We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Mika Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mika Villas
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Piskopiano
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I just spent 2 weeks at the Mika apartments with my partner we had a studio on the big pool side overlooking the pool lovely view nice and clean studio also.. beds are not so good but its a 2*. they have put the groups of people in the villas across the road and family & couples on the big pool side so the noise level is peaceful. obviously the pool opens at 9am so the kids will wake you up.. yes they charge you 100 euro deposit but if you get Aircon and a safe they will take it from the deposit. for 2weeks Aircon cost us 70 euro & 20 euro. If you pay 20euro extra you get to keep your room until 5.30pm on checkout day which is well worth doing. or you could just check out @12pm & regret it. the Aircon is 40euro for 1week. yes you only get 1 toilet roll per week so go to lydl to buy a pack of it... Vodka is 10 euro a litre in lydl. The manager helen is very nice and if you want to move rooms she will be happy to let you move. the cleaners are very good if you need a new towel or sheet they will give it to you. if something is not working in your room the handy man will fix it pronto.
You need a quad bike which you can get for 20Euro aday with full insurance if you quote Danny from Ireland posted it up.. The quad bike shop is the first 1 nearest the villas going down the hill.. run by a women...(pelekakis quad bike rental +30 6977541977) I booked from Ireland before I got to Greece to secure a decent bike. call & book or write down the name & visit when you get there. this was my 2nd time to greece. 1st time in 2009... a lot has changed.. alcohol is like poison stay away from spirits and drink beer and bottles only.. as the vat went up they have been mixing spirits with chemicals to make more money.. the spirits will make you sick.. dont get ice as they use dirty tap water... to make it.. if you want good food go to Galini's or down to Hersonissos & have dinner overlooking the moonlight on the sea... starlight is a good restaurant for value and serve the best beer in an ice cold glass... best beach is stalis beach ask for directions or get a cab beware the ladies are all topless on this beach.. or if you want a more romantic beach go to paradise beach in iraklon.. If you are going to go on a wild holiday get a taxi to Malia drinks are dirt cheap & ITS next best thing to ibiza or aya napa... head for about 10pm.. theres a mac Donalds and KFC & dominos pizza in malia.. Subway in most area also.. well overall the weather is great 42 degrees during the day especially high up where mikas are and 32 degrees during the night.. would I go back..........
if it was the only place available yes as its better than freda and dream apartments trust me..

Room Tip: Just get a good view from your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 111D_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 161 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

Got a good reception initially when we arrived on the sunday but had to change room. The 1st room was just beside the bar which had music constantly blaring. The 2ND room over the main pool was much better.
We had travelled with falcon/Thompson. On their information board by the pool it stated that bed linen was to be changed twice a week. By the Thursday the sheets were still unchanged. We approached one of the reps who said that the sheets weren't to be changed because the apt was 'furnished'. I've never brought a bed with me on a plane before! We went to the Mikka manager and she told us that the sheets would not be changed during our visit. She wasn't pleased when we showed her the notice that was on her board. She ungraciously changed the sheets that night.
It wasn't only the sheets that changed. Her pleasant manner was also gone, replaced by a monosyllabic vocabulary.
Our request for clean sheets wasn't appreciated and the notice was removed that night. By the end of the week the apt also had a thriving population of ants.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Myself and my sis are just back from Mika Villas. Yes, of course we were worried after reading through the reviews as we are not teenagers looking to party all night but honestly there was no need at all. We had a really fantastic time. If you want loud than stay on the bar side of the complex, if you want quiet than stay on the shop side. We stayed on the shop side (room 171) and it was just perfect. Staff were friendly, and very helpful if we asked for anything. There is a hill down to the town which would not be great for elderly people but it only took us 15 mins back up in the evenings. The apartments are basic but functional. Showers could do with a bit of work as they do leak all over the floor but you can live with that. Be prepared to buy your own toilet roll as they only supply you with one on arrival. I was more than surprised when I asked and was told you only get one.The brochure does not state this but you need to buy any further toilet roll yourself. Neither beds nor towels were not changed for the week we were there however, if you ask they are more than willing to oblige with fresh towels. Plenty of great restaurants nearby but best of all is one on the corner 'Lichnos'. Great food and very friendly ower Yannis. No-one leaves a stranger in his restaurant. We would go back tomorrow. Brilliant holiday. Thanks Mika Villas.

Room Tip: Rooms on the shop side of the complex are more quiet. Try get an upstairs apartment for the view if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank trickyvickyKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

stayed in mika apartments for a week beginin 10th of june 2012 ,was wary going as i had read all d bad reviews , ive no complaints at all only that i didnt get to stay longer !!! apartments were cleaned by lovely lady , all the staff were brill n really friendly ,defo go to linchos , great food n great laugh with yannis aka sean ha ha n his lovely wife ,food was fab n cheap , but be warned he will give u his shots after,, raki,, its strong be warned !! the hill is a pain but taxi from demitris sound chap is only 7 euros or rent a quad , food at the mika is grand too for when u just wanna sit around the pool , beer mythos is cheap 2 n lovely ,loadsa shops in hersonnisis n defo take a trip into shananagns bar , great irish pub lovely lady from dublin who went for a holiday and stayed on and is there 8 yrs now n is really helpful on places to go n for a gud giggle too , all the greek people are so friendly n helpful , we went out on the glass bottom boat but saw more fish at home in my freezer ,but went to sissi which was lovely . the weather was fab everyday . but will defo be goin back next yr with the kids ,same time as id say after we were gone home the staff had their hands full with all the leavin certs who we were told know how to party n more luck to them hope they have a ball :O) so really have no complaints at all , a holiday is what u make it n like everywhere if u look for fault u will find it . enjoy ur stay at the mika , lovely place to stay n stafff are lovely too .

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jayne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We traveled to Mika as a group of 3 girls - and we had a fab time. While we where there Mika was fab, basic, clean and all the staff where so friendly.

We had no noise trouble and we where in apartment beside main pool. Holiday was relaxed and very enjoyable. We where a bit worried over other reviews but we had no problems at all for our week at the mika and would recommend it hugely.

Air con is extra 40euro but well worth it. We traveled on a package deal with a tour operator and they did ask for a deposit of €100 at Mika but it was mentioned in the brosure and caused no problems.

Its about 10-15 min walk to Hersonissos and the beach where we spent most nights it is a hill and difficult to walk up in the heat of the day, perfect when the sun goes down though and taxi is only €7.

Mika is lovely and there where absolutely no issues at all. Dose what it says on the tin and more!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dubtrabteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Just home from a week long stay in Mika Villas and absolutely loved it! Great location, great staff and close to all the restaurants/bars you could want.
We stayed in apt. 118 which was beside the smaller of the complex's 2 pools. I have a feeling it was quieter here than down at the larger pool, which suited us perfectly! Check in was a breeze and we were happy with our apartment, basic and all as it was, it was spotless and spacious. Absolutely no complaints! Cleaning ladies with big smiles were around daily, keeping apartments and grounds neat and tidy.
We were a little apprehensive before our holiday to Mika as reviews here have been so negative, especially due to noise and problems caused by Irish youngsters. We needn't have worried. ALL the gang we met at Mika, regardless of age or nationality, were friendly, chatty and considerate to others who were on a total chill out holiday, like ourselves. Perhaps because the football and exams were on we managed to hit on a quieter week than in late June?
It was very hot last week, hitting just below 40 degrees some days, so it might be worthwhile paying for air-con for your stay.

If you are going to Mika and are after a mad drinking holiday, we were told that the main strip is the way to go, or get a gang off to Malia,which is pretty nearby. Just remember that not everyone at Mika is on that buzz. There are older couples, parents with children, and people who don't particularly like waking up at 6 in the morning to the sound of roaring at their door! Don't make other's holidays a misery.

Be sure to walk around the corner to Lichnos Restaurant for some great Greek food served by Janos (Sean), a pure character who we went to see every day.

Walk through Piskopiano to Kouloutoufari, a 10 minute walk and visit Pegasus restaurant, where the gorgeous Dee serves an array of fresh top quality food. An absolute lady!

And finally say a big YAMAS to lovely Labros in the bar at Mika and challenge him to a game of pool!

These are just a few recommendations for a great holiday in and around Piskopiano.
Don't be totally put off by bad reviews, Mika was great and I would certainly stay there again myself.

Room Tip: Apartments near small pool seem quieter. We were above the bar and had no problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janie_Bop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

Very nice and clean rooms. The price was very good and also there is a mini market in the hotel were you can buy everything!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tispoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piskopiano
0.2 mi away
Korifi Suites Art Hotel
Korifi Suites Art Hotel
#8 of 9 in Piskopiano
207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stelva Villas
Stelva Villas
#6 of 9 in Piskopiano
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amazones Village Suites
Amazones Village Suites
#3 of 9 in Piskopiano
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dream Village
Dream Village
#1 of 9 in Piskopiano
259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
279 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mika Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mika Villas

Address: 1-5 Acropolis | Hersonissos, Piskopiano, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Piskopiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Piskopiano
Price Range: $32 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mika Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Mika Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mika Villas Hotel Piskopiano
Mika Hotel Piskopiano
Mika Villas Piskopiano, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing