We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“going back”
Review of Elgoni Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elgoni Apartments
dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“going back”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

hi to all i just had to say afew words on here i am so happy to say ai have booked my flight back to crete in june and to stay in these elgoni apt as i said be four this is just heaven to me as its peace full and clean and its to all the nice places to go to . all the small travernas as they are called and bars . i just cant wait to go and see nickos his mamma and pappa and his lovely wife helena so it some thing to look for word to for june

Room Tip: all the rooms face the one way overlooking the see and bay of hersonssons sit on your balcony at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dublinmemphis65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    25
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
54
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Lovely apartments with beautiful panoramic view to the cretan sea.
I stayed there for 10 days in september,it is a very good place to relax and enjoy your holidays.
Apartments are very close to Piskopiano village which are many restaurants and shops.
Next village old hersonissos is 10 minutes walk and there is also many restaurants,and from the other side of piskopiano is Koutouloufari village with many shops.
Hersonissos town is 1kl away from the apartments and you can find everything you want there.

Apartments are very clean with a snack bar where you can enjoy your breakfast and other snacks or drinks.
The pool is a nice place to relax and enjoy the sun with many sunbeds.
Nikos and Helen are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

this is not my first time in crete as iv stayed in other parts befour but one day i was out for awalk and i went up the hill to look out over the bay and i foung my place to sis and relax in the elgoni apt . so this year i book to stay in this place as its just brill the views from all around the place is just fantastic my room looked straight in to the main . i town fell out the door to the pool and the peace and quiet is just brill . nickos and his family who i now call mamma and pappa are just so kind and would do any thing to make you stay even better . it is only 50 meters down to the village and all the bars and places to eat is just brill the art are clean and sheets are changed every 3 days and room is keep tidy as well . if you want to sit by the pool and have a snack just ask and nickos will get it 4 you i call this place heaven on earth and i will be back again to see my friends in elgoni to sit and watch the view and drink a few beers

Room Tip: all the room face down in to the sea and in to the main town the views from all around are just bril...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dublinmemphis65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Have just returned from a very pleasant stay at elgoni apartments. Nicko and his family are very friendly and helpful. The area is nice and quiet compared to the nearby resort of Hersonissos, which is roughly a 20 minute walk from Elgoni. The area is very hilly, but there are many scooter and quad bike hire shops if you cannot cope. Taxi ride from the front to the apartments cost us 7 euros, but some drivers would not drive right to the apartments.

We stayed in maisonette number 2, which boasted wonderful views from the balcony. It had a very small kitchen area, with dining table and two matresses serving as sofas, which could be used by children. Wet room bathroom and large bedroom. The matress was a little uncomfortable, but we are used to memory foam, so that may be the reason :) the pictures supplied on websites are quite deceiving as there are quite a few steps uphill from the bar, and majority of the apartments, to the pool. The pool bar was not in use during our stay.

Breakfast each morning was full English, with tea or coffee and orange juice, and two slices of toast each. Other food is available throughout the day, Greek salad, pizza, chicken nuggets etc in the bar.

There are plenty of tavernas to chose from in Piskopiano and the next village of Koutouloufari. Our favourites were David's mezes (small dishes were served from a tick off list) and the neighbouring Aposperidos restaurant. My favourite dish of my stay was beef stifado, which is a Greek stew with onions.

Lychnostatis, a Cretan open air museum just past Star Beach, is definitely worth a visit. At 6 euros per person it is good value and very interesting. It closes at 2pm. www.lychnostatis.gr

Aqua Plus water park is a great day out, and was only a 13 euro taxi fare from our apartments. We are glad we chose this one over the other water park.

Overall, if you're able to cope with hills, and are looking for beautiful surroundings, simple accommodation and friendly faces, Elgoni Apartments is for you.

Room Tip: Front two maisonettes have amazing views and are very spacious, and right near the bar, yet have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steffateetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I stayed at Elgoni apartments 23rd to 30th May. I was greeted by friendly owner Nikos who took the time to chat, advise on places to visit and speaks very good English. Nothing was too much trouble and when I had issues with my rental car, all the family were happy to make calls for me and helped resolve the situation. My apartment was a 1-4 accommodation, which I chose just for a bit of extra space. There were 2 floors, living area and kitchen facilities downstairs and ample bedroom and bathroom above. Also they provide good storage facilities for clothing and items. A couple of ants appeared in the bathroom but Nikos was quick to deal with it and they were not seen again. The pool at the back is nice with ample sunbeds and space to relax. They have regular visitors and you could see why. Also the village is a lovely unspoilt area with many friendly, good quality tavernas and even the option to party late with a bit of karaoke...which I enjoyed! Thoroughly recommended and would go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kipperfillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whalley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed at the Elgoni for a week at the end of April . The apartments are basic but bright and clean with a great view from the balcony . Nikos and Helen are very friendly and helpful with anything you need to know .Piskopiano and Koutoulafari are both a short stroll away and are very charming villages with brilliant restaurants , heaven we would definatly go back . Linda and Trevor , Clitheroe.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 57Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed at the Elgoni for two weeks and thoroughley enjoyed every minute. Nikos and his family would do anything to make your stay at the Elgoni very enjoyable, his father even picked some fruit and herbs for us.The apartment we were staying in had the best view, Piskopiano was a great place to stay,would go again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fisherman068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piskopiano
0.0 mi away
Amazones Village Suites
Amazones Village Suites
#2 of 9 in Piskopiano
541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dream Village
Dream Village
#1 of 9 in Piskopiano
204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Astra Village Apartments
Astra Village Apartments
#8 of 13 in Koutouloufari
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Petra Village Apartments
Petra Village Apartments
#10 of 13 in Koutouloufari
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Korifi Suites Art Hotel
Korifi Suites Art Hotel
#6 of 9 in Piskopiano
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mika Villas
Mika Villas
#7 of 9 in Piskopiano
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elgoni Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elgoni Apartments

Property: Elgoni Apartments
Address: 2 Lyktou, Piskopiano, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Piskopiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Piskopiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elgoni Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Bookgreece.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elgoni Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elgoni Apartments Hotel Piskopiano
Elgoni Apartments Piskopiano, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing