast was ok but would have liked a hot alternative to scrambled egg! I would recommend you go room only as there are supermarkets to get groceries from and the restaurants in the 3 villages are amazing.
Space Bar in the village is a great place to drink and Mike is a great host....so check this out for a great late night atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewels064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amazonesclub, General Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your time and review.
Have a great winter.
Caterina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piskopiano
0.6 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Korifi Suites Art Hotel
Korifi Suites Art Hotel
#6 of 9 in Piskopiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dream Village
Dream Village
#1 of 9 in Piskopiano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#4 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazones Village Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazones Village Suites

Property: Amazones Village Suites
Address: Lyktou Road, Piskopiano, Crete 70015, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Piskopiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Piskopiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amazones Village Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awaken to the Mediterranean of your dreams at Amazones Village Suites. Set atop an ocean bluff, with majestic views over sparkling blue waters and neighbouring Hersonissos beyond, this lushly landscaped Cretan 4-star boutique hotel was once a rock. Relax in the most spacious, beautifully appointed suites in the Cretan Sea, where designer furnishing and terraces summon the feel of a small private vacation home. From dazzling bbq parties to a romantic dinner for two, our helpful personal service will see to your every need. Designed in a subtly elegant, comfortable style, this cherished Cretan luxury hotel offers a truly unforgettable destination for romantic retreats, golf, cultural escapes or fun family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Amazones Village Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amazones Village Hotel Piskopiano
Hotel Amazones Village
Amazones Village Suites Piskopiano, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing