We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staff and good food”
Review of Taverna Aposperida

Taverna Aposperida
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Piskopiano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Excellent Taverna - and you only have 4 reviews of places in this very popular tourist destination at present. Delicious, traditional Cretan foods - including the only dolmades (stuffed vine leaves) that my girlfriends has ever eaten and superb oven-baked aubergines. I would like to write a full review of this excellent restaurant, so please add it to your site.
Kilmacolm, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely staff and good food”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We eat here quite a few times during our 2 weeks, really enjoyed everything we had here, staff were friendly and were always helpful. Once they know your face you can't walk past without them coming out to say hello which is a really nice touch, wouldn't hesitate to recommend them and as much raki as you can drink!!
recommend

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    58
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Traditional Greek food which is freshly cooked. The menu also has a wider variety of dishes pasta , The service is friendly and good. They also do a take away if you ask.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koroni, Greece
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A lonely place with high prices”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We had lunch here, the chicken starter was expensive, just a few pieces of dry chicken and no sauce. We also tried their house salad, which turned out to be a large bowl of flavourless chopped up lettuce with a couple of tomatoes and few bits of cheese and nuts. Boring and very expensive. Disappointing.

The waiter was friendly but kept chatting to us throughout our meal about the troubles in Greece. A disheartening subject when you are trying to enjoy a holiday!!!

We were the only customers in the place, until just before we left. We would not return here.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MC_kai_JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Amazing food, lovely staff”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

The girlfriend and I had the pleasure if dining in this lovely little restaurant located on the Main Street in Piskopiano. We started with Feta baked in the oven, which I would highly recommend, it was absolutely sublime. The food arrived very promptly indeed, never waiting more than 10 minutes for each course. The grilled chicken was excellent, served with homemade chips and salad. Enough on the plate to satisfy most people. In summary, an excellent experience and I would return to this restaurant without hesitation

Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely Resuturant.”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Myself and the wife visited this restaurant for a late tea.

We had past the gentlemen every night of our holiday as every night he told us it was 'Very Nice' we decided to give it a whirl and he wasn't wrong.

You can go for normal meals or they have a few Mezes options. We went for normal food.

The waiter was very informative and was happy to talk you though any dishes you weren't sure of to make sure you got the right thing for you which is a quality I love when eating abroad.

After some deliberation I took on a Spicy Cheese starter with some Bread and the wife had Stuffed Mushrooms. Both of these were really really nice.

Mains we both had a Greek Plate which had a mixture of Greek dishes on, all absolutely beautiful.

Here's the really good bit...

The price was really cheap!! We had 2 starters with bread, 2 main courses, 2 large beers and two glasses of Rose wine and the bill was €38

Absolute Bargain!!

Give this restaurant a try, you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
1 Thank whatmaystevesay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Aposperida also viewed

Piskopiano, Heraklion Prefecture
Piskopiano, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Piskopiano, Heraklion Prefecture
Piskopiano, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Taverna Aposperida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing