We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice family run taverna” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gevsi

Gevsi
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Piskopiano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: http://www.holidays-uncovered.co.uk/greece/crete/piskopiano.htmlYou will see that this restaurant has been reviewed on the above website. ree whoimu
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice family run taverna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Piskipiano for ten days and had our first meal here, it was lovely, mum and daughter did front of house dad the cooking, they have a wide range of dishes look out for the mixed grill it's enormous.
We would have returned here but for the fact there are well over twenty excellent tavernas in the three villages. We did not have one bad meal in ten days now that's something new.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jjgbseadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    54
    8
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Small and friendly taverna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

On a short visit of one week, its impossible to eat at all the places available in the 3 villages of Hersonissos, Piskopiano and Koutoulafari.

Unfortunately we didn't eat here until our last day and had lunch here. We wanted something filling, tasty but not heavy, so we chose Gyros plate. It was everything we could have wanted, freshly prepared, plenty of food and tasty.

We will return on our next visit to the area next year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelBearTheFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Breakfast for a king!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a nice start to the day, beans, loads of bacon, walls sausage, perfect , and i mean perfect, fried eggs. Toast, jam, juice tea and coffee. All served with a massive smile! How nice is that!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mljLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“W o n d e r f u l !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed in Piskopiano mid September and ate out every meal. Ate here 3 times in 10 days, the only taverna up in the villages we returned to. Had stiffado, giros, chicken souvlaki, all very good and great value for money. Coulden't be bothered with 'Davids' once we found this fab place (only opposite), with plenty of room (no shoulder to shoulder here! as Davids was) and great hospitality. W o n d e r f u l !!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank galnkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“lovely food with friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is one of out favorite places, Piskopiano restaurants are often overlooked for the busier, nearby Koutoulafari. Please take my word for it that this is a little gem. Tanya your host is always at the front step to welcome you in. The Chef, Soto seems to be a miagician, conjuring up many fantastic plates to enjoy from his back kitchen. All this is a friendly manner with FREE Raki and watermelon at the end of your meal . Lucie the waitress will kep you up to date on all the topical discusions and you are sure to enjoy to quality food here EVERY visit. WE have been the last three years and sampled most of the other eateries, yet we return time and time again to GEVSI (translated to "Tasty") We will be back sometime agin in next few years, Meantime give them a visit. You will not regret it FANTASTIC !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scotssteviemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gevsi also viewed

Piskopiano, Heraklion Prefecture
Piskopiano, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Piskopiano, Heraklion Prefecture
Piskopiano, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
Piskopiano, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Gevsi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing