We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like coming Home, and tough to leave.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Driades Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Driades Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Like coming Home, and tough to leave.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Well, the third time in 17 months, each visit is like returning to that special place you hold dearest in your heart.
On this trip, the four of us ventured out very little during the day, but of an evening after we had eaten, usually at Kosta's or Romantika, we did find that several times we were drawn into Space, a small internet cafe in the village owned by Mike. We ran the music off his computer, and found ourselves staggering home at 4,5,6!!! in the morning.
As always the welcome at Driades was top notch, with Elani, Michaelis, and the kids all treating us like family. unfortunately YaYa(Mom) was only there for a few days, but God what an emotional goodbye that was.
We ate at the weekly BBQ, which was a serious meat feast, Elani brings in Yanis, to cook in the BBQ Pit they have built especially, and we had huge pork steaks, chicken and souvlaki. Elani prepared dishes of Greek salad and potatoes, enough to feed a small army. Fruit and Raki to follow, then dancing and drinking, lovely night.
We have now become regulars in the village, and find people recognise us as we walk about, we can stop and talk to lots of shop and bar owners and staff and it makes the stay really special.
The weather as always was very good, the apartments very clean and the pool/bar area spacious enough to spread yourself out and have your own little spot.
A new addition in the Bar this trip, George, (2.30pm - 3.00am), very efficient and did things properly, ashtrays never allowed to get full, always peanuts when you ordered drinks and coasters for the drinks you did order. A nice greeting everyday afternoon and evening. A nice touch.
That brings me to leaving, Mary, Gareth and the small superstar that was Gary(Get In, Get Out, Come On) left in the morning, tears everywhere.... We left at 8.30pm, but from about 4pm, my wife and her sister, could hardly talk due to complete and utter grief at having to leave. This is the effect Driades, Piskipiano, and Crete is beginning to have on us.
Elani, Michaelis, Costas, Marushka and YaYa, we will be back there is no question. Thank you for another fabulous holiday and for running a place that lets us enjoy our holiday and meet new but like minded people who want a friendly, quiet and pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Block 1 gets the most passing foot traffic, Block 4 the least, so is the quietest, but 4 is at the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank amac19662000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    22
    8
    2
    6
See reviews for
25
75
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tralee, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Family run & such a warm family so welcoming & very helpful & let's not forget george.Very well kept apartments cleaned regularly & clean towels.Very quite location with a very stunning view......no words can describe it! I will defenitaly be going back.
There is one down side there is a VERY STEEP HILL going up to the apartments so wouldn't be suitable for anyone who is not fully able bodied to walk up that hill.
It is about 10min walk to piskpiano & defeniatly a good 30mins to the centre of hersonissos which is fine on way down but don't forget the hill on way back.
I wish i was there now!!!!!!!
Mary Garrett & Garry!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marymcscollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Hi Just returned from the Driades after a two week holiday and cant wait to book again for next year. We went with two 16year old girls and they also loved it too. Run by Mike and Elene nothing is too much trouble for them. They are wonderful people, The views are spectacular,There is a constant soft breeze because you at the top of the mountain which is wonderful when the sun gets too hot,the rooms are spotless,cleaned by the very friendly maria, The water is always hot, the beds and pillows are soft and comfortable, The infinity pool is very private and because the complex is small,there is only a small few at pool every day, drop into Space bar in village which is run by Mike for some great nights.

Room Tip: If you are bringing kids ,the one bedroom apt is the best,the maisonette has stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frances m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

I have just come back from Driades, firstly we got dropped off the coach and had to "Hike" half way up a mountain in the midday heat with heavy suitcases(due to lack of communication from the rep to the apartments) (or the phone was "engaged") we were dealt with really efficiently by the staff there George-The Barman (who later "Pedals" his hard luck story to every person on vacation for the week, I'm guessing he "preys" on the other people staying for two weeks on their second week!)In order that he gets a Huge Tip for helping you save money on your Holiday for which I'm so sure he gets a percentage... he also gets very offended if you don't take him up on his very valuable advice! Doesn’t much like women I might add (as he got Conned in Thailand out of 28,000e from a woman he went into in business) Elena is lovely she runs it along with Mama (who doesn’t speak English but has a great smile) and her two kids are left to "latch" onto whoever pays them attention. (Portugal??? No Crete) which happened to be 2 Irish girls, but as soon as they left (1hr ....they latched onto2 more new guests!!) It's made up mostly of Fabulous Irish guests who are there for a great time and UK guests who are sorry they ever went there as it's not "Their" scene and will do their up most to get out of there.... (Some are very extreme) if you are young, or British go somewhere else. (unless you are strange and want to hang about playing with the owner's kids) otherwise it's quite a trek up the side of a mountain (92 steps to be exact!) it's beautiful, very clean, quiet and the one major problem I have is the thieving that went on when someone broke into the apartment while the couple were sleeping!!! I have told the owners it was beautiful, however I will never be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alaff155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claregalway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

I have stayed in driades twice this summer. I saw the reviews on trip advisor and deciced to go with it. I loved every minute of the time i spent there, I felt at home and safe at all times. My room was always cleaned (afgharisto Maria!!) My only complaint was that i couldnt stay longer. There was always a relaxed atmosphere and everyone was always very friendly. I stayed for 2 weeks in july. I loved it so much that i went back again three weeks later. I returned to ireland on fri and booked again to go back on the saturday (the following day). When I went back the second time others who i met on my first first trip had returned also. This speaks for itself. Driades is located on a hill, this is a huge positive as the view is spectaculal as a result. It towers over all the villages and offers the best view of the sea. People are often put off by the fact that driades is located on a hill, this hill isnt everest. Even grannies and people on cructches have managed it no hassle. The owners are genuine, honest, kind hearted people who are the salt of the earth, they are my new greek family :) Staying in driades is the difference between having a good stay in crete and a fantastic stay. I would strongly recommend this accomodation. Eleni is an angel, and is blessed with such a beautiful family. I cant wait to see ye all again next year. Eh Eleni.....beidh me ar ais!!!OPAHHHHH!!! XxX

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank evelyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Myself and my partner stayed here for one week 1st July to 8th July. We both found Driades a lovely place to stay and plan to return.
I've always wanted to come to Crete but after learning that many go to Crete primarily to get pissed, I was wary of ending up in a resort where I'd be surrounded by the same. I like to have fun as much as the next person, but I also want to relax, enjoy the views, see ancient sites, and be surrounded by old, traditional village houses, windy streets, and Cretan hospitality..
When we arrived, Eleni met us with a warm smile and George carried our bags up the the steps to the pool area. We were welcomed and made to feel at home. Our room was basic but comfortable, the shower was fantastic, and the room was made up all but one day. We received fresh towels mid-week, which is fine as far as I'm concerned. The kitchen was equipped with a frying pan, a small and large saucepan, cutting board, pour- through coffee maker (get your own filters) and all basic utensils (eg, cups, glasses, plates etc)- we had our own wine opener so I never noticed if there was one there. A/C costs extra but worked well, and we rented the safe for ¢14 for the week as I don't care where you go, it's better to be safe than sorry. Our room was very secure in any event. As our flight home wasn't until midnight of our last day, we were able to get a late check out of about 6:30pm for an additional ¢20- well worth it as it made the whole last day stress- free. However, if Eleni cannot accommodate you in this, you can leave your bags safely in the bar area, and there is a shower and W/C you can use to freshen up before you travel home.
Others have already written about the climb uphill to get to Driades. Well, the location is the source of it's fabulous views and quiet nights. The village of Piskopiano is about 5mins walk, and there are a couple of routes you can take to and from - we chose to wander via cobbled winding streets, past evocative and charming houses, bright wild flowers and pomegranate trees most nights. This alone was magic. There is also a stairway near the foot of Driades' drive that will take you in more directly. My legs and posterior are looking much firmer for the climb each day, how often can you say that after a holiday where you eat and drink all the time? :-)
The other residents were an all ages mix of Irish, British and Dutch. There was good craic to be had and peace and quiet as well. If you are looking for a mad party, this isn't your place- I have seen reviews with complaints that the hosts were too strict- I cannot imagine this to be so, only that those who wrote that review were rude and loud, as many nights, residents chilled out at the bar/ pool area having a laugh until late, but not in a disruptive way. (I am super sensitive to sound and if the noise didn't bug me, it won't bug anyone else)
There is a bar menu with very fresh and reasonably priced food- we ate there on our first day- and there is a barbeque once a week for ¢13 that was delicious, huge portions and turned into a great night for those who attended. The drinks were all about ¢5 but poured very generously.
The Area-
Iraklion is fairly close and you can get buses on the main street in Hersonissos that go in either direction to the other north coast towns- we did the Cretan Highlights tour to see Knossos and a monastery which was pretty fun but I'd take public transport next time and go at my own pace.
Piskopiano is tiny and charming. There are a couple of markets to get basic supplies that stay open til about 11pm. Bread can be hard to come by by night- time there however! For major food shopping, travel downhill to Hersonissos. (That's also the closest place to get to an ATM, which you will need as most of the shops,Tavernas and pubs take cash only- though Eleni accepts credit cards). To walk to Hersonissos is about 20-25minutes or a taxi will cost you ¢7-8. Hersonissos is a garish tourist trap but it's where to go for the party scene.
For beaches, I recommend Stallis (or Stallida as it's shown on the map), which is the same distance walk as Hersonissos. The area beaches are pebble and sand and often quite small, but Stallis had more sandy and less packed beaches to choose from. We walked everywhere, but next time we will rent a quad bike (4 wheel) to zip to and from.
Piskopiano is adjacent to Koutouloufari and Old Chersonissos villages- all three are charming and full of nice Tavernas to eat and drink at. Crete is not a place to rush your food! The policy is usually 'sega-sega' or relax and take it easy, and the service at all the Tavernas was congenial, helpful and excellent- they will respond promptly if you make eye contact, nod your head etc- but laid back, and almost everywhere serves you a complimentary Raki at meal's end. Our favorites were Kostas- just down the hill in Piskopiano and Alex and Christines 'Mezze' in Koutouloufari. We also had a lovely meal at Patriko (also Koutouloufari).
All the guide books say it- Cretans all speak English to some degree but they all appreciate you making the effort to say a few words in Greek- I started with efkaristo- which is 'thank you', and I said it often as I felt so welcomed and looked after. You will always get a response of 'parakalo' (you're welcome)
Driades isn't 'luxury' accommodation, but it's lovely and I'd definitely return.

Room Tip: Eastern view, my fave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MAlagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

driades does exactly what it says on the tin;intimate friendly and quiet,this family-run
operation is an ideal retreat and haven from imf.ireland.bust.
the trek uphill from hersonissos is a slight challenge,(i did o.k. on a crutch.)but it`s
well worth the effort;the spectular sunrise/sunsets;the cicada induced undisturbed
sleepzzzzz.i could go on.
so,when you get there,say hello from me to helena and her wonderful crew.
olly&family

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ollycasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piskopiano
0.7 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 14 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amazones Village Suites
Amazones Village Suites
#2 of 9 in Piskopiano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.6 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 14 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 14 in Koutouloufari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dream Village
Dream Village
#1 of 9 in Piskopiano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Astra Village Apartments
Astra Village Apartments
#8 of 14 in Koutouloufari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driades Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driades Apartments

Property: Driades Apartments
Address: Piskopiano, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Piskopiano
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Piskopiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Driades Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Driades Apartments is a small attractive complex in a quiet position within the pretty and picturesque village of Piskopiano. It is just 150 metres to the many bars and tavernas in the centre of Piskopiano and the centre of Hersonissos is a 20 minutes walk downhill from the apartments. These apartments will appeal to families and couples looking for quiet accommodation in a scenic hillside location above Hersonissos. The apartments have an inviting pool and sun terrace and are popular with British holidaymakers and are ideal for a relaxed holiday in Crete. Get to our pool, take a dive and get you refreashing drink with the beautifull sightseeing. Your children will play in the children's pool and will enjoy their ice cream in the snack bar near the pool. If you come with your car or you hire one to escape to the beautifull Cretan beaches and villages, a large parking is available for you. In Driades Apartments, you will meet the authentic Cretan hospitality with people which will be always ready to serve you. The Driades Apartments are ideal for a relaxing vacation in Crete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Driades Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driades Apartments Hotel Piskopiano
Driades Apartments Piskopiano, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing